CREDO Reference provides access to millions of entries from hundreds of reference titles. Search for more at Credo Subjects or use the search box below. In order to access Credo resources off campus you will need a login and password, which is your ID number and last name.
Here are a few sources that may be of interest:
Pocket Illustrated Dictionary of Engineering Terms by
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing over 1200 entries. The entries cover the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering.
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook, Second Edition by
A fully revised guide to manufacturing engineering technologies, principles, and applications This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. Written by a team of 58 international experts, this second edition shows how to optimize all aspects of the global manufacturing process and build the highest quality goods at the lowest price in the shortest possible time. All new topics include cloud computing, Internet of Things, 3D printing, nano manufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research. Manufacturing Engineering Handbook, Second Edition covers: · Cloud computing, Internet of Things, Sustainability,and Global Manufacturing · Additive Manufacturing, Robotics, and Machine Vision · Microelectromechanical Systems and Nano-manufacturing · Laser Technology, Abrasive Jet, Welding, Sheet-metal Forming Process · Lean Manufacturing and Six Sigma · Value Engineering and Adaptive Manufacturing · Computer-Aided-Design, and Manufacturing · Heat Teatment, Casting, and Powder Metallurgy · Metalworking, Grinding, and Metal Forming · Composite, Mold-Making, and Plastics Processing · Quality Control, Engineering Economics, Human Factors, and Supply Chain Management · And many more processes and technologies
Dictionary of Industrial Terms by
This is the most comprehensive dictionary of maintenance and reliability terms ever compiled, covering the process, manufacturing, and other related industries, every major area of engineering used in industry, and more. The over 15,000 entries are all alphabetically arranged and include special features to encourage usage and understanding. They are supplemented by hundreds of figures and tables that clearly demonstrate the principles & concepts behind important process control, instrumentation, reliability, machinery, asset management, lubrication, corrosion, and much much more.<br /><br />With contributions by leading researchers in the field:<br />Zaki Yamani Bin Zakaria Department, Chemical Engineering, Faculty Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Malaysia Prof. Jelenka B. Savkovic-Stevanovic, Chemical Engineering Dept, University of Belgrade, Serbia Jim Drago, PE, Garlock an EnPro Industries family of companies, USA Robert Perez, President of Pumpcalcs, USA Luiz Alberto Verri, Independent Consultatnt, Verri Veritatis Consultoria, Brasil Matt Tones, Garlock an EnPro Industries family of companies, USA Dr. Reza Javaherdashti, formerly with Qatar University, Doha-Qatar Prof. Semra Bilgic, Faculty of Sciences, Department of Physical Chemistry, Ankara University, Turkey Dr. Mazura Jusoh , Chemical Engineering Department, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Jayesh Ramesh Tekchandaney, Unique Mixers and Furnaces Pvt. Ltd. Dr. Henry Tan, Senior Lecturer in Safety & Reliability Engineering, and Subsea Engineering, School of Engineering, University of Aberdeen Fiddoson Fiddo, School of Engineering, University of Aberdeen Prof. Roy Johnsen, NTNU, Norway Prof. N. Sitaram , Thermal Turbomachines Laboratory, Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Madras, Chennai India Ghazaleh Mohammadali, IranOilGas Network Members′ Services Greg Livelli, ABB Instrumentation, Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA Gas Processors Suppliers Association (GPSA)
ProQuest Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. In order to access ProQuest Ebook Central off campus you will need a login and password, which is your ID number and last name.
Here are a few sources that may be of interest:
Audel Automated Machines and Toolmaking by
Master today's toolmaking equipment Here, fully updated to include new machines and electronic and digital controls, is the ultimate guide to automated machines and toolmaking. Whether you're a professional machinist, an apprentice, or a trade student, this fully illustrated volume helps you work with metal-safely, precisely, efficiently-using today's tools and techniques. It's packed with review questions for students, and loaded with answers you need on the job. * Understand automated machine fundamentals and work with jigs and fixtures * Learn the basics of spiral and helix milling, gear cutting, and cam machining * Discover how to cut, punch, or shape a die with minimum waste * Master the operations of today's grinders and lapping machines * Find out all about toolmaking, from allowances and tolerances to layouts and master plates * Follow the clear, step-by-step illustrations to gain a hands-on knowledge of techniques and procedures
Audel Machine Shop Basics by
Use the right tool the right way Here, fully updated to include new machines and electronic/digital controls, is the ultimate guide to basic machine shop equipment and how to use it. Whether you're a professional machinist, an apprentice, a trade student, or a handy homeowner, this fully illustrated volume helps you define tools and use them properly and safely. It's packed with review questions for students, and loaded with answers you need on the job. Mark Richard Miller is a Professor and Chairman of the Industrial Technology Department at Texas A&M University in Kingsville, Texas. * Understand basic machine shop practice and safety measures * Recognize the variations in similar tools and the purposes they serve * Learn recommended methods of mounting work in different machines * Obtain a complete working knowledge of numerically controlled machines and the operations they perform * Review procedures for safe and efficient use of cutting tools and cutters * Expand your knowledge with clear, step-by-step illustrations of proper equipment set-up and operation
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Terms by
About the Book: The Handbook of Mechanical Engineering terms contains short, precise definitions of about four thousand terms. These terms have been collected from different sources, edited and grouped under twenty six parts and given alphabetically under
Manufacturing Science and Technology by
About the Book: Manufacturing Science and Technology is written for mechanical, industrial and production engineering students at both degree and diploma level and for competitive examinations. It consists of 16 chapters covering the various topics systematically. This book is useful for I and II semester of B.Tech. students of JNTU Hyderabad and also for students of other Universities in India. Salient Features: The presentation of the subject matter is very systematic and in checked simple language. Subject matter in each chapter is supported by neat and self explanatory diagrams to understand the subject easily. A large number of solved examples have been added at the end of various chapters to enable the student to attempt GATE and other examinations. Objective type questions and answers are given in appendix I and II at the end of Part A and Part B.
Machine Tools by
In machine tools, the designed systems include many components, such as sensors, actuators, joints and motors. It is required that all these components work properly to ensure safety. This book examines fault monitoring and control schemes in machine systems, as well as detecting machines whenever a failure occurs and accommodating the failures as soon as possible. Also discussed are centre-less grinding machines; improving machine tool performance through structural and process dynamics modelling and exploring the strength of the Japanese machine tool industry.
Aluminum Dreams by
Aluminum shaped the twentieth century. It enabled high-speed travel and gravity-defying flight. It was the material of a streamlined aesthetic that came to represent modernity. And it became an essential ingredient in industrial and domestic products that ranged from airplanes and cars to designer chairs and artificial Christmas trees. It entered modern homes as packaging, foil, pots and pans and even infiltrated our bodies through food, medicine, and cosmetics. In Aluminum Dreams, Mimi Sheller describes how the materiality and meaning of aluminum transformed modern life and continues to shape the world today. Aluminum, Sheller tells us, changed mobility and mobilized modern life. It enabled air power, the space age and moon landings. Yet, as Sheller makes clear, aluminum was important not only in twentieth-century technology, innovation, architecture, and design but also in underpinning global military power, uneven development, and crucial environmental and health concerns. Sheller describes aluminum's shiny utopia but also its dark side. The unintended consequences of aluminum's widespread use include struggles for sovereignty and resource control in Africa, India, and the Caribbean; the unleashing of multinational corporations; and the pollution of the earth through mining and smelting (and the battle to save it). Using a single material as an entry point to understanding a global history of modernization and its implications for the future, Aluminum Dreams forces us to ask: How do we assemble the material culture of modernity and what are its environmental consequences? Aluminum Dreams includes a generous selection of striking images of iconic aluminum designs, many in color, drawn from advertisements by Alcoa, Bohn, Kaiser, and other major corporations, pamphlets, films, and exhibitions.
Iron and Steel by
This book is intended both as a resource for engineers and as an introduction to the layman about our most important metal system. After an introduction that deals with the history and refining of iron and steel, the rest of the book examines their physical properties and metallurgy. To elaborate on the importance of iron and steel, we can refer to the fact that modern civilization as we know it would not be possible without it. Steel is essential in the machinery necessary for manufacturing that meets our needs. Even the words themselves have come to suggest strength. Phrases such as 'iron willed', 'iron fisted', 'iron clad', 'iron curtain' and 'pumping iron' imply strength. A 'steely glance' is a stern look. 'A heart of steel' refers to a very hard demeanor. The Russian dictator, Stalin (which means steel in Russian), chose the name to invoke fear in those under him.
Metallurgy Fundamentals by
Metallurgy Fundamentals provides the student with instruction on the basic properties, characteristics, and production of the major metal families. Clear, concise language and numerous illustrations make this an easy-to-understand text for an introductory course in metallurgy. Over 450 tables, diagrams, and photographs show both the theoretical and practical aspects of metallurgy.
Milling by
Aimed at everyone with a workshop, particularly home metalworkers, engineers, and professionals, use this guide to to make full use of a milling machine and enhance milling skills Milling is one of the principal and most versatile machining processes for sizing parts in the workshop. Whether a professional engineer looking for advice, or an amateur looking to install your first milling machine, this book will show you how to make full use of your milling machine safely and effectively, and enhance your milling skills. Focusing on the commonly used vertical mill and vertical turret mill, and with practical advice and diagrams throughout, the book includes a guide to buying, installing, and using a small milling machine and accessories and basic cutting tool principles, with more advanced milling methods, including drilling, tapping, and reaming. There is also instruction on a variety of techniques ranging from work holding in the vice to using a rotary table.
Physical Metallurgy by
For students ready to advance in their study of metals, Physical Metallurgy, Second Editionuses engaging historical and contemporary examples that relate to the applications of concepts in each chapter. This book combines theoretical concepts, real alloy systems, processing procedures, and examples of real-world applications. The author uses his experience in teaching physical metallurgy at the University of Michigan to convey this topic with greater depth and detail than most introductory materials courses offer. What's New in the Second Edition: Chapter on crystallographic textures and their influence on microstructure and properties Expanded section on aluminum-lithium alloys Information on copper and nickel Rewritten chapters on other non-ferrous metals and low carbon steels Discussions of compact graphite and austempered ductile iron Expanded discussions of cemented carbide tools Updated table on metal prices Following an introduction to metals, the author covers topics that are common to all metals, including solidification, diffusion, surfaces, solid solutions, intermediate phases, dislocations, annealing, and phase transformations. He also focuses on specific nonferrous alloy systems and their significant metallurgical properties and applications, the treatment of steels (including iron-carbon alloys), hardening, tempering and surface treatment, special steels, low carbon sheet steel, and cast irons. The book also covers powder metallurgy, corrosion, welding, and magnetic alloys. There are appendices on microstructural analysis, stereographic projection, and the Miller-Bravais system for hexagonal crystals. These chapters address ternary phase diagrams, diffusion in multiphase systems, the thermodynamic basis for phase diagrams, stacking faults and hydrogen embrittlement. With ample references and sample problems throughout, this text is a superb tool for any advanced materials science course.
Still the Iron Age by
Although the last two generations have seen an enormous amount of attention paid to advances in electronics, the fact remains that high-income, high-energy societies could thrive without microchips, etc., but, by contrast, could not exist without steel. Because of the importance of this material to comtemporary civilization, a comprehensive resource is needed for metallurgists, non-metallurgists, and anyone with a background in environmental studies, industry, manufacturing, and history, seeking a broader understanding of the history of iron and steel and its current and future impact on society. Given its coverage of the history of iron and steel from its genesis to slow pre-industrial progress, revolutionary advances during the 19th century, magnification of 19th century advances during the past five generations, patterns of modern steel production, the ubiquitous uses of the material, potential substitutions, advances in relative dematerialization, and appraisal of steel's possible futures, Still the Iron Age: Iron and Steel in the Modern World by world-renowned author Vaclav Smil meets that need. Incorporates an interdisciplinary discussion of the history and evolution of the iron- and steel-making industry and its impact on the development of the modern world Serves as a valuable contribution because of its unique perspective that compares steel to technological advances in other materials, perceived to be important Discusses how we can manufacture smarter rather than deny demand Explores future opportunities and new efforts for sustainable development in the industry
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
McGraw-Hill Machining and Metalworking Handbook by Request books from other libraries using your CMCC ID. Allow for roughly 2-5 business days for delivery.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
Basic Blueprint Reading by 
Manufacturing Processes 4-5 by