Cartridges and Firearm Identification
by
Command and Persuade: Crime, Law, and the State across History
by
Why, when we have been largely socialized into good behavior, are there more laws that govern our behavior than ever before?
Levels of violent crime have been in a steady decline for centuries—for millennia, even. Over the past five hundred years, homicide rates have decreased a hundred-fold. We live in a time that is more orderly and peaceful than ever before in human history. Why, then, does fear of crime dominate modern politics? Why, when we have been largely socialized into good behavior, are there more laws that govern our behavior than ever before? In Command and Persuade, Peter Baldwin examines the evolution of the state's role in crime and punishment over three thousand years.
Baldwin explains that the involvement of the state in law enforcement and crime prevention is relatively recent. In ancient Greece, those struck by lightning were assumed to have been punished by Zeus. In the Hebrew Bible, God was judge, jury, and prosecutor when Cain killed Abel. As the state's power as lawgiver grew, more laws governed behavior than ever before; the sum total of prohibited behavior has grown continuously. At the same time, as family, community, and church exerted their influences, we have become better behaved and more law-abiding. Even as the state stands as the socializer of last resort, it also defines through law the terrain on which we are schooled into acceptable behavior.
Criminal Procedure: Undergraduate Edition
by
An open textbook for undergraduate Criminal Procedure courses that are typically required of criminal justice majors. The book uses U.S. Supreme Court opinions to illuminate the definition of rights concerning search and seizure, right to counsel, and other aspects of the criminal justice process. This open textbook seeks to make undergraduates familiar with judicial reasoning as well as the definitions of rights relevant to individuals who are drawn into contact with criminal justice officials. The chapters give significant attention to police procedures and individual rights under the Fourth Amendment related to searches, including those using warrants and the situations in which warrant searches are permissible. The book also covers rights in the context of police interrogation, including Miranda warnings and exceptions to the Miranda rule. In addition, there is coverage of the exclusionary rule, right to counsel, plea bargaining, and trial rights. It concludes with a brief examination of rights related to sentencing. This resource challenges undergraduates to understand the development and changes affecting rights as new decisions are issued by the U.S. Supreme Court.
Criminology: a Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself
by
Criminology is a multi-disciplinary subject - but it doesn't have to be difficult. This book, complete with case studies and key facts, forms a course which will take you from beginner or intermediate level to having a confident grasp of the subject. The book includes: step-by-step explanations to help you grasp new topics or those that have previously confused you; practice questions throughout, to help you embed your learning and improve your confidence; and detailed case studies to consolidate and contextualise your knowledge - all in one great-value book, no need for extra course books or work books. Chapters include: What is crime? How do we measure crime? Why do people commit crime? How can we prevent crime? How is crime detected? Serial killers; The crimes of the powerful; Political crime; Organized crime; Why do we punish criminals? What is the criminal justice system? The police; The courts; Trial procedure; Prisons; Youth crime; Punishment in the community; The criminal justice system - is it fair? Victimology; Studying Criminology. The Complete Introduction series from Teach Yourself is the ultimate one-stop guide for anyone wanting a comprehensive and accessible entry point into subjects as diverse as philosophy, mathematics, economics, Shakespeare and physics. Loved by students and perfect for general readers who simply want to learn more about the world around them, these books are your first choice for discovering something new.
Ethics and Accountability in Criminal Justice: Towards a Universal Standard - THIRD EDITION
by
This is a book of research and policy aimed at raising ethical standards in criminal justice practice. Around the world, corruption continues to undermine the rule of law and the application of due process rights. Misconduct by criminal justice professionals challenges democratic authority and the equality and freedom of ordinary citizens. There is an urgent need for academics, advocates and policymakers to speak with one voice in articulating universal ethical standards and, most importantly, in prescribing systems and techniques that must be in place for criminal justice to be genuinely accountable and as free from misconduct as possible. The focus of the book is on the core components of the criminal justice system -- police, courts and corrections -- and the core groups within this system: sworn police officers; judges, prosecutors and defence lawyers; and custodial and community correctional officers. By using quality research and policy analysis of these core components Professor Prenzler formulates a basic checklist that can be used to assess the ethical quality and accountability of the criminal justice system in any jurisdiction.
Ethics in Law Enforcement
by
"In this book, you will examine the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. This book will also familiarize you with the basic history, principles, and theories of ethics. These concepts will then be applied to the major components of the criminal justice system: policing, the courts, and corrections. Discussion will focus on personal values, individual responsibility, decision making, discretion, and the structure of accountability. Specific topics covered will include core values, codes of conduct, ethical dilemmas, organizational consequences, liability, and the importance of critical thinking. By the end of this book, you will be able to distinguish and critically debate contemporary ethical issues in law enforcement." - works with CRJ 292
Forensic Science
by
This is a comprehensive reference source on the theory, techniques, and application of the various forensic sciences.The past decade has seen an explosion of interest in the application of scientific techniques to investigations of crime. Television audiences have developed a seemingly insatiable appetite for shows such as CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and Cold Case that go into the minutiae of how forensic techniques are used to solve crimes. ""Forensic Science"" examines this subject with a factual approach, while also addressing the kinds of topics that figure prominently in the media and offering up-to-date material in a rapidly changing field.Scope and coverage: ""Forensic Science"" approaches its subject from multiple directions. One of the primary approaches is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the set has essays on specific types of investigations, such as arson, homicide, and computer crime; both general and specific investigative techniques, such as autopsies, ballistics, chromatography, crime scene photography, fingerprint analysis, and polygraph analysis; specialized equipment, such as bomb and nuclear detection devices; and types of evidence, such as fire debris, fibers and filaments, glass, and blood residue and stains.A second broad approach taken by ""Forensic Science"" is its coverage of the role of forensic science in the American legal system. The set includes brief articles on some of the most important federal legislation applying to controlled substances, such as the Harrison Narcotic Act of 1914, and the Anabolic Steroid Act of 1990.A third broad approach taken by ""Forensic Science"" - and one that should have a wide appeal to many readers - is its extensive coverage of specific historical subjects. These range from overviews of ancient criminal cases and mysteries and ancient science in law and courtrooms to examinations of such high-profile modern cases as the O.J. Simpson murder trial, the Unabomber case, and famous Hollywood forensic cases. The set also includes essays on such subjects as the Lindberg baby kidnapping case and the exhumations of Presidents Zachary Taylor and Abraham Lincoln.Organization and format: The articles in ""Forensic Science"" contain helpful top matter that defines the topics and summarizes their relevance to forensic science and the Further Reading notes. The alphabetical arrangement makes topics easy to find. Additional finding aids include category and subject indexes and cross-references to related topics at the end of each essay. The appendixes include a biographical directory of key figures in the history of the field, a glossary, a directory of television shows in which forensic sciences figure prominently, and a time line of major events.
The Handbook of Race, Ethnicity, Crime, and Justice
by
This Handbook presents current and future studies on the changing dynamics of the role of immigrants and the impact of immigration, across the United States and industrialized and developing nations. It covers the changing dynamics of race, ethnicity, and immigration, and discusses how it all contributes to variations in crime, policing, and the overall justice system. Through acknowledging that some groups, especially people of color, are disproportionately influenced more than others in the case of criminal justice reactions, the "War on Drugs", and hate crimes; this Handbook introduces the importance of studying race and crime so as to better understand it. It does so by recommending that researchers concentrate on ethnic diversity in a national and international context in order to broaden their demographic and expand their understanding of how to attain global change. Featuring contributions from top experts in the field, The Handbook of Race and Crime is presented in five sections--An Overview of Race, Ethnicity, Crime, and Justice; Theoretical Perspectives on Race and Crime; Race, Gender, and the Justice System; Gender and Crime; and Race, Gender and Comparative Criminology. Each section of the book addresses a key area of research, summarizes findings or shortcomings whenever possible, and provides new results relevant to race/crime and justice. Every contribution is written by a top expert in the field and based on the latest research. With a sharp focus on contemporary race, ethnicity, crime, and justice studies, The Handbook of Race and Crime is the ideal reference for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, and scholars interested in the disciplines such as Criminology, Race and Ethnicity, Race and the Justice System, and the Sociology of Race.
The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book
by
A practical, accessible, and informative guide to the science of criminal investigations. Covering the fundamentals, science, history, and analysis of clues, The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book: Reading Clues at the Crime Scene, Crime Lab and in Court provides detailed information on crime scene investigations, techniques, laboratory finding, the latest research, and controversies. It looks at the science of law enforcement, how evidence is gathered, processed, analyzed, and viewed in the courtroom, and more. From the cause, manner, time of a death, and autopsies to blood, toxicology, DNA typing, fingerprints, ballistics, tool marks, tread impressions, and trace evidence, it takes the reader through the many sides of a death investigation. Arson, accidents, computer crimes, criminal profiling, and much, much more are also addressed. The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book gives real-world examples and looks at what Hollywood gets right and wrong. It provides the history of the science, and it introduces the scientists behind breakthroughs. An easy-to-use and informative reference, it brings the complexity of a criminal investigation into focus and provides well-researched answers to over 950 common questions, such as ... What is the difference between cause of death and manner of death? How did a person's skull fit into criminal evidence in the early 1800s? When were fingerprints first used to identify a criminal? How is the approximate time of death of a crime scene victim determined? What is forensic serology? What is the National Missing and Unidentified Persons System? Can a forensics expert look at skeletal remains and tell whether the person was obese? How can a simple knot analyzed in the crime lab be used as evidence? Can fingerprints be permanently changed or destroyed? How fast does a bullet travel? How was a chemical analysis of ink important in the conviction of Martha Stewart? What types of data are often retrieved from a crime scene cellphone? Can analyses similar to those used in forensics be used to uncover doping in athletics? What is the Personality Assessment Inventory? What are some motives that cause an arsonist to start a fire? What state no longer allows bite marks as admissible evidence in a trial? What is the Innocence Project? Why are eyewitness accounts not always reliable? Who was "Jack the Ripper"? Providing the facts, stats, history, and science, The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book answers intriguing questions about criminal investigations. This informative book also includes a helpful bibliography, glossary of terms, and an extensive index, adding to its usefulness.
Introduction to Criminal Investigation: Processes, Practices and Thinking
by
"Introduction to Criminal Investigation, Processes, Practices, and Thinking is a teaching text designed to assist the student in developing their own structured mental map of processes, practices, and thinking to conduct criminal investigations." - works with CRJ 212
Neuroscience, Psychology and Conflict Management
by
This peer reviewed eBook introduces readers to foundational concepts in neuroscience, cognitive psychology, personality psychology and social psychology to help explain why conflict occurs, how it develops and how it may be managed and/or resolved.
Police Procedure and Evidence in the Criminal Justice System
by
Police procedure and evidence brought to life! A key text for all those on policing degree or other pre-join routes, this book examines police procedure and evidence in the criminal justice system, providing clear and accessible information while encouraging analysis and reflection. Chapters cover police powers, stop and search, arrest and custody, disposals, court procedures and disclosure, and rehabilitation. Uniquely it follows the journey of a fictional family who all in one way or another become involved in the criminal justice system, allowing students to consider a range of possible options and outcomes and bringing the theory to life.
Report Writing for Criminal Justice Professionals
by
SOU-CCJ230 Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
by
This OER covers law enforcement, criminal courts, sentencing, penal institutions, and community-based sanctions. It also includes historical and contemporary perspectives on components of the criminal justice system, as well as the legal and constitutional frameworks in which they operate.
Speaking of Crime: The Language of Criminal Justice
by
An essential introduction to the use and misuse of language within the criminal justice system, updated for a new generation. Does everyone understand the Miranda warning? Why do people confess to a crime they did not commit? Can linguistic experts identify who wrote an anonymous threatening letter? Since its first publication, Speaking of Crime has been answering these questions. Introducing major topics and controversies at the intersection of language and law, Lawrence M. Solan, Peter M. Tiersma, and Tammy Gales apply multidisciplinary insights to examine the complex role of language within the US justice system. The second edition features in-depth discussions of recent cases, new legislation, and innovative research advances, and includes a new chapter on who interprets the laws governing linguistic contexts. Thoroughly updated and approachable, Speaking of Crime is a state-of-the-art survey that will be useful to scholars, students, and practitioners throughout the criminal justice system.
Central Maine Community College Learning Commons - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [Full Non-Discrimination Notice]
