PSY 114 Child Development

This is a guide to library resources specific to child development and the research paper assignment for Ruth Burke's class at the CMCC library

Topic ideas

visuwords header image

  •  http://www.visuwords.com/  is a graphical dictionary and thesaurus.  Helps with keywords and mapping your topic into larger and smaller concepts

  • Think of this as the big idea book. This is in reference and can't be checked out, but just a few minutes might give you your next brilliant idea. REF LB1047.3 L35 1998

book jacket image 

  • CQ Researcher – http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/ this database contains reports written about current newsworthy topics and events.  Its a good place to explore the pros and cons of a current topic, scroll to the end for additional resources

Combining keywords with boolean operators

Generally, many databases will search two words together as a phrase.  Using double quotation marks will also let you search by phrase in just about every database.   EBSCOhost databases have many nifty search options under search modes.  Proquest databases automatically search two words together as a phrase.

 

Boolean Operators

 

  • And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, dogs and fleas finds articles that contain both terms
  • Or - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, dogs or fleas  finds results that contain either term.
  • Not - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, dogs not fleas finds results that contain the term dogs but not the term fleas.

 

 See how the use of Boolean operators affects a search in Academic Search Premier

  • Mexico drugs            694 results 
  • Mexico and drugs     6542 results
  • Mexico or drugs        802136 results
  • Mexican drugs            664 results
  • Mexico and drugs and gangs     312 results
  • drug trafficking               3584 results
  • "drug trafficking" not Mexico   3074 results