Skip to main content

THE 101 Intro to Theater

This guide points students in CMCC's Introduction to Theater class to the best resources for their research assignments

Help with focusing topics

visuwords header image

  •  http://www.visuwords.com/  is a graphical dictionary and thesaurus.  Helps with keywords and mapping your topic into larger andbook jacket image smaller concepts. One word searches work best here.  Try CREDO for two word or concept searches.
  • 10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports and Speeches Think of this as the big idea book. This is in reference and can't be checked out, but just a few minutes might give you your next brilliant idea. REF LB1047.3 L35 1998
  • CQrearcher/ this database contains reports written about current newsworthy topics and events.  Its a good place to explore the pros and cons of a current topic, scroll to the end for additional resources

CREDO reference, good for keywords and synonyms

Credomap try Credo Map.  This will help you think about your topic and its connections to concepts you may not have imagined.

Combining keywords with boolean operators

Generally, many databases will search two words together as a phrase.  Using double quotation marks will also let you search by phrase in just about every database.   EBSCOhost databases have many nifty search options under search modes.  Proquest databases automatically search two words together as a phrase.

 

Boolean Operators

 

  • And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, dogs and fleas finds articles that contain both terms
  • Or - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, dogs or fleas  finds results that contain either term.
  • Not - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, dogs not fleas finds results that contain the term dogs but not the term fleas.

 

 See how the use of Boolean operators affects a search in Academic Search Premier

  • Mexico drugs            694 results 
  • Mexico and drugs     6542 results
  • Mexico or drugs        802136 results
  • Mexican drugs            664 results
  • Mexico and drugs and gangs     312 results
  • drug trafficking               3584 results
  • "drug trafficking" not Mexico   3074 results

Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]