Skip to main content

THE 101 Intro to Theater

This guide points students in CMCC's Introduction to Theater class to the best resources for their research assignments

Just for fun

Hugh Jackman talking of his love of the stage on "Inside the Actor's Studio"

http://www.bravotv.com/inside-the-actors-studio

Daniel Craig's interview on NPR

Interview with Harold Pinter after winning the Nobel Prize in Literature

Telephone interview with Harold Pinter (1 minute)

Telephone interview with Harold Pinter, after the announcement of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Literature, by freelance journalist Marika Griehsel, 13 October 2005.

http://www.nobelprize.org/mediaplayer/index.php?id=1333

Interview with James Murphy

James Murphy On 'Betrayal,' Producing Arcade Fire, And Despacio

Former LCD Soundsystem frontman James Murphy is currently working on a Broadway musical.

http://soundcheck.wnyc.org/story/soundcheck-2013-09-26/

Internet resources in theater

Historical and background information

 

encyclopedia

 

 

Performing Arts Encyclopedia http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/ from the Library of Congress. This is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress.  It includes digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays and more.

Virtual Vaudville http://vvaudeville.drama.uga.edu/ from the U. of Georgia, this 3D simulation of a complete act by legendary vaudeville comedian Frank Bush transports you back to the 19th c.  

Internet Broadway Database http://www.ibdb.com/index.php information about current and past Broadway shows.

Peter Hall platformhttp://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/discover-more National Theatre of London don't miss this resource!  Includes videos, interviews, podcasts, a virtual classroom so to speak.  

http://collections.si.edu/search/ Smithsonian Image Collections Online collection of works found in the Smithsonian Museums, including videos, photographs, sound files and other museum objects

 

Current productions, organizations, info for actors and news

Broadway.org 
BroadwayLeague.com
Playbill.com
Broadway.com
Theatermania.com
Backstage
Variety
Talkin' Broadway's All That Chat
BroadwayWorld.com
Tony Awards
American Theatre Wing
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
Theatre Communications Group
Internet Off-Broadway Database
Musical Cast Album Database
Actors Equity Association
Local 802 - American Federation of Musicians
Association of Theatrical Press Agents & Managers
Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers
United Scenic Artists
Dramatists Guild of America
Internatonal Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE)
Stagehands' Union, Local One
American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)

A writer's life

The Guardian home

Does Harold Pinter's private life shed light on his plays?

Antonia Fraser's memoir of her life with Harold Pinter may focus on their marriage, but paints a revealing portrait of the dramatist too

http://www.theguardian.com/stage/theatreblog/2010/jan/13/writers-antonia-fraser-harold-pinter

Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]