Skip to Main Content
Books, E-Books, & More
Cybersecurity Program Development for Business by Chris Moschovitis
Call Number: HD30.2 .M673 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-06
"This is the book executives have been waiting for. It is clear: With deep expertise but in nontechnical language, it describes what cybersecurity risks are and the decisions executives need to make to address them. It is crisp: Quick and to the point, it doesn't waste words and won't waste your time. It is candid: There is no sure cybersecurity defense, and Chris Moschovitis doesn't pretend there is; instead, he tells you how to understand your company's risk and make smart business decisions about what you can mitigate and what you cannot. It is also, in all likelihood, the only book ever written (or ever to be written) about cybersecurity defense that is fun to read." --Thomas A. Stewart, Executive Director, National Center for the Middle Market and Co-Author of Woo, Wow, and Win: Service Design, Strategy, and the Art of Customer Delight Get answers to all your cybersecurity questions In 2016, we reached a tipping point--a moment where the global and local implications of cybersecurity became undeniable. Despite the seriousness of the topic, the term "cybersecurity" still exasperates many people. They feel terrorized and overwhelmed. The majority of business people have very little understanding of cybersecurity, how to manage it, and what's really at risk. This essential guide, with its dozens of examples and case studies, breaks down every element of the development and management of a cybersecurity program for the executive. From understanding the need, to core risk management principles, to threats, tools, roles and responsibilities, this book walks the reader through each step of developing and implementing a cybersecurity program. Read cover-to-cover, it's a thorough overview, but it can also function as a useful reference book as individual questions and difficulties arise. Unlike other cybersecurity books, the text is not bogged down with industry jargon Speaks specifically to the executive who is not familiar with the development or implementation of cybersecurity programs Shows you how to make pragmatic, rational, and informed decisions for your organization Written by a top-flight technologist with decades of experience and a track record of success If you're a business manager or executive who needs to make sense of cybersecurity, this book demystifies it for you.
Making Computers Accessible by Elizabeth R. Petrick
Call Number: HV1569.5 .P48 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
In 1974, not long after developing the first universal optical character recognition technology, Raymond Kurzweil struck up a conversation with a blind man on a flight. Kurzweil explained that he was searching for a use for his new software. The blind man expressed interest: One of the frustrating obstacles that blind people grappled with, he said, was that no computer program could translate text into speech. Inspired by this chance meeting, Kurzweil decided that he must put his new innovation to work to "overcome this principal handicap of blindness." By 1976, he had built a working prototype, which he dubbed the Kurzweil Reading Machine. This type of innovation demonstrated the possibilities of computers to dramatically improve the lives of people living with disabilities. In Making Computers Accessible, Elizabeth R. Petrick tells the compelling story of how computer engineers and corporations gradually became aware of the need to make computers accessible for all people. Motivated by user feedback and prompted by legislation such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, which offered the promise of equal rights via technological accommodation, companies developed sophisticated computerized devices and software to bridge the accessibility gap. People with disabilities, Petrick argues, are paradigmatic computer users, demonstrating the personal computer's potential to augment human abilities and provide for new forms of social, professional, and political participation. Bridging the history of technology, science and technology studies, and disability studies, this book traces the psychological, cultural, and economic evolution of a consumer culture aimed at individuals with disabilities, who increasingly rely on personal computers to make their lives richer and more interconnected.
PCs for Dummies by Dan Gookin
Call Number: QA76.5 .G6295 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-19
The bestselling PC reference on the planet--now available in its 13th edition Completely updated to cover the latest technology and software, the 13th edition of PCs For Dummies tackles using a computer in friendly, human terms. Focusing on the needs of the beginning computer user, while also targeting those who are familiar with PCs, but need to get up to speed on the latest version of Windows. This hands-on guide takes the dread out of working with a personal computer. Leaving painful jargon and confusing terminology behind, it covers Windows 10 OS, connecting to and using services and data in the cloud, and so much more. Written by Dan Gookin, the original For Dummies author, it tells you how to make a PC purchase, what to look for in a new PC, how to work with the latest operating system, ways to protect your files, what you can do online, media management tips, and even basic topics you're probably too shy to ask a friend about. Determine what you need in a PC and how to set it up Configure your PC, hook up a printer, and connect to the Internet Find your way around Windows 10 OS with ease and confidence Play movies and music, view photos, and explore social media If you're a first-time PC user at home or at work or just need to brush up on the latest technological advancements, the new edition of this bestselling guide gets you up and running fast.
Professional Python by Luke Sneeringer
Call Number: QA76.73.P98 .S644 2016
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
Master the secret tools every Python programmer needs to know Professional Python goes beyond the basics to teach beginner- and intermediate-level Python programmers the little-known tools and constructs that build concise, maintainable code. Design better architecture and write easy-to-understand code using highly adoptable techniques that result in more robust and efficient applications. Coverage includes Decorators, Context Managers, Magic Methods, Class Factories, Metaclasses, Regular Expressions, and more, including advanced methods for unit testing using asyncio and CLI tools. Each topic includes an explanation of the concept and a discussion on applications, followed by hands-on tutorials based on real-world scenarios. The "Python 3 first" approach covers multiple current versions, while ensuring long-term relevance. Python offers many tools and techniques for writing better code, but often confusing documentation leaves many programmers in the dark about how to use them. This book shines a light on these incredibly useful methods, giving you clear guidance toward building stronger applications. Learn advanced Python functions, classes, and libraries Utilize better development and testing tools Understand the "what," "when," "why," and "how" More than just theory or a recipe-style walk-through, this guide helps you learn -- and understand -- these little-known tools and techniques. You'll streamline your workflow while improving the quality of your output, producing more robust applications with cleaner code and stronger architecture. If you're ready to take your Python skills to the next level, Professional Python is the invaluable guide that will get you there.
The Adobe Illustrator CS6 WOW! Book by Sharon Steuer
Call Number: T385 .S75836 2013
Publication Date: 2012-08-23
Adobe Illustrator is the indispensable vector drawing tool used by digital artists around the world. As a key component of Adobe Creative Suite 6 and the Creative Cloud (CC), Illustrator provides artists with powerful drawing and painting tools, unparalleled typographic controls, and much more. The award-winning Adobe Illustrator CS6 WOW! Book is updated for features through Illustrator CS6, with updates on features introduced through the CC provided through PDF booklets (see Related Product below). Created for intermediate through professional artists and designers, this book focuses on real-world tips, tricks, and techniques extracted from the artwork of many of the world's best Illustrator artists. Along the way you'll learn powerful new ways to create complex repeating patterns, apply gradients to a path, edit and apply custom and preset stroke profiles, add custom and preset live arrows, use improved live trace, work with Bristle and Blob brushes, learn new ways to construct and edit objects, add transparency to mesh and gradients, create 3D with the perspective grid, manage multiple artboards, crop with clipping masks, control transitions with opacity masks, and more. Related Product The Adobe Illustrator Wow! Booklet for June 2013 CC Release: Tips, Tricks, and Step-by-Step Techniques with the New Creative Tools In this concise standalone update to the award-winning Adobe Illustrator CS6 WOW! Book, Sharon Steuer and her WOW! team focus on the new creativity-enhancing features included in the June 2013 update to the Creative Cloud edition of Adobe Illustrator. This digital booklet includes tips, tricks, and step-by-step techniques designed to help Intermediate through professional users of Illustrator to efficiently integrate changes in workflow and get up to speed on the more creative features of this software update. Register the booklet to download sample art files and be notified about updates. Find additional WOW! content, course outlines, and further Creative Cloud updates at WOWartist.com.
Comptia A+ (Exam 220-801 and Exam 220-802) by Darril Gibson
Call Number: QA76.3 .G523 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Ace your preparation for the CompTIA A+ Exams 220-801 and 220-802 with this 2-in-1 Training Kit from Microsoft Press. Work at your own pace through a series of lessons and practical exercises, and then assess your computing technology skills with the online practice test--featuring multiple, customizable testing options to meet your specific needs. Your Training Kit includes: In-depth coverage of all 10 CompTIA domains in Exams 220-801 and 220-802 Instructive case studies to enhance your performance on the job Online practice tests to help you assess your exam readiness The entire Training Kit in searchable eBook format Assess your skills with practice tests. You can work through hundreds of questions using multiple testing modes to meet your specific learning needs. You get detailed explanations for right and wrong answers--including a customized learning path that describes how and where to focus your studies. For customers who purchase an ebook version of this title, instructions for downloading the CD files can be found in the ebook.
CompTIA Network+ Exam Guide by Michael Meyers
Call Number: TK5105.5 .M483 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
CompTIA Network+ in a nutshell -- Network models -- Cabling and topology -- Ethernet basics -- Modern ethernet -- Installing a physical network -- TCP/IP basics -- The wonderful world of routing -- TCP/IP applications -- Network naming -- Securing TCP/IP -- Advanced networking devices -- IPv6 -- Remote connectivity -- Wireless networking -- Protecting your network -- Virtualization -- Network management -- Building a SOHO network -- Network troubleshooting.
Cybercrime by Robert Moore
Call Number: HV8079.C65 M66 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
This innovative text provides an excellent introduction to technology-assisted crime and the basics of investigating such crime, from the criminal justice perspective. It presents clear, concise explanations for students and professionals, who need not be technically proficient to find the material easy-to-understand and practical. The book begins by identifying and defining the most prevalent and emerging high-technology crimes -- and exploring their history, their original methods of commission, and their current methods of commission. Then it delineates the requisite procedural issues associated with investigating technology-assisted crime. In addition, the text provides a basic introduction to computer forensics, explores legal issues in the admission of digital evidence, and then examines the future of high-technology crime, including legal responses.
Guide to Computer Forensics and Investigations by Bill Nelson; Amelia Phillips; Christopher Steuart
Call Number: HV8079.C65 G84 2010
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Master the skills necessary to launch and complete a successful computer investigation with the updated fourth edition of this popular book, GUIDE TO COMPUTER FORENSICS AND INVESTIGATIONS. This resource guides readers through conducting a high-tech investigation, from acquiring digital evidence to reporting its findings. Updated coverage includes new software and technologies as well as up-to-date reference sections, and content includes how to set up a forensics lab, how to acquire the proper and necessary tools, and how to conduct the investigation and subsequent digital analysis. It is appropriate for students new to the field, or as a refresher and technology update for professionals in law enforcement, investigations, or computer security. The book features free downloads of the latest forensic software, so readers can become familiar with the tools of the trade.
Call Number: QA76.73.J39 D83 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-30
Mobile Forensics Investigation by Lee Reiber
Call Number: HV8079.C65 R45 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-25
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master the tools and techniques of mobile forensic investigations Conduct mobile forensic investigations that are legal, ethical, and highly effective using the detailed information contained in this practical guide. Mobile Forensic Investigations: A Guide to Evidence Collection, Analysis, and Presentation fully explains the latest tools and methods along with features, examples, and real-world case studies. Find out how to assemble a mobile forensics lab, collect prosecutable evidence, uncover hidden files, and lock down the chain of custody. This comprehensive resource shows not only how to collect and analyze mobile device data but also how to accurately document your investigations to deliver court-ready documents. * Legally seize mobile devices, USB drives, SD cards, and SIM cards * Uncover sensitive data through both physical and logical techniques * Properly package, document, transport, and store evidence * Work with free, open source, and commercial forensic software * Perform a deep dive analysis of iOS, Android, and Windows Phone file systems * Extract evidence from application, cache, and user storage files * Build SQLite queries and Python scripts for mobile device file interrogation * Prepare reports that will hold up to judicial and defense scrutiny
Privacy in the Age of Big Data by Theresa M. Payton; Theodore Claypoole; Howard A. Schmidt (Foreword by)
Call Number: KF1262 .P39 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-16
Digital data collection and surveillance gets more pervasive and invasive by the day; but the best ways to protect yourself and your data are all steps you can take yourself. The devices we use to get just-in-time coupons, directions when we're lost, and maintain connections with loved ones no matter how far away they are, also invade our privacy in ways we might not even be aware of. Our devices send and collect data about us whenever we use them, but that data is not safeguarded the way we assume it would be. Privacy is complex and personal. Many of us do not know the full extent to which data is collected, stored, aggregated, and used. As recent revelations indicate, we are subject to a level of data collection and surveillance never before imaginable. While some of these methods may, in fact, protect us and provide us with information and services we deem to be helpful and desired, others can turn out to be insidious and over-arching. Privacy in the Age of Big Data highlights the many positive outcomes of digital surveillance and data collection while also outlining those forms of data collection to which we may not consent, and of which we are likely unaware. Payton and Claypoole skillfully introduce readers to the many ways we are 'watched, ' and how to adjust our behaviors and activities to recapture our privacy. The authors suggest the tools, behavior changes, and political actions we can take to regain data and identity security. Anyone who uses digital devices will want to read this book for its clear and no-nonsense approach to the world of big data and what it means for all of us.
Teach Yourself VISUALLY Windows 10 by Paul McFedries
Call Number: QA 76.76 .O63 .M35 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-24
Learn Windows 10 visually with step-by-step instructions Teach Yourself VISUALLY Windows 10 is the visual learner's guide to the latest Windows upgrade. Completely updated to cover all the latest features, this book walks you step-by-step through over 150 essential Windows tasks. Using full color screen shots and clear instruction, you'll learn your way around the interface, set up user accounts, play media files, download photos from your camera, go online, set up email, and much more. You'll even learn how to customize Windows 10 to suit the way you work best, troubleshoot and repair common issues, and optimize system performance to take advantage of everything the operating system has to offer. This guide has everything you need to know so you can take advantage of all Windows 10 has to offer. Learn essential Windows tasks with step-by-step instructions Customize Windows and optimize performance with simple tricks Troubleshoot and repair applications, and perform basic system maintenance Protect your files, manage media, create user accounts, and much more If you are a visual learner, this guide is the easiest way to get up and running quickly. Patient pacing, plain-English instruction, and easy-to-follow screen shot-based tutorials show you everything you need to know every step of the way. If you want to get the most out of the latest Windows offering, Teach Yourself VISUALLY Windows 10 is the guide you need.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
OER = Open Educational Resources. These items are free for anyone to use anytime.
Computer Networking : Principles, Protocols and Practice by Olivier Bonaventure
Publication Date: 16-Sep-2015
""Computer Networking : Principles, Protocols and Practice" is an open-source ebook that explains the main principles of Computer Networking and the key protocols that are used on the Internet. The Ebook is intended to be used for an upper-level undergraduate networking course. The first part describes the theoretical foundations of this domain as well and the main algorithms and protocols. The second part contains a detailed explanation of the main Internet protocols including HTTP, DNS, TCP, UDP, IPv6, BGP, RIP, OSPF, Ethernet and WiFi. The last part contains exercises and practical labs to allow the students to test their knowledge..." - works with CPT 235
Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals by Graphic Communications Open Textbook Collective, British Columbia Institute of Technology
Publication Date: November 12, 2015; Updated: July 30, 2019
"This textbook -- written by a group of select experts with a focus on different aspects of the design process, from creation to production -- addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis. It covers the concept that, while most modern graphic design is created on computers using design software, the ideas and concepts don’t stay on the computer. The ideas need to be completed in the computer software, then progress to an imaging (traditionally referred to as printing) process. Keywords are highlighted throughout and summarized in a Glossary at the end of the book, and each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings." - works with CPT 256 & GRC 102
Introduction: Visual Basic 6.0 by Gary Haggard; Wade Hutchison; Christy Shibata
Publication Date: 2013
"BASIC has come a long way from the teletype interface most current computer users might see in a museum. The language has evolved into an object oriented programming language used in sophisticated applications for PCs. Fortunately, BASIC can still be used to help the nonprogrammer understand what capabilities a programming language has and how all these features are used to solve real problems. This text is intended to help the student who expects their computer usage to consist primarily of using word processors, spreadsheets, presentation packages, and other software for specialized applications to understand what the commands these applications provide with single words and single mouse clicks are actually doing as encapsulated programs." - works with CPT 130
Introduction to Computer Graphics by David J. Eck
Publication Date: 2016
"Introduction to Computer Graphics is a free, on-line textbook covering the fundamentals of computer graphics and computer graphics programming. This book is meant for use as a textbook in a one-semester course that would typically be taken by undergraduate computer science majors in their third or fourth year of college." - works with CPT 256
An Introduction to Computer Networks by Peter Lars Dordal
Publication Date: 2014
"An Introduction to Computer Networksis a free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises.It covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator." - works with CPT 235
Java, Java, Java: Object-Oriented Problem Solving by Ralph Morelli; Ralph Walde
Publication Date: 2016
"We have designed this third edition of Java, Java, Java to be suitable for a typical Introduction to Computer Science (CS1) course or for a slightly more advanced Java as a Second Language course. This edition retains the “objects first” approach to programming and problem solving that was characteristic of the first two editions. Throughout the text we emphasize careful coverage of Java language features, introductory programming concepts, and object-oriented design principles." - works with CPT 245
The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming by Michael Mendez
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
"Web development is an evolving amalgamation of languages that work in concert to receive, modify, and deliver information between parties using the Internet as a mechanism of delivery. While it is easy to describe conceptually, implementation is accompanied by an overwhelming variety of languages, platforms, templates, frameworks, guidelines, and standards. Navigating a project from concept to completion often requires more than mastery of one or two complementing languages, meaning today's developers need both breadth, and depth, of knowledge to be effective.This text provides the developer with an understanding of the various elements of web development by focusing on the concepts and fundamentals through the examples within, providing a foundation that allows easier transition to other languages and a better understanding of how to approach their work. The reader will be introduced to topics in a manner that follows most project development methods, from initial conceptualization and design through front end development, back end development, and introducing additional concepts like accessibility and security, while focusing on responsive design techniques. Each section of the text includes opportunities to practice the material and assess increased knowledge after examining the topics." (note: also available here
) - works with CPT 252
Think Python by Allen B. Downey
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
"If you want to learn how to program, working with Python is an excellent way to start. This hands-on guide takes you through the language a step at a time, beginning with basic programming concepts before moving on to functions, recursion, data structures, and object-oriented design. This second edition and its supporting code have been updated for Python 3. Through exercises in each chapter, you'll try out programming concepts as you learn them. Think Python is ideal for students at the high school or college level, as well as self-learners, home-schooled students, and professionals who need to learn programming basics. Beginners just getting their feet wet will learn how to start with Python in a browser. Start with the basics, including language syntax and semantics Get a clear definition of each programming concept Learn about values, variables, statements, functions, and data structures in a logical progression Discover how to work with files and databases Understand objects, methods, and object-oriented programming Use debugging techniques to fix syntax, runtime, and semantic errors Explore interface design, data structures, and GUI-based programs through case studies" - works with CPT 127
CPT course(s) textbook list 2020 fall semester.
|Starting Out with Python
|Complete A+ Guide to IT Hardware & Software
|A Guide to SQL
|Linux+ and LPIC-1 Guide to Linux Certification
|Complete A+ Guide to IT Hardware & Software
|Hands on Virtual Computing
|CompTIA Network+ N10-007 Cert Guide, Deluxe Edition
|Development & Design Foundations with HTML
|Game Development and Simulation with Unreal Technology
|Guide to Computer Forensics and Investigations
|Hands-On Microsoft Windows Server 2019
|Security+ Guide to Network Security Fundamentals
|Management of Information Security
|Applied Incident Response
|Mobile Forensic Investigations
(note: these books are not available in the Learning Commons - Inter-Library Loan may be possible. See Learning Commons staff with any questions.)
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]