Skip to Main Content
Information Literacy in the Digital Age by Teresa S. Welsh; Melissa S. Wright
Call Number: ZA3075 .W457 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-27
This book examines the various types of literacy that are important in the Digital Age of rapid technological change and proliferating information resources in a variety of formats. According to the American Library Association (www.ala.org), "information literacy is a set of abilities requiring individuals to recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information." Information literacy forms the basis for lifelong learning and is common to all disciplines, to all learning environments, and to all levels of education. Information literacy is an umbrella term that includes a variety of specific competencies: cultural literacy, library literacy, computer literacy, network literacy, and media literacy. Each topic addressed in the book includes contextual background information, basic concepts, a resource list, exercises and activities to reinforce the important learning concepts addressed in each chapter.
Introduction to Information Literacy for Students by Michael C. Alewine; Mark Canada
Call Number: ZA3075 .A449 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Introduction to Information Literacy for Students presents a concise, practical guide to navigating information in the digital age. Features a unique step-by-step method that can be applied to any research project Includes research insights from professionals, along with review exercises, insiders' tips and tools, search screen images utilized by students, and more Encourages active inquiry-based learning through the inclusion of various study questions and exercises Provides students with effective research strategies to serve them through their academic years and professional careers Ensures accessibility and a strong instructional approach due to authorship by a librarian and award-winning English professor
Political Campaigns and Political Advertising by Frank W. Baker
Call Number: JK2281 .B354 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-04
Examining political campaigns and political advertising through the analytical lens of media literacy, this well-illustrated and timely handbook guides readers through the maze of blandishments and spin that is the hallmark of the modern political campaign. It dissects the persuasive strategies embedded in the political messages we encounter every day in the media and demonstrates the importance of critical thinking in evaluating media stories. Key concepts of media literacy are applied to political advertising in traditional media (newspapers, television, radio) and on the Internet, the new frontier of the political advertising wars. Dealing with blogs, social networking, user-generated Web sites, and other electronic formats familiar to young voters, this lively introduction to the new world of political messaging appeals to readers' affinity for visual learning as well as their ability to discern messages in text. Unique in applying media literacy concepts to the political context while directly addressing students and general readers, this book not only explains but graphically demonstrates both established techniques of political framing and the new avenues of persuasion being pioneered in digital media. It will also interest viewers who like their political news in traditional media but unconventional formats. Comprehensive coverage of the media as a tool of political campaigns Accessible format intended to appeal to students who are very familiar with the visual organization of the Internet Sidebars highlighting critical thinking/viewing questions; key definitions, facts, dates, and data; telling but offbeat and entertaining trivia Substantial resources section, including timeline, glossary, and annotated lists of print and electronic materials Presentation correlating with state and national curriculum standards
Speaking the Lower Frequencies by Walter R. Jacobs
Call Number: P96.M42 U585 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-14
Shows how using texts from popular culture in the classroom can help young people to become critical consumers of media without losing the pleasure they derive from it.
Understanding Digital Literacies by Rodney H. Jones; Christoph A. Hafner
Call Number: P96.M4 .J66 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-17
Assuming no knowledge of linguistics, Understanding Digital Literacies provides an accessible and timely introduction to new media literacies. It supplies readers with the theoretical and analytical tools with which to explore the linguistic and social impact of a host of new digital literacy practices. Each chapter in the volume covers a different topic, presenting an overview of the major concepts, issues, problems and debates surrounding the topic, while also encouraging students to reflect on and critically evaluate their own language and communication practices. Features include: coverage of a diverse range of digital media texts, tools and practices including blogging, hypertextual organisation, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Wikipedia, websites and games an extensive range of examples and case studies to illustrate each topic, such as how blogs have affected our thinking about communication, how the creation and sharing of digital images and video can bring about shifts in social roles, and how the design of multiplayer online games for children can promote different ideologies anbsp;variety of discussion questions and mini-ethnographic research projects involving exploration of various patterns of media production and communication between peers, for example in the context of Wikinomics and peer production, social networking and civic participation, and digital literacies at work end of chapter suggestions for further reading and links to key web and video resources anbsp;companion website providing supplementary material for each chapter, including summaries of key issues, additional web-based exercises, and links to further resources such as useful websites, articles, videos and blogs. This book will provide a key resource for undergraduate and graduate students studying courses in new media and digital literacies.
Books in the Learning Commons
The Information Diet by Clay A. Johnson
Call Number: BF444 .J66 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
The modern human animal spends upwards of 11 hours out of every 24 in a state of constant consumption. Not eating, but gorging on information ceaselessly spewed from the screens and speakers we hold dear. Just as we have grown morbidly obese on sugar, fat, and flour--so, too, have we become gluttons for texts, instant messages, emails, RSS feeds, downloads, videos, status updates, and tweets. We're all battling a storm of distractions, buffeted with notifications and tempted by tasty tidbits of information. And just as too much junk food can lead to obesity, too much junk information can lead to cluelessness. The Information Diet shows you how to thrive in this information glut--what to look for, what to avoid, and how to be selective. In the process, author Clay Johnson explains the role information has played throughout history, and why following his prescribed diet is essential for everyone who strives to be smart, productive, and sane. In The Information Diet, you will: Discover why eminent scholars are worried about our state of attention and general intelligence Examine how today's media--Big Info--give us exactly what we want: content that confirms our beliefs Learn to take steps to develop data literacy, attention fitness, and a healthy sense of humor Become engaged in the economics of information by learning how to reward good information providers Just like a normal, healthy food diet, The Information Diet is not about consuming less--it's about finding a healthy balance that works for you
Media Literacy by Art Silverblatt; Donald Miller; Julie Smith; Nikole Brown
Call Number: P96.M4 S594 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Covering print, photography, film, radio, television, and new media, this textbook instructs readers on how to take a critical approach to media and interpret the information overload that is disseminated via mass communication. This fourth edition of Keys to Interpreting Media Messages supplies a critical and qualitative approach to media literacy analysis. Now updated with conceptual changes, current examples, updated references, and coverage of new developments in media-- particularly in digital, interactive forms--this book addresses all forms of information disseminated via mass communication. Organized into three sections, the book first presents a theoretical framework for the critical analysis of media text that covers the definition of media literacy as well as fundamental principles and concepts. Part II focuses on the application of this methodological framework to the analysis of advertising, journalism, American political communications, and interactive media. Part III considers specific mass media issues, such as violence in the media, media and children, and global communications, and discusses outcomes of having a media-literate population. Supplies clear explanation of media literacy theory and guidance on interpreting modern mass media from leading scholars Represents a highly effective tool for achieving a key aspect of media literacy: enabling students to decipher information and independently reach opinions and positions without relying on the pervasive influence of the media Provides critical examination of controversial, current topics such as violence in the media and the intersections of media and social change
Not Just Where to Click by Troy A. Swanson; Heather Jagman
Call Number: ZA3075 .N68 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
"In a collection of essays, this volume examines how academic libraries assess liaison activities and offers recommendations for documenting the impact of programs and services. Individual chapters address liaison activities relating to collection development, library instruction, research services, engagement and outreach, as well as online, blended and other learning environments."
Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts by Patricia Bravender; Hazel Dean McClure; Gayle Schaub
Call Number: ZA3075 .T434 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts: Lesson Plans for Librarians is a collection designed by instruction librarians to promote critical thinking and engaged learning. It provides teaching librarians detailed, ready-to-use, and adaptable lesson ideas to help students understand and be transformed by information literacy threshold concepts.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Books at Other Libraries - The LC Staff will happily get them for you.
The Dark Side of Our Digital World by Andrew Weiss
Call Number: ZA3075 .W44 2020
Publication Date: 2020-05-18
An all-in-one guide to understanding and managing the dark side of our digital lives. What if our assumptions about information and the Internet are not as clear-cut as we would like to believe? We have all confronted a failed search, the frustration of looking at an online troll's obnoxious response in an online forum, malware-infested software, the loss of privacy, and more. But it's always the obvious things that we take for granted, like consciousness. Or time. Or 'information'. A clear definition of information is seemingly simple, but when looked at closely, there is more to it. As ubiquitous as water or air, but when it's compromised or misused, it suddenly becomes noticeable. This book will attempt to examine some of the issues related to information that seem to belie its benign nature and will view some of the information "pathologies," or negative consequences, inherent to this digital information age. Many of these pathologies are hiding in plain sight: -Fake news -Misinformation -Disinformation -Information overload -Surveillance and privacy loss -Cyberbullying -Hacking and other cybersecurity flaws -Online and IT behavioral conditioning Without a concept to better describe what is happening to us, we may be doomed to repeat these patterns of destructive behavior, manipulated by external forces and conditions into acting in predictable ways, or becoming willing participants giving in to our own worst impulses. The book will help readers identify strategies to understand, avoid, and handle these problems.
Data Literacy by David L. Herzog
Call Number: Q180.55.E4 H47 2016
Publication Date: 2015-02-11
We are swimming in a world of data, and this handy guide will keep students afloat while they learn to make sense of it all. David Herzog, a journalist with more than 15 years of experience using data analysis to transform information into captivating storytelling, introduces readers to the fundamentals of data literacy. Assuming the reader has no advanced knowledge of data analysis or statistics, the book shows how to create insight from publicly-available data. Extensively illustrated, step-by-step instructions within a concise, yet comprehensive, reference will help readers to master: What data is and what it isn't, How to develop a "database set of mind," How to gather data, How to evaluate data, How to clean up "dirty data," How to visualize data, and How to use tools for data analysis and visualization.
Keep Calm and Log On by Gillian "gus" Andrews
Call Number: HM 742 .A65 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-28
How to survive the digital revolution without getting trampled- your guide to online mindfulness, digital self-empowerment, cybersecurity, creepy ads, trustworthy information, and more.Feeling overwhelmed by an avalanche of online content? Anxious about identity theft? Unsettled by the proliferation of fake news? Welcome to the digital revolution. Wait-wasn't the digital revolution supposed to make our lives better? It was going to be fun and put the world at our fingertips. What happened? Keep Calm and Log On is a survival handbook that will help you achieve online mindfulness and overcome online helplessness-the feeling that tech is out of your control-with tips for handling cybersecurity, creepy ads, untrustworthy information, and much more. Taking a cue from the famous World War II morale-boosting slogan ("Keep Calm and Carry On"), Gus Andrews shows us how to adapt the techniques our ancestors used to survive hard times, so we can live our best lives online. She explains why media and technology stress us out, and offers empowering tools for coping. Mindfulness practices can help us stay calm and conserve our attention purposefully. Andrews shares the secret of understanding our own opinions'' "family trees" in order to identify misleading "fake news." She provides tools for unplugging occasionally,overcoming feelings that we are "bad at technology," and taking charge of our security and privacy. Andrews explains how social media algorithms keep us from information we need and why "creepy ads" seem to follow us online. Most importantly, she urges us to work to rebuild the trust in our communities that the internet has broken.
What the Fact? by Seema Yasmin
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
From acclaimed writer, journalist, and physician Dr. Seema Yasmin comes a much-needed, timely book about the importance of media literacy, fact-based reporting, and the ability to discern truth from lies. What is a fact? What are reliable sources? What is news? What is fake news? How can anyone make sense of it anymore? Well, we have to. As conspiracy theories and online hoaxes increasingly become a part of our national discourse and "truth" itself is being questioned, it has never been more vital to build the discernment necessary to tell fact from fiction, and media literacy has never been more vital. In this accessible guide, Dr. Seema Yasmin, an award-winning journalist, scientist, medical professional, and professor, traces the spread of misinformation and disinformation through our fast-moving media landscape and teaches young readers the skills that will help them identify and counter poorly-sourced clickbait and misleading headlines.
Search all Minverva libraries plus UMaine, Bates, Bowdoin, Colby and more.
OER = Open Educational Resources. These items are free for anyone to use anytime.
Debunking Handbook 2020 by Lewandowsky, S., Cook, J., Ecker, U. K. H., Albarracín, D., Amazeen, M. A., Kendeou, P., Lombardi, D., Newman, E. J., Pennycook, G., Porter, E. Rand, D. G., Rapp, D. N., Reifler, J., Roozenbeek, J., Schmid, P., Seifert, C. M., Sinatra, G. M., Swire-Thompson, B., van der Linden, S., Vraga, E. K., Wood, T. J., Zaragoza, M. S.
Publication Date: 2020
The Debunking Handbook 2020 summarizes the current state of the science of misinformation and its debunking. It was written by a team of 22 prominent scholars of misinformation and its debunking, and it represents the current consensus on the science of debunking for engaged citizens, policymakers, journalists, and other practitioners. (note: available in multiple languages)
Information Literacy: Basic research skills by Withers, C.
Publication Date: 2019
"There are several good books out there but the least expensive costs a few lunches or a couple months’ trolley budget. The need seemed obvious for an Information Literacy OER for our students, so we wrote one....
The overarching approach:
keep it at the community college level, keep it short, stick with the basics assuming the content would be supplemented by the depth of the class work and assignments, write it as the class is taught in that it would cover transferable skills and not be San Diego City College specific, write it as a text book in that it does not follow my class schedule, but makes sense as a book, do not use a single theme or research question for all the examples in the book, but rather use a variety in hopes that variety would hold interest and/or in hope at least one might resonate with each student, create a title that says what it is and would be easily found by librarians as opposed to some creative title such as 'It isn’t Rocket Science: what you need to know about research.'" See full article here: "OER for Information Literacy," CCL Outlook, February 2019.
Information Literacy Concepts by Hisle, D., Webb, K.
Publication Date: 2017
"Information Literacy Concepts is an openly accessible primer that introduces high school, community college, and college students to information literacy topics and gives them an overview of how to conduct their own research. This brief textbook delves into the world of libraries and how information is organized. The topic of fake news and credibility is covered in chapter 2. Students will also learn about the research process and the ethical use of information. "
The Information Literacy User's Guide by Deborah Bernnard; Irina Holden; Greg Bobish (Editor); Jenna Hecker; Allison Hosier; Trudi Jacobson (Editor); Tor Loney; Daryl Bullis
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
Good researchers have a host of tools at their disposal that make navigating today's complex information ecosystem much more manageable. Gaining the knowledge, abilities, and self-reflection necessary to be a good researcher helps not only in academic settings, but is invaluable in any career, and throughout one's life. The Information Literacy User's Guide will start you on this route to success.
The Information Literacy User's Guide is based on two current models in information literacy: The 2011 version of The Seven Pillars Model, developed by the Society of College, National and University Libraries in the United Kingdom and the conception of information literacy as a metaliteracy, a model developed by one of this book's authors in conjunction with Thomas Mackey, Dean of the Center for Distance Learning at SUNY Empire State College. These core foundations ensure that the material will be relevant to today's students.
The Information Literacy User's Guide introduces students to critical concepts of information literacy as defined for the information-infused and technology-rich environment in which they find themselves. This book helps students examine their roles as information creators and sharers and enables them to more effectively deploy related skills. This textbook includes relatable case studies and scenarios, many hands-on exercises, and interactive quizzes.
Intersections of Open Educational Resources and Information Literacy by Mary Ann Cullen (Editor); Elizabeth Dill (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-09-23
The present volume is timely not only because it models creative and effective strategies to advance both open education and information literacy, but especially because it poses critical questions and urges practitioners to go well beyond questions of access to and the use of information. It demands reflection on what is being accessed (and what is not), who is gaining access (and who is not), who is providing access (and who is not), and what the goal is of this access (and what lies beyond access).--from the Foreword by Rajiv S. Jhangiani Information literacy skills are key when finding, using, adapting, and producing open educational resources (OER). Educators who wish to include OER for their students need to be able to find these resources and use them according to their permissions. When open pedagogical methods are employed, students need to be able to use information literacy skills as they compile, reuse, and create open resources. Intersections of Open Educational Resources and Information Literacy captures current open education and information literacy theory and practice and provides inspiration for the future. Chapters include practical applications, theoretical musings, literature reviews, and case studies and discuss social justice issues, collaboration, open pedagogy, training, and advocacy. The book is divided into six parts: Foundations Teaching Info Lit with OER Librarian Support of Open Pedagogy/OER Social Justice/Untold Stories Student Advocacy Spreading the Love: Training Future Advocates and Practitioners Chapters cover topics including library-led OER creation; digital cultural heritage and the intersections of primary source literacy and information literacy; situated learning and open pedagogy; critical librarianship and open education; and developing student OER leaders. Intersections of Open Educational Resources and Information Literacy--which went through an open peer review process--informs and inspires on OER, info lit, and their many iterative convergences. It is available as an open access edition at https://bit.ly/ACRLOERInfoLit.
Journalism, fake news & disinformation: handbook for journalism education and training by Editors: Cherilyn Ireton and Julie Posetti. Contributing Authors: Julie Posetti, Cherilyn Ireton, Claire Wardle, Hossein Derakhshan, Alice Matthews, Magda Abu-Fadil, Tom Trewinnard, Fergus Bell, Alexios Mantzarlis
Publication Date: 2018
Written by experts from around the world, this handbook explores the very nature of journalism with modules on: why trust matters; thinking critically about how digital technology and social platforms are conduits of information disorder; fighting back against disinformation and misinformation through media and information literacy; fact-checking 101; social media verification and combatting online abuse.
Verification Handbook: For Disinformation And Media Manipulation by Editor: Silverman, C. ' et. all
Publication Date: 2020 (aprox.)
"The latest edition of the Verification Handbook arrives at a critical moment. Today’s information environment is more chaotic and easier to manipulate than ever before. This book equips journalists with the knowledge to investigate social media accounts, bots, private messaging apps, information operations, deep fakes, as well as other forms of disinformation and media manipulation. The first resource of its kind, it builds on the first edition of the Verification Handbook and the Verification Handbook for Investigative Reporting.
The book is published by the European Journalism Centre and supported by Craig Newmark Philanthropies."
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers by Mike Caulfield
Publication Date: 2017
"The web gives us many such strategies and tactics and tools, which, properly used, can get students closer to the truth of a statement or image within seconds. For some reason we have decided not to teach students these specific techniques. As many people have noted, the web is both the largest propaganda machine ever created and the most amazing fact-checking tool ever invented. But if we haven't taught our students those capabilities is it any surprise that propaganda is winning?
This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly." - works with ENG 105
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]