Skip to Main Content
Books, E-Books, & More
The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour by Alan Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: HB74.P8 2008eb M23 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
Psychologists have been observing and interpreting economic behaviour for at least fifty years, and the last decade, in particular, has seen an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics. The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour is a valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour. Employing empirical methods - including laboratory experiments, field experiments, observations, questionnaires and interviews - the Handbook covers aspects of theory and method, financial and consumer behaviour, the environment and biological perspectives. With contributions from distinguished scholars from a variety of countries and backgrounds, the Handbook is an important step forward in the improvement of communications between the disciplines of psychology and economics. It will appeal to academic researchers and graduates in economic psychology and behavioural economics.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by J E Roeckelein (Editor)
Call Number: BF31 .E44 2006eb
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
In attempting to understand and explain various behaviour, events, and phenomena in their field, psychologists have developed and enunciated an enormous number of 'best guesses' or theories concerning the phenomenon in question. Such theories involve speculations and statements that range on a potency continuum from 'strong' to 'weak'. The term theory, itself, has been conceived of in various ways in the psychological literature. In the present dictionary, the strategy of lumping together all the various traditional descriptive labels regarding psychologists 'best guesses' under the single descriptive term theory has been adopted. The descriptive labels of principle, law, theory, model, paradigm, effect, hypothesis and doctrine are attached to many of the entries, and all such descriptive labels are subsumed under the umbrella term theory. The title of this dictionary emphasizes the term theory (implying both strong and weak best guesses) and is a way of indication, overall, the contents of this comprehensive dictionary in a parsimonious and felicitous fashion. The dictionary will contain approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts. Terms and definitions are in English.
The Dictionary of Psychology by Ray Corsini
Call Number: BF31 .C72 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
With more than three times as many defined entries, biographies, illustrations, and appendices than any other dictionary of psychology ever printed in the English language, Raymond Corsini's Dictionary of Psychology is indeed a landmark resource. The most comprehensive, up-to-date reference of its kind, the Dictionary also maintains a user-friendliness throughout. This combination ensures that it will serve as the definitive work for years to come. With a clear and functional design, and highly readable style, the Dictionary offers over 30,000 entries (including interdisciplinary terms and contemporary slang), more than 125 illustrations, as well as extensive cross-referencing of entries. Ten supportive appendices, such as the Greek Alphabet, Medical Prescription Terms, and biographies of more than 1,000 deceased contributors to psychology, further augment the Dictionary's usefulness. Over 100 psychologists as well as numerous physicians participated as consulting editors, and a dozen specialist consulting editors reviewed the material. Dr. Alan Auerbach, the American Psychological Association's de facto dictionary expert, served as the senior consulting editor. As a final check for comprehensiveness and accuracy, independent review editors were employed to re-examine, re-review, and re-approve every entry.
The Encyclopedia of Psychological Trauma by Gilbert Reyes; Jon D. Elhai; Julian D. Ford
Call Number: RC 552.P67 E53 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-13
The Encyclopedia of Psychological Trauma is the only authoritative reference on the scientific evidence, clinical practice guidelines, and social issues addressed within the field of trauma and posttraumatic stress disorder. Edited by the leading experts in the field, you will turn to this definitive reference work again and again for complete coverage of psychological trauma, PTSD, evidence-based and standard treatments, as well as controversial topics including EMDR, virtual reality therapy, and much more.
Inside Forensic Psychology by Tiffany Masson
Call Number: RA1148 .I57 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
The rich case material in this unique book provides readers with an in-depth understanding of a wide variety of forensic psychology topics through the perspective of the psychologist working with these individuals. In this absorbing and illustrative volume, experienced forensic psychologists explain the specialized field's intersection between psychology and the justice system. It documents psychologists' interviews with involved parties, the law research they conduct, and their testimony in court on issues that include competency to stand trial, Miranda evaluations, defendants' sanity, sentencing, the death penalty, and violence and risk assessments, as well as on cases regarding family matters such as child custody, child protection, and parental rights. Offering firsthand testimonials from some of the best-known and most practiced professionals in the nation, the contributors not only explain the work but also offer comprehensive case studies that will enable students as well as readers who are not specialists in psychology to fully understand core concepts and appreciate the complexities and subtleties of the field. Inside Forensic Psychology is intended for undergraduate students and graduate students studying forensic psychology or entering into a forensic psychology concentration/specialization. ...
The Oxford Handbook of Media Psychology by Karen E. Dill (Editor)
Call Number: P96.P75 O94 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-16
It is indisputable that media is by far the most common means by which human beings spend our free time in the modern world. However, the ubiquity of media in our lives brings with it advantages and disadvantages along with uncertainty: will increased dependence on media impair our socialfunctioning, enhance it, or both?The Oxford Handbook of Media Psychology explores facets of human behavior, thoughts, and feelings experienced in the context of media use and creation. Divided into six sections, chapters in this volume trace the history of media psychology; address content areas for media research, includingchildren's media use, media violence and desensitization, sexual content, video game violence, and portrayals of race and gender; and cover psychological and physical effects of media such as serious games, games for health, technology addictions, and video games and attention. A section onmeta-issues in media psychology brings together transportation theory, media psychophysiology, social influence in virtual worlds, and learning through persuasion. Other topics include the politics of media psychology, a lively debate about the future of media psychology methods, and the challengesand opportunities present in this interdisciplinary field.Authored by top experts from psychology, communications, and related fields, this handbook presents a vibrant map of the field of media psychology.
The Psychology Book by Wade E. Pickren; Philip G. Zimbardo (Foreword by)
Call Number: BF81 .P53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
What could be more fascinating than the workings of the human mind? This stunningly illustrated survey in Sterling's Milestones series chronicles the history of psychology through 250 landmark events, theories, publications, experiments, and discoveries. Beginning with ancient philosophies of well-being, it touches on such controversial topics as phrenology, sexual taboos, electroshock therapy, multiple personality disorder, and the nature of evil.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Mastering APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF 76.8 .G45 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
This user-friendly training guide includes groups of instructional exercises and practice tests on various aspects and features of the Sixth Edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association#65533;, including electronic references and citations, grammar, headings, seriation, statistical and mathematical copy, italics and capitalisation, numbers style and table formatting. The exercises and tests require students to apply APA Style#65533; to prove that they can use it accurately in term papers and research reports. This workbook is a self-pacing, self-teaching workbook that can be used to learn APA Style quickly and effectively. Intended for students of psychology or related disciplines as well as other professions that use APA Style, Mastering APA Style: Student's Workbook and Training Guide is an effective learning tool for the classroom or independent study.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)
Call Number: BF31 .V295 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-15
The American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
Concise Rules of APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF76.7.C66 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Concise Rules of APA Style, Sixth Edition offers essential writing and formatting standards for students, teachers, researchers, and clinicians in the social and behavioural sciences. This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication. Readers will learn how to avoid the grammatical errors most commonly reported by journal editors; how to choose the appropriate format for statistics, figures, and tables; how to credit sources and avoid charges of plagiarism; and how to construct a reference list through a wide variety of examples and sources. In addition to guidance on grammar points that have challenged writers in the social sciences, the Concise Rules provides suggestions for reducing bias in language; reviews the mechanics of style for punctuation, spelling, capitalisation, abbreviation, italicisation, headings and quotations; examines the preferred use of numbers as well as standards for metrication and statistics; provides guidance on the construction and formatting of tables, figures and appendixes; and offers clear examples and models for citing sources and constructing error-free reference lists. Available in a light-weight, spiral-bound format, the Concise Rules will travel easily from home to school to office. It will be an invaluable reference tool for all social science scholars who are serious about communicating clearly and effectively. Key to this edition is an updated and expanded APA Style website, with many additional resources to help readers learn APA style, including free tutorials, on-line courses, frequently asked questions, sample papers, and the APA Style blog. ...
Vital Statistics of the United States 2014 by Shana Hertz Hattis (Editor)
Call Number: HA203.V587 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Vital Statistics of The United States: Births, Life Expectancy, Deaths, and Selected Health Data brings together a comprehensive collection of birth, mortality, and health data into a single volume. It provides a wealth of information compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics and other government agencies. Vital Statistics contains over 225 tables and is divided into 4 parts: Births, Mortality, Health, and Marriage and Divorce. This edition contains updated tables which provide a more comprehensive look at births, mortality, health, and marriage and divorce. Some of the subjects covered include premature and low birthweights, births by cesarean section, five-year cancer survival rates, percentage of individuals with no health insurance coverage, mortality by age and cause of death, and rate of the 15 most common causes of mortality. Charts and graphs, available at applicable points in each chapter, illustrate some of the most vital trends in the data. In addition, updated definitions reflect the latest federal parameters for information about births, mortality, health, and marriages. New to sixth edition of Vital Statistics: A new chapter provides statistics on marriage and divorce from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the U.S. Census Bureau. The new information includes rates for marriages and divorces, marital statuses for adults 18 years of age and over, median age at first marriage, median durations of current marriages, and statistics on marriages ending in widowhood and separation.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Kernberg
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. ...
Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Kernberg
Call Number: RC455.2 .C4 D543 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
The Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5® is a concise, affordable companion to the ultimate psychiatric reference, DSM-5®. It includes the fully revised diagnostic classification, as well as all of the diagnostic criteria from DSM-5® in an easy-to-use paperback format. This handy reference provides quick access to the information essential to making a diagnosis. Designed to supplement DSM-5®, this convenient guide will assist all mental health professionals as they integrate the DSM-5® diagnostic criteria into their diagnoses. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders stands alone as the most authoritative reference available for clinical practice in the mental health field, and the structural and diagnostic changes in the fifth edition are "must-know" material for every clinician. The Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5® distills the most crucial, updated diagnostic information from this volume to provide clinicians with an invaluable resource for effectively diagnosing mental disorders, ranging from the most prevalent to the least common.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
Introduction to Psychology by University of Minnesota Libraries (Adapted by)
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
"Introduction to Psychology utilizes the dual theme of behavior and empiricism to make psychology relevant to intro students. The author wrote this book to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level. Five or ten years from now, he does not expect his students to remember the details of most of what he teaches them. However, he does hope that they will remember that psychology matters because it helps us understand behavior and that our knowledge of psychology is based on empirical study." - works with PSY 101
Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection by Robert Biswas-Diener; Ed Diener
Publication Date: 2016
"This textbook represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 90 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses. This book can be modified: feel free to rearrange or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.Please note that the publisher requires you to login to access and download the textbooks." - works with PSY 101
Principles of Social Psychology by University of Minnesota Libraries (Adapted by)
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
"...This textbook is based on a critical thinking approach, and its aim is to get students thinking actively and conceptually – with a greater focus on the forest than the trees. Yes, there are right and wrong answers, but the answers are not the only thing. What is perhaps even more important is how students get to the answers – the thinking process itself. To help students better grasp the big picture of social psychology, and to provide you with a theme that you can use to organize your lectures, Unnamed Author's text has a consistent pedagogy across the chapters. ..." - works with PSY 201
Principles of Social Psychology v. 1.0 by Saylor Academy
Publication Date: 2012
"...I wrote this book to help students organize their thinking about social psychology at a conceptual level. Five or ten years from now, I do not expect my students to remember the details of a study published in 2011, or even to remember most of the definitions in this book. I do hope, however, that they will remember some basic ideas, for it is these principles that will allow them to critically analyze new situations and really put their knowledge to use...." - works with PSY 201
Psychology by Rose M. Spielman
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
"Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe." - works with PSY 101
Together: The Science of Social Psychology by Robert Biswas-Diener; Ed Diener
Publication Date: 2016
"This textbook presents core concepts common to introductory social psychology courses. The 8 units include 27 modules covering key social psych topics such as research methods, group processes, social influence, and relationships. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs. Each module in this book is accompanied by instructor's manual, PowerPoint presentation, test items, adaptive student quiz, and reading anticipation guide.Please note that the publisher requires you to login to access and download the textbooks." - works with PSY 201
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]