LibGuides: ENG 101 College Writing: Online Resources

Contact me:

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Commons
CMCC
1250 Turner Street
Auburn, ME 04210

207-755-5265

The CIA World Fact Book
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to over 3.2 million entries from over 475 reference titles. These titles include general and specialist dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and quotations covering many subjects including medicine, business, religion, and geography.

Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Statistics from Government sources
Statistical Sources Guide
Our related subject guide about where to find statistical information.
US Census Bureau – Statistical Abstracts Series
Statistical abstracts. Considered best single comprehensive online source for US statistics. Summary of statistics on social, political, and economic organization of the US.
World Bank Open Data
free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe

Dictionaries, Style Manuals, Grammar Handbooks, and Editing Resources
From Purdue OWL
Understanding Writing Assignments
"This resource describes some steps you can take to better understand the requirements of your writing assignments." (OWL)
Using quotations
How much should you use in a quotation? This handy guide provides specific examples of using quotes in an essay.
more...less...
Be sure to check out the rest of the Writing Advice from the University of Toronto too.

OER = Open Educational Resources. The sites below have additional free resources that you may find helpful.

Boundless Writing
OER course formerly from Lumen Learning - works with ENG 101 & ENG 105
more...less...
Archived Version - can not download & no longer updated.
Composition Reading Bank
"Welcome to the Composition Reading Bank, a repository of links to freely available texts that replaces a traditional reader for Composition courses. Texts are organized by thematic tabs, and within each tab, texts are alphabetized by the authors’ last names. Accompanying each listed text are two things: 1) a brief summary; 2) a small, lower-case "i" that, when clicked/tapped, provides a brief example of how the text might be used in a Composition course..."
more...less...
Brooks-Pannell, R., Casey, S., Fleming, R., & Lakostik, N. (2021, October 18). Composition Reading Bank: Overview - Start Here. Columbus State Library. Retrieved November 02, 2021, from https://library.cscc.edu/compreadingbank/welcome