The Bridgeman Art Library archive
by
"A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more."
Building Design Portfolios
by
New in Paperback! Brush up your books and PDF portfolios and improve your understanding of what the current standards are. Presenting one's portfolio is where every designer begins his or her career.
Designing a Digital Portfolio
by
Portfolios have always been artists' most valuable tools for communicating their talents to the outside world, whether to potential employers or galleries or clients. But the days of sketches and slides have given way to arrangements of digital assets that are both simpler and more complex than their traditional analog counterparts.
Digital Foundations: Introduction to Media Design with the Adobe Creative Cloud, Revised Edition
by
"Digital Foundations uses formal exercises of the Bauhaus to teach the Adobe Creative Suite. All students of digital design and production—whether learning in a classroom or on their own—need to understand the basic principles of design in order to implement them using current software. Far too often design is left out of books that teach software for the trade and academic markets. Consequently, the design software training exercise is often a lost opportunity for visual learning. This revised edition updates the original text for use with Adobe Creative Cloud 2017 software." - works with GRC 102
The Elements of Typographic Style Applied to the Web
by
A practical guide to web typography
"For too long typographic style and its accompanying attention to detail have been overlooked by website designers, particularly in body copy. In years gone by this could have been put down to the technology, but now the web has caught up. The advent of much improved browsers, text rendering and high resolution screens, combine to negate technology as an excuse."
Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals
by
"This textbook -- written by a group of select experts with a focus on different aspects of the design process, from creation to production -- addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis. It covers the concept that, while most modern graphic design is created on computers using design software, the ideas and concepts don’t stay on the computer. The ideas need to be completed in the computer software, then progress to an imaging (traditionally referred to as printing) process. Keywords are highlighted throughout and summarized in a Glossary at the end of the book, and each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings." - works with CPT 256 & GRC 102
How to Be a Graphic Designer Without Losing Your Soul
by
Published to instant acclaim in 2005, our best sellingHow to Be a Graphic Designer without Losing Your Soul has become a trusted resource for graphic designers around the world, combining practical advice with philosophical guidance to help young professionals embark on their careers.
Humans R Social Media - Open Textbook Edition
by
Social media and humans exist in a world of mutual influence, and humans play central roles in how this influence is mediated and transferred. Originally created by University of Arizona Information scholar Diana Daly, this 2024 "living book" edition of Humans R Social Media welcomes additional authors and features contributions by students to help readers understand how we as humans shape social media, and how social media shapes our world in turn.
Principles of Marketing
by
Principles of Marketing is designed to meet the scope and sequence for a one-semester marketing course for undergraduate business majors and minors. Principles of Marketing provides a solid grounding in the core concepts and frameworks of marketing theory and analysis so that business students interested in a major or minor in marketing will also be prepared for more rigorous, upper-level elective courses. Concepts are further reinforced through detailed, diverse, and realistic company and organization scenarios and examples from various industries and geographical locations. To illuminate the meaningful applications and implications of marketing ideas, the book incorporates a modern approach providing connections between topics, solutions, and real-world problems. Principles of Marketing is modular, allowing flexibility for courses with varied learning outcomes and coverage.
Pulled
by
Popularized in the 1960s by Pop artists such as Andy Warhol, screen printing remains a favorite of artists due to its remarkable versatility and relatively low cost. InPulled, best-selling author Mike Perry (Hand Job,Over and Over) collects the work of more than forty of today's most talented designers who are, in their own way, pushing the boundaries of this dynamic medium.
Signage and Wayfinding Design
by
A new edition of the market-leading guide to signage and wayfinding design This new edition of Signage and Wayfinding Design: A Complete Guide to Creating Environmental Graphic Design Systems has been fully updated to offer you the latest, most comprehensive coverage of the environmental design process--from research and design development to project execution. Utilizing a cross-disciplinary approach that makes the information relevant to architects, interior designers, landscape architects, graphic designers, and industrial designers alike, the book arms you with the skills needed to apply a standard, proven design process to large and small projects in an efficient and systematic manner. Environmental graphic design is the development of a visually cohesive graphic communication system for a given site within the built environment. Increasingly recognized as a contributor to well-being, safety, and security, EGD also extends and reinforces the brand experience. Signage and Wayfinding Design provides you with Chris Calori's proven "Signage Pyramid" method, which makes solving complex design problems in a comprehensive signage program easier than ever before. Features full-color design throughout with 100+ new images from real-world projects Provides an in-depth view of design thinking applied to the EGD process Explains the holistic development of sign information, graphic, and hardware systems. Outlines the latest sign material, lighting, graphic application, and digital communication technologies Highlights code and updated ADA considerations If you're a design professional tasked with communicating meaningful information in the built environment, this vital resource has you covered.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
by
The interaction of words and images and the visual communicationof ideas are an essential part of daily life, and these concepts are atthe heart of graphic design.With over 200 new and updated entries, this indispensable book providesinformation about typographers, journals, movements and styles,organizations and schools, printers and private presses, art directors, technologicaladvances, design studios, graphic illustrators, and poster artistsfrom the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. More than 550 illustrations,extensive cross-references, and a chronological chart outliningthe relationship between movements, technology, and individual designersmake this an invaluable reference for students and professionals alike.
Writing and Research for Graphic Designers
by
For designers, writing and research skills are more necessary than ever before, from the basic business compositions to critical writing.
Many of the books about graphic design and graphic imaging are located in various sections of the library.
Some areas to browse are:
CMCC Resources
Adobe Creative Cloud All-In-One for Dummies
by
Fly higher in your Creative Cloud Adobe Creative Cloud makes the most popular tools used by designers, photographers, and other creative professionals accessible in a single place. Adobe Creative Cloud All-in-One For Dummies is the ultimate one-stop reference guide for how to use them all. Whatever gets your creative juices flowing, you'll find the in-depth guidance required to deliver the results you want, from polishing-up photos and images to creating illustrations and designs. And once your assets are just how you want them, you can pick up best practices for managing and publishing via the amazing Adobe Bridge. Written by pro designers for those getting started with this powerful set of tools, this book gives you an overview of Creative Cloud and step-by-step coverage of the major applications--InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat Pro, and Adobe XD, and Adobe Bridge--in seven mini-books that take you from the basics to more advanced topics. You'll also discover how to get your work noticed by building personal galleries and displaying your creative wares. Find the essentials on the top tools in Adobe Creative Cloud Build and enhance your design skills Protect your documents with Acrobat Pro Get the most out of each program with insider tips Whatever your skill level and project needs, you'll find the essentials you need to demystify these complex programs and the knowledge to make your work shine even more brightly through the Cloud!
Real World Print Production with Adobe Creative Cloud
by
Sharpen your print production skills with this definitive resource created specifically for design professionals who need to create files using the Adobe Creative Cloud, including InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, and Acrobat and output for printing. The previous edition was steady seller, helping designers who have no training in print get up and running quickly and not make expensive mistakes on their projects. Completely updated for CS6 and the CC, this book also helps designers with some print experience tackle more complex projects. The book covers all the Adobe Suite programs they need to know to produce successful projects, rather than buying 4 or 5 different books. This book is considered the complete resource for understanding the print cycle, how ink works on paper, managing fonts, using colour spaces, handling images, and preparing files for print or electronic output. Print expert Claudia McCue shares her hands-on techniques to prepare files, edit photos and graphics, and prevent common problems without missing a deadline. This book is brimming with insightful advice, illustrations, and shortcuts that will have you quickly and professionally producing your work in no time.
The Learning Commons has 2 mac computers with Adobe Creative Cloud available for use.
Adobe apps in the Learning Commons are:
Online Resources
CMCC Resources
The New Rules of Marketing and PR: how to use social media, online video, mobile applications, blogs, news releases, and viral marketing to reach buyers directly
by
The international bestseller--now in a new edition When it comes to marketing, anything goes in the Digital Age, right? Well, not quite. While marketing and public relations tactics do seem to change overnight, every smart businessperson knows that it takes a lot more than the 'next big thing.' The New Rules of Marketing & PR is an international bestseller with more than 375,000 copies sold in twenty-nine languages. In the latest edition of this pioneering guide to the future of marketing, you'll get a step-by-step action plan for leveraging the power of the latest approaches to generating attention for your idea or your business. You'll learn how get the right information to the right people at the right time--at a fraction of the cost of traditional advertising. The Internet continues to change the way people communicate and interact with each other, and if you're struggling to keep up with what's trending in social media, online videos, apps, blogs, or more, your product or service is bound to get lost in the ether. In The New Rules of Marketing & PR, you'll get access to the tried-and-true rules that will keep you ahead of the curve when using the latest and greatest digital spaces to their fullest PR, marketing, and customer-communications potential. Keeping in mind that your audience is savvy and crunched for time, this essential guide shows you how to cut through the online clutter to ensure that your message gets seen and heard. Serves as the ideal resource for entrepreneurs, business owners, marketers, PR professionals, and non-profit managers Offers a wealth of compelling case studies and real-world examples Includes information on new platforms including Facebook Live and Snapchat Shows both small and large organizations how to best use Web-based communication Finally, everything you need to speak directly to your audience and establish a personal link with those who make your business work is in one place.
Presentation Skills: educate, inspire and engage your audience
by
The popularity of the TED talk has raised the bar for public speaking and presentations. Audiences expect to be educated, inspired and engaged whether they are sitting in a conference room or an auditorium. Yet too often presenters lack the skills to take command and deliver persuasive and entertaining pitches and presentations. The audience is the hero of the story and the presenter is their guide to take them on a journey. Like a one act play, a presentation is not a meeting, it's a performance. And it is the job of the presenter to respect the audiences' wishes, wants and needs. With the advent of smartphone, the job of the presenter to keep the audience's attention on them rather than on the tiny device in their hand has become increasingly more difficult. The purpose of this book is to inspire you to take the next step in your presentation skills and practice.
Social Media Branding for Small Business : the 5-sources model : a manifesto for your branding revolution
by
Social media branding provides the thinking, evidence, and practice to create a road map for practitioners in small businesses to develop and implement their brand in online and of ine communities. It provides a starting point, as one of the biggest issues for small businesses is where to start. Social Media Branding For Small Businesses provides a framework to guide your strategy and implementation. The approach is called the 5-Sources Model. The resources are the have fundamental branding principles that focus on simply outsourcing your brand. Putting the customer back in control while focusing on the community and this group of dedicated customers and other stakeholders. The 5-Sources Model simply says that the social media brand for small businesses needs to play an important role in your customers' functional and emotional existence. It is both the serious and the fun experience of your brand.
Branding Yourself
by
Praise forBranding Yourself "Branding Yourselfis a good beginner's guide on how to build an online presence using social networks and blogs that will turn you into a thought leader or expert or just get you a job." –Dan Schawbel, #1 International Bestselling Author ofMe 2.0 "The biggest problem most people have with embracing the power of online networking and personal brand building is they don't know where to start. Erik Deckers and Kyle Lacy take out the guesswork and roll the dice with platforms to find the right combination for you in this book. The book is a recipe for success...your success." –Jason Falls, SocialMediaExplorer.com “In this exceedingly useful book, Erik Deckers and Kyle Lacy provide step-by-step guidance for building and maintaining powerful personas. With wit, wisdom, and numerous expert tips,Branding Yourselfis the new roadmap for navigating the sometimes complex world of personal branding. If your best marketing plan isyou(and it is), thenBranding Yourselfshould be your playbook.” –Jay Baer, Coauthor ofThe NOW Revolution: 7 Shifts to Make Your Business Faster, Smarter, and More Social "Our parents taught us to find a great job with benefits, put money toward retirement, buy a home, and work hard, and you'll reap the benefits. Our parents werewrong. The job market was downsized; the retirement account was ransacked; the house lost its value; and working hard has only put you in the unemployment line. Those who personally branded themselves were able to capitalize on the down-turned economy, and their businesses exploded. Erik Deckers and Kyle Lacy are providing you the blueprint for kicking off your brand and effectively leveraging online technologies to transform your future. [This book is] a must read." –Douglas Karr, Founder of theMarketing Technologyblog, CEO of DK New Media, and Author ofCorporate Blogging for Dummies "In an environment filled with philosophy, platitudes, and '30,000-foot views,' Erik Deckers and Kyle Lacy give us a refreshing how-to guide for actuallydoingsomething meaningful through social media. Here's a trustworthy book to help you (and me) take real action to leverage emerging tools to create customers and make them happy!" –Trey Pennington, Entrepreneur, Story Prospector, Author ofSpitball Marketing Use Social Media to Build a Great Personal Brand–and a Great Career! Need to demonstrate more value to customers or employers? Want a new job or career? Use social media to build the powerful personal brand that gets you what you want! InBranding Yourself, two leading social media consultants show how to use today’s social media platforms to attract new business and job opportunities you’ll never find any other way. Erik Deckers and Kyle Lacy show you how to supercharge all your business and personal relationships&demonstrate that you are the best solution to employers’ or partners’ toughest problems&become a recognized thought leader&and translate your online network into great jobs, great projects, and a great career! Discover how to: " Build an authentic storyline and online identity that gets you the right opportunities " Choose the best social media tools for your personal goals " Blog your story boldly and effectively " Promote your events, accomplishments, victories&and even defeats and lessons learned " Integrate online and offline networking to get more from both " Reach people with hiring authority and budgets on LinkedIn " Use Twitter to share the ideas and passions that make you uniquely valuable " Launch an online branding program that really gets noticed " Avoid “killer” social networking mistakes " Leverage your online “expert” status to become a published author or public speaker " Measure the success of your social media branding " Get new projects or jobs through your online friends and followers
Everybody Writes
by
Finally a go-to guide to creating and publishing the kind of content that will make your business thrive. Everybody Writes is a go-to guide to attracting and retaining customers through stellar online communication, because in our content-driven world, every one of us is, in fact, a writer. If you have a web site, you are a publisher. If you are on social media, you are in marketing. And that means that we are all relying on our words to carry our marketing messages. We are all writers. Yeah, but who cares about writing anymore? In a time-challenged world dominated by short and snappy, by click-bait headlines and Twitter streams and Instagram feeds and gifs and video and Snapchat and YOLO and LOL and #tbt. . . does the idea of focusing on writing seem pedantic and ordinary? Actually, writing matters more now, not less. Our online words are our currency; they tell our customers who we are. Our writing can make us look smart or it can make us look stupid. It can make us seem fun, or warm, or competent, or trustworthy. But it can also make us seem humdrum or discombobulated or flat-out boring. That means you've got to choose words well, and write with economy and the style and honest empathy for your customers. And it means you put a new value on an often-overlooked skill in content marketing: How to write, and how to tell a true story really, really well. That's true whether you're writing a listicle or the words on a Slideshare deck or the words you're reading right here, right now... And so being able to communicate well in writing isn't just nice; it's necessity. And it's also the oft-overlooked cornerstone of nearly all our content marketing. In Everybody Writes, top marketing veteran Ann Handley gives expert guidance and insight into the process and strategy of content creation, production and publishing, with actionable how-to advice designed to get results. These lessons and rules apply across all of your online assets -- like web pages, home page, landing pages, blogs, email, marketing offers, and on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and other social media. Ann deconstructs the strategy and delivers a practical approach to create ridiculously compelling and competent content. It's designed to be the go-to guide for anyone creating or publishing any kind of online content -- whether you're a big brand or you're small and solo. Sections include: How to write better. (Or, for "adult-onset writers": How to hate writing less.) Easy grammar and usage rules tailored for business in a fun, memorable way. (Enough to keep you looking sharp, but not too much to overwhelm you.) Giving your audience the gift of your true story, told well. Empathy and humanity and inspiration are key here, so the book covers that, too. Best practices for creating credible, trustworthy content steeped in some time-honored rules of solid journalism. Because publishing content and talking directly to your customers is, at its heart, a privilege. "Things Marketers Write": The fundamentals of 17 specific kinds of content that marketers are often tasked with crafting. Content Tools: The sharpest tools you need to get the job done. Traditional marketing techniques are no longer enough. Everybody Writes is a field guide for the smartest businesses who know that great content is the key to thriving in this digital world.
Online Resources
CMCC Resources
Low-Tech Print
by
Featuring a global showcase of 100 of the craft's most exciting and influential practitioners, Low-Tech Print is an exploration of hand-made printmaking techniques and how they are used in contemporary design and illustration. It examines the huge recent resurgence in the popularity of printmaking, with chapters on screenprinting, letterpress, relief printing, and other printing methods. The book shows how practitioners develop a love affair with these hand-made techniques and use them to create beautiful contemporary designs, explaining the process behind each technique and its historical context. 'In focus' sections profile practitioners such as the 'Lambe Lambe' hand-made letterpress printers of São Paulo's Grafica Fidalga studio, and cult printing techniques such as Gocco (Japan) and Chicha (Peru). Offering a unique showcase of contemporary handmade printing, Low-Tech Print will be a must-have for all design, illustration, craft, and printmaking enthusiasts.
No One Told Me Not to Do This : Selected Screenprints, 2009-2015
by
One of Indie Rock's Best Poster Artists (Pitchfork) "Ryan has been making strange little creatures since the mid-'90s, most often for bands in the Chicago area looking to promote concerts with something splashier than a Xeroxed flyer. His work is unmistakable: Whether it's a bunch of animals cozied up under the covers or a smashed-up satellite advertising a Hum reunion, there's nothing else exactly like it (and nothing nearly as charming)." --The A.V. Club, staff pick "Whether his subjects are whales, bears, mastodons, astronauts, dinosaurs, or his dilapidated garage, they're rendered in warm colors, bold lines, and an instantly recognizable, beguiling and cartoonish style. If you lack sufficient wall space for another dozen of Ryan's posters, get this." --The Big Takeover "The third collection of Ryan's screen-printed work, covering 2009-2015, includes more than 50 band posters (Andrew Bird, Sonic Youth, St. Vincent) plus several festival posters." -- Publishers Weekly "A new select collection of recent poster and commercial work of artist Jay Ryan - someone whose crazy skills really do put the GREAT in 'greatest hits.' It's rock poster art, alt-movie poster art and more." --Atomic Books Comic Preview, Largehearted Boy "[The book] features Ryan's colorful and distinctive artwork, most of which are concert posters, including those for shows by queer artists including Bob Mould and St. Vincent." -- Living Out LI "An exceptional guide to not just Jay Ryan's art, but to the process involved in making superior screenprints." --Donovan's Literary Services, a Prime Pick This third collection of Ryan's "greatest hits" features prints made between 2009 and 2015, including posters for bands such as Andrew Bird, Shellac, My Morning Jacket, Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr., Hum, St. Vincent, and others, as well as posters featuring Lil BUB, Cards Against Humanity, various bicycle races, film screenings, and pictures of sloths, walruses, and other mammals in states of troubled sleep. With a foreword by master illustrator Aaron Horkey, this volume comprises two hundred screenprints with commentary and original drawings used in the screenprinting process.
Pulled (E-Book)
by
Popularized in the 1960s by Pop artists such as Andy Warhol, screen printing remains a favorite of artists due to its remarkable versatility and relatively low cost. InPulled, best-selling author Mike Perry (Hand Job,Over and Over) collects the work of more than forty of today's most talented designers who are, in their own way, pushing the boundaries of this dynamic medium.
Little Book of Screenprinting
by
Screenprinting has moved beyond the gig poster and the tee shirt. Centuries old and made famous by Andy Warhol in the 1960s, the craft is now enjoying a renaissance all over the world as contemporary artists and studios including Rob Ryan, Alakazam!, and Crosshair, among others push the creative limits of the medium in their work with textiles, posters, and more. This large-in-scope but petite-in-size collection features the best pieces from these and more than a hundred other studios.A compact history of screenprinting, a guide to the different presses and techniques, and a beautiful design that expertly combines a handmade and modern aesthetic round out this key book for DIYers.
Print Liberation
by
You Can Learn to Screen Print Print Liberation will teach you how to screen print with readily available materials and easy instruction. Even if you're starting out in a scary basement or in the tiny bathroom in your cramped apartment with a $40 budget, Print Liberation will show you everything you need to know to get started. And if you're already in a rented studio with a few bucks to spend, this book can help you turn screen printing into your personal art or business. Seriously, this is a completely comprehensive how-to guide. You'll start by learning the history of the craft accompanied by graphic illustrations. Then, step-by-step photographs walk you through the ins and outs of all the main screen-printing techniques, including printing on dimensional surfaces, such as walls and goats (although the latter is not recommended). You'll even find advice about how to turn screen printing into a money-making venture, either by selling your work through galleries or by offering your services locally to make posters, T-shirts and anything else people might need. You can do it. Your imagination is your only limitation.
Online Resources
Other Uses for Screen Printing
CMCC Resources
Adrian Frutiger - Typefaces
by
The international creation of typefaces after 1950 was decisively influenced by the Swiss type designer Adrian Frutiger. His Univers typeface and the machine-readable font OCR-B, which was adopted as an ISO standard, are milestones, as is his type for the Paris airports, which set new standards for signage types and evolved into the Frutiger typeface. With his corporate types, he helped to define the public profiles of companies such as the Japanese Shiseido line of cosmetics. In all he created some fifty types, including Ondine, Méridien, Avenir, and Vectora. Based on conversations with Frutiger himself and on extensive research in France, England, Germany, and Switzerland, this publication provides a highly detailed and accurate account of the type designer's artistic development. All of his types - from the design phase to the marketing stage - are illustrated and analyzed with reference to the technology and related types. Hitherto unpublished types that were never realized and more than one hundred logos complete the picture. This second, revised and expanded study edition, which now has an index, makes Frutiger's achievement even more accessible.
Alan Kitching's a-Z of Letterpress
by
A must for letterpress enthusiasts and graphic designers, this is a covetable showcase of Alan Kitching's font collection. Each page has been carefully created by Alan Kitching in collaboration with Angus Hyland, making this book a work of art in its own right. Presented as an A to Z, each letter is interspersed with complete alphabets giving the reader access to a large range of fonts to reference in their own work.
Design Elements, Typography Fundamentals
by
Explore the fundamentals of typography with this practical new guide. An instructional reader rather than historical survey, Design Elements: Typography Fundamentals uses well-founded, guiding principles to teach the language of type and how to use it capably. Designers are left with a solid ground on which to design with type. Limitless potential for meaningful and creative communication exists--this is the field guide for the journey!
Type Form and Function
by
Type, Form, and Function is a useful, comprehensive typography resource that both students and professional designers should have in their library. It looks at the influences of modern typography and symbols going back through time and examines certain type treatments and movements in design and logo types. It focuses on how type works and emphasizes typographic fundamentals, while touching on logo/logotype design and page layout (print and interactive). This book promises to guide designers through the visual typographic clutter to make their designed messages more meaningful.
Typography, Referenced
by
Typography, Referenced was named to the 2013 Outstanding Reference Sources List, an annual handpicked list from the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA, a division of the American Library Association) of the most noteworthy reference titles published in 2012. Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.
Typography Workbook
by
New in paperback, The Typography Workbook provides an at-a-glance reference book for designers on all aspects of type. The book is part of Rockport's popular Workbook series of practical and inspirational workbooks that cover all the fundamental areas of the graphic design business. This book presents an abundance of information on type - the cornerstone of graphic design - succinctly and to the point, so that designers can get the information they need quickly and easily. Whereas many other books on type are either very technical or showcase oriented, this book offers ideas and inspiration through hundreds of real-life projects showing successful, well-crafted usage of type. The book also offers a variety of other content, including choosing fonts, sizes, and colors; incorporating text and illustrations; avoiding common mistakes in text usage; and teaching rules by which to live (and work) by.
Online Resources
Central Maine Community College Learning Commons - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [Full Non-Discrimination Notice]