Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
In Credo Reference Some of the electronic reference books of interest to BCT students are:
Britannica concise encyclopedia by 
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by 
Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design Data, Network by Below are just a few e-books from Ebook Central related to the the building construction field.
Below are some books in the field of (BCT) Building Construction Technology that you can take out of the CMCC Learning Commons.
Advanced Timber Framing by
Drawn from over 35 years experience building and teaching, this book combines both the nuance you would expect, and a broad overview of the rich history of compound timber frame joinery. The work is divided into two parts: Book One, Design & History, and Book Two: Geometry & Joinery Systems.
In The Elements of Design, Chappell draws parallels between the significance of proper design proportions. Using the proportions of the golden mean, phi and the Fibonacci sequence, and metaphors to music, Chappell begins to develop a design template that includes both sound and harmonics as fundamental aspects of the design medium.
In A Brief History of Roof Framing, Chappell goes on to explore the early development and history of timber framed roof systems from the 12th century Stave Churches, Tithe Barns and Market halls of Europe, to the ancient Pagodas of China and Japan.
Book Two moves into the technical aspects of how to begin the process by first Developing the Geometric Model. Though the subject can be complex, the emphasis on developing a strong visual mental image at the outset is strengthened through the rich use photographs and illustrations.
In The Vocabulary of Compound Joinery, Chappell goes on to thoroughly discuss a very broad variety of design options and joinery details for virtually any situation one may ever confront in constructing complex, joined timber framed roof systems.
Beautifully illustrated with over 870 color photographs and illustrations, Chappell presents a complete and comprehensive geometric and mathematical system in this work.
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors by
The Interactive Resource Center is an online learning environment where instructors and students can access the tools they need to make efficient use of their time, while reinforcing and assessing their understanding of key concepts for successful understanding of the course. An access card with redemption code for the online Interactive Resource Center is included with all new, print copies or can be purchased separately. (∗∗∗If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code (ISBN: 9781118990179). The online Interactive Resource Center contains resources tied to the book, such as: Interactive Forms and Checklists Downloadable Bibliography Flashcards by chapter for focused learning Get up to speed on the latest codes with the complete reference for interiors. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors, Sixth Edition is the standards reference of choice for designers and architects, and the only guide devoted exclusively to codes applicable to interiors. With jargon-free explanations of all standards and regulations of concern to designers and architects, the book takes readers step-by-step through the codes relevant to each stage in the design process. The updated sixth edition features the latest information on fire codes, performance codes, building and finish standards, energy codes, and accessibility regulations, plus enhanced illustrations that clearly demonstrate how codes apply in real-life scenarios. Interior designers, architects, and facility managers need a basic understanding of the various codes involved with building interiors. These codes are updated on a continuous basis, and professionals must stay on top of new requirements and upcoming codes processes. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors is a complete reference, organized by stage for easy navigation, and comprehensive enough for use as a review for the NCIDQ and ARE exams. The sixth edition contains the most recent developments in interior codes and regulations, including: 2012 ICC codes, including the IBC, and ICC International Green Construction Code Coverage of changes to ADA standards and ICC/ASI accessibility requirements New standards, terminology, and federal regulations Updated information on sustainability as it relates to codes and regulations Having all applicable codes in a single resource saves hours of research time, and can dramatically reduce the potential for costly planning oversights. Whether renovation or new construction, small or large, codes apply to every project. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors provides designers with the comprehensive information they need to stay up-to-date.
Estimating in Building Construction by
The only complete, up-to-date guide to estimating modern building construction projects -- now updated, expanded, and incorporating many additional workbook problems. Now updated and expanded, Estimating in Building Construction, Eighth Edition, brings together everything needed for a complete, modern course in estimating. Building on well-proven previous editions, it combines sound coverage of principles with step-by-step procedures to help students learn concepts more easily. Ideal for construction, architecture, and engineering students, it reflects the popular approach of tracking a complete project's progress. There are examples of estimating portions of the building that many General Contractors perform, and thorough coverage of the use of specialty subcontractors. This edition adds a new discussion of Building Information Modeling (BIM) and more detailed discussions of estimating equipment cost, electrical, plumbing (including fire sprinklers), and HVAC. For convenience and cost savings, workbook problems that accompanied the previous edition have been incorporated into the book. Teaching and Learning Experience This book will help construction, architecture, and engineering students quickly master today's best practices for estimating building construction projects. It provides: Extensive examples and problems designed to link theory to practice: Helps students deepen the judgment skills they will need to succeed in real-world estimating Expanded and updated coverage of today's key challenges and techniques-Helps students master the latest industry practices and standards, and utilize key innovations such as Building Information Modeling Includes extensive reference resources for professional estimating: Gives students resources they can rely on throughout their careers, from sample specifications to spreadsheets
Making Better Buildings by
From foundation to finish, a wealth of information is available on sustainable construction methods--entire volumes have been published on individual green and natural building techniques. But with so many different ideas to choose from, there is no single resource that allows an owner or builder to quickly and objectively compare the merits of each system for their particular project. Making Better Buildings cuts through the hype and provides the unvarnished facts about the upsides and downsides of the most widely discussed materials and technologies. Drawing on the real-world experiences of designer/builders, this comparative guide systematically and comprehensively examines each approach in terms of: Cost, sourcing, availability, labor intensity, and ease of construction Energy efficiency, embodied energy, and environmental impacts Availability/accessibility Each chapter is rounded out by a chart which summarizes the material in a quick and accessible manner. Whether you are an owner preparing to build a green or natural home or a conventional contractor determined to integrate sustainable alternatives into your existing construction practices, this up-to-the minute resource will help you make the best decisions for your project while meeting your energy, efficiency, budgetary, and site-specific needs. Chris Magwood and Jen Feigin are sustainable builders and designers specializing in green and natural building techniques, and are the founders and directors of the Endeavour Centre for Innovative Building and Living. Chris is also the author of three previous books on sustainable building, including Straw Bale Details and More Straw Bale Building.
Sustainable Construction by
Using the latest version of U.S. Green Building Council′s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) rating system and other tools, Charles Kibert, in a clear and accessible writing style, addresses issues so that the reader can think critically and independently as part of the cutting edge in green building. New coverage includes of Carbon Neutral Design and Carbon Accounting. This book is a must for the builder/owner and manager looking to take advantage of the opportunities in this rapidly evolving field.
The Tumbleweed Diy Book of Backyard Sheds and Tiny Houses by
Real-world plans for very handsome tiny buildings you will actually want to build, use, and enjoy.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Below are some books in the field of (BCT) Building Construction Technology available in print in the Reference section of the CMCC Learning Commons.
2012 International Building Code by 
The Roofing Handbook by 
RS Means Building Construction Cost Data by Books in Maine: The Learning Commons staff will happily request these items from other Maine libraries for you if you like.
Building the Timber Frame House by 
Residential Energy by 
The Timber-Frame Home by 
A Timber Framer's Workshop by Books beyond Maine: The book(s) below are available from libraries outside of the state of Maine so please allow extra time for requests and delivery. Some are also available through a Cengage Unlimited account which you can purchase in the College Bookstore.
Carpentry by OER = Open Educational Resources. These items are free for anyone to use anytime.
2018 International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings by 
2018 International Residential Code Study Companion by 
Building America Best Practices Series Volume 12 by 
Building Maintenance & Construction: Tools and Maintenance Tasks (Interactive) by Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]
