"The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 / 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness. It will round out our coverage of body systems and provide end users with information on preventative health topics. "
Developed by the American College of Sports Medicine, this text offers a comprehensive introduction to the basics of strength training and conditioning based on the latest research findings. ACSM's Foundations of Strength Training and Conditioning is divided into four parts: Foundations, Physiological Responses and Adaptations, Strength Training and Conditioning Program Design, and Assessment. The text focuses on practical applications, enabling students to develop, implement, and assess the results of training programs that are designed to optimize strength, power, and athletic performance. Moreover, the text's clear, straightforward writing style makes it easy to grasp new concepts.
The Fitness Instructor's Handbook is the essential guide for anyone working in, or wishing to enter, the fitness industry. This new edition has been fully updated and covers every component of industry standards, offering the perfect blend of theory and practice for every aspect of health and fitness.
NASM Essentials of Personal Fitness Training by National Academy of Sports Medicine Staff; Brian G. Sutton (Editor)Since 1987, the National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM) has been a global leader in providing evidence-based certifications and advanced credentials to health and fitness professionals. NASM Essentials of Personal Fitness Training, Fourth Edition, continues to lead the way by providing the most comprehensive resource for aspiring personal trainers and other health and fitness professionals. Based on NASM's proprietary Optimum Performance Training (OPT(tm)) model, you will learn a systematic approach to program design with exercise program guidelines and variables; protocols for building stabilization, strength, and power programs; guidance on how to build a clientele through professional development; and more! By following the techniques in this book, you will gain the information, insight, and inspiration you need to change the world as a health and fitness professional. This text is a recommended resource for the NASM Certified Personal Trainer (CPT) certification. The NASM CPT certification is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA).
note: free registration required & use Edge for account setup.
Keywords usually give more results, but also include miss-hits. Subject searches generally give less, but more accurate, results. Request books from other libraries using your CMCC ID. Allow for roughly 2-5 business days for delivery.
Provides researchers with access to over 3.2 million entries from over 475 reference titles. These titles include general and specialist dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and quotations covering many subjects including medicine, business, religion, and geography.
Search everything in CMCC, Minerva and all the other major libraries in Maine including UMO, USM, Bowdoin, Bates, Colby, Portland Public, Bangor Public and more. There are over 8 million items from over 110 different libraries.
Search CMCC's collection as well as other major libraries in Maine and other libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. WorldCat is good for unusual items that might live in special libraries. If you find an item that is out of state, you simply need to fill out a form and a librarian will request this for you. Allow 1-3 weeks for delivery.
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494 Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer. For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]