ProQuest Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. In order to access ProQuest Ebook Central off campus you will need a login and password, which is your ID number and last name.
Here are a few sources that may be of interest:
Doing Recent History by
Recent history--the very phrase seems like an oxymoron. Yet historians have been writing accounts of the recent past since printed history acquired a modern audience, and in the last several years interest in recent topics has grown exponentially. With subjects as diverse as Walmart and disco, and personalities as disparate as Chavez and Schlafly, books about the history of our own time have become arguably the most exciting and talked-about part of the discipline. Despite this rich tradition and growing popularity, historians have engaged in little discussion about the specific methodological, political, and ethical issues related to writing about the recent past. The twelve essays in this collection explore the challenges of writing histories of recent events where visibility is inherently imperfect, hindsight and perspective are lacking, and historiography is underdeveloped. Those who write about events that have taken place since 1970 encounter exciting challenges that are both familiar and foreign to scholars of a more distant past, including suspicions that their research is not historical enough, negotiation with living witnesses who have a very strong stake in their own representation, and the task of working with new electronic sources. Contributors to this collection consider a wide range of these challenges. They question how sources like television and video games can be better utilized in historical research, explore the role and regulation of doing oral histories, consider the ethics of writing about living subjects, discuss how historians can best navigate questions of privacy and copyright law, and imagine the possibilities that new technologies offer for creating transnational and translingual research opportunities. Doing Recent History offers guidance and insight to any researcher considering tackling the not-so-distant past.
Essaying the Past by
Part research manual, part study guide, and part introduction to the study of history, Essaying the Past guides the reader through the nuts and bolts of producing good historical prose, offering key strategies and useful tips. Includes expert advice on writing about history, conducting good research, and learning how to think analytically Covers important topics such as framing questions, developing a strong introduction and topic sentences, choosing good evidence, and the crucial role of revision An annotated case study takes the reader through one student's process of writing an essay and illustrates how strategies discussed in the book can be successfully implemented Six appendices cover the major issues facing students today, such as the dangers of plagiarism and the role of the internet
How to Write History That People Want to Read by
This practical book, drawn from decades of experience, is an indispensable guide to writing history. Aimed at all kinds of people who write history OCo academic historians, public historians, professional historians, family historians and students of all levels OCo the book includes a wide range of examples from many genres and styles. It advises writers on how much research is necessary, how to manage notes and files, when you should start writing, whether to use the first person and whether to structure your work chronologically or thematically. It offers tips on how to write a compelling narrative, discusses dialogue and how much to include, and gives guidance on referencing. Full of examples, including many from the authorsOCO own experiences, this book is an indispensable guide to writing history."
Scotland by
Scotland has long had a romantic appeal which has tended to be focused on a few over-dramatized personalities or events, notably Mary Queen of Scots, Bonnie Prince Charlie, the Highland Clearances-the failures and the sad - though more positively, William Wallace and Robert the Bruce have alsogot in on the act, because of their heroism in resisting English aggression. This has had its own satisfaction, and has certainly been very good for the tourist industry. But, fuelled by the explosion of serious academic studies in the last half-century, there has grown up a keen desire for abetter-informed and more satisfying understanding of the Scottish past-and not only in Scotland. The vague use of 'Britain' in books and television series which are in fact about England has begun to provoke adverse comment; there is clearly a growing desire for knowledge about the history of thenon-English parts of the British Isles and Eire, already well established in Ireland and becoming increasingly obvious as far as Scotland and Wales are concerned.This book brings together a series of studies by well-established scholars of Scottish history, from Roman times until the present day, and makes the fruits of their research accessible to students and the general reader alike. It offers the opportunity to go beyond the old myths, legends, andromance to the much more rewarding knowledge of why Scotland was a remarkably successful, thriving, and important kingdom, of international renown.
CREDO Reference provides access to millions of entries from hundreds of reference titles. Search for more at Credo Subjects or use the search box above. In order to access Credo resources off campus you will need a login and password, which is your ID number and last name.
Here are a few sources that may be of interest:
Chambers Dictionary of World History by
Revised and updated to reflect recent world events, Chambers Dictionary of World History features more than 7,500 entries in a straightforward A-to-Z format. This impressive reference covers the key figures and events in world history, with an in-depth focus on the period from A.D. 1000 to 2000. From the Norman Conquest to the Normandy campaign, its comprehensive coverage includes wars, treaties, plots, and political movements as well as nations of the world, international organizations, and biographies of major figures. Entries include a clear and helpful system of cross-references that makes the book ideal for browsing and highlights connections among individuals, ideas, and events. More than 60 sidebars cover significant themes of ancient and modern history, and specially commissioned historical and thematic maps supplement the dictionary entries. For history buffs, classroom use, or any home reference collection, this comprehensive look at world history is an essential resource.
Encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual history by 
The Encyclopedia of World History by
For decades William L. Langer's best-selling ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD HISTORY was the indispensable, authoritative guide to all of human history. Now, under the direction of a distinguished new editor, comes an updated and dramatically improved version for a new generation, the only encyclopedia of its kind with a bound-in, searchable compact disc of the complete text. The result is a wholly accessible, absorbing canvas of world history that no student, scholar, or amateur historian should bewithout. Renowned historian Peter N. Stearns and thirty prominent historians have combined their expertise over the past ten years to perfect this comprehensive chronology of more than 20,000 entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000. With a unique format that has won it generations of fans, the ENCYCLOPEDIA continues to feature chronological entries grouped by geographic region, allowing readers to get an in-depth view of distinct events along with a virtual time line of human history. But this new edition is much more than an expansion of a classic; it reflects important recent changes in historical trends and historical thinking. In addition to showcasing traditional facts of national leadership and state power, the Encyclopedia embraces social and cultural developments, non-European history, women's history, religion, health, economics, technology, and other vital but less often reported aspects of the human drama. Here is a chronicle not only ofmajor political events but of ordinary people, covering shifts in the relationships between men and women, developments in leisure, and demographic currents. And for all periods there are summaries of global developments that cannot be captured in national or regional frameworks. As editor Stearns notes in his preface, "The world we know historically has greatly changed. The revisions that animate this edition celebrate this change, benefiting from the labors of countless venturesome scholars over the past several decades." A masterwork whose roots date back to the nineteenth century, this exciting volume belongs at the elbow of every history lover and of anyone who has ever been curious about our constantly changing, remarkably diverse human story.
Hutchinson Chronology of World History by 
The Untold History of the United States by
The companion to the Showtime documentary series, director Oliver Stone and historian Peter Kuznick challenge the prevailing orthodoxies of traditional history books in this thoroughly researched and rigorously analyzed look at the dark side of American history.
The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks by
The definitive political biography of Rosa Parks examines her six decades of activism, challenging perceptions of her as an accidental actor in the civil rights movement.
Mainers in the Civil War by
Too far north, the great state of Maine did not witness any Civil War battles. However, Mainers contributed to the war in many important ways. From the mainland to the islands, soldiers bravely fought to preserve the United States in all major battles.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience by
Beautifully designed and richly illustrated with over a thousand images - maps, tables, charts, photographs, hundreds of them in full color - this single-volume reference includes more than three thousand articles and over two million words. The interplay between text and illustration conveys the richness and sweep of the African and African American experience as no other publication before it.
Historical Dictionary of Somalia by
Despite advances in modern communication and the proliferation of information, there remain areas of the world about which little is known. One such place is Somalia. The informed public is aware of a political meltdown and consequent chaos there, but few comprehend the causes of this tragic crisis. This new edition covers Somalia's origin, history, culture, and language, as well as current economic and political issues.
American Indians by
This work examines American Indian history and culture from ancient times through the formation of the US and Canada and into modern society.
A Native American Encyclopedia by
Dispelling myths, answering questions, and stimulating thoughtful avenues for further inquiry, this highly readable reference provides a wealth of specific information about all known North American Indians.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
History in the Making by 
A History of the United States Vol. 2 v. 1.0 by 
U. S. History by