Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout. Designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, the new edition of this best-selling textbook provides a user-friendly, straightforward, jargon-free introduction to the subject. Key features: Clinical considerations and scenarios throughout showing how the material can be applied to daily practice Featuring over 300 superb full colour illustrations Now includes a boxed feature throughout on medicines management; providing information concerning a variety of medicines used in the care and management of people that are related to the body system of the chapter The 'Conditions' feature within each chapter provides you with a list of disorders that are associated with the topics discussed, helping relate theory to practice Each chapter includes learning outcomes, test your knowledge, scenarios, activities and summaries. Includes a list of prefixes and suffixes, as well as normal values, and a glossary of terms Supported by enhanced online resources with fantastic extras for both lecturers and students, including an image bank, online glossary, flashcards, interactive multiple choice questions, examples of patient notes, and more This edition is now supported by an accompanying study guide to facilitate the learning and revision of the content within this book: Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook: A Study Guide for Nurses and Healthcare Students.
Lippincott Professional Guides by
This new Second Edition contains general and specific information on human anatomy and physiology and thoroughly explains and demonstrates normal structures and functions in all body systems. As a quick reference it provides both a systems and functional approach, and is organized in a logical body-system arrangement. Overview chapters define important terms, describe basic cell and tissue types, and detail the body's chemical makeup. Features include comprehensive explanations of physiologic processes; key terms italicized for easy access; and clear illustrations of major body structures and processes, with 32 pages in full color. Its portable size and lie-flat binding provide an easy and convenient read anywhere.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance by
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration nursing and healthcare students, from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book covers all the body systems and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare programme, and is ideal for anyone looking for an overview of the human body. Providing a concise, visual overview of anatomy and physiology and the related biological sciences, this book will help students develop practical skills, enabling them to become caring, kind and compassionate nurses. Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Breaks down complex concepts in an accessible way Written specifically for nursing and healthcare students with all the information they need Includes access to a companion website with self-assessment questions for each chapter Available in a range of digital formats- perfect for 'on the go' study and revision
Gastrointestinal Anatomy and Physiology by
Gastroenterologists require detailed knowledge regarding the anatomy of the GI system in order to understand the disturbances caused by diseases they diagnose and treat. Gastrointestinal Anatomy and Physiology will bring together the world's leading names to present a comprehensive overview of the anatomical and physiological features of the gastrointestinal tract. Full colour and with excellent anatomical and clinical figures throughout, it will provide succinct, authoritative and didactic anatomic and physiologic information on all the key areas, including GI motility, hepatic structure, GI hormones, gastric secretion and absorption of nutrients. GI trainees will enjoy the self-assessment MCQs, written to the level they will encounter during their Board exams, and the seasoned gastroenterologist will value it as a handy reference book and refresher for re-certification exams
Adventures in Human Being by
"Adventures in Human Being, with its deft mix of the clinical and the lyrical, is a triumph of the eloquent brain and the compassionate heart." --Wall Street Journal We assume we know our bodies intimately, but for many of us they remain uncharted territory, an enigma of bone and muscle, neurons and synapses. How many of us understand the way seizures affect the brain, how the heart is connected to well-being, or the why the foot holds the key to our humanity? In Adventures in Human Being, award-winning author Gavin Francis leads readers on a journey into the human body, offering a guide to its inner workings and a celebration of its marvels. Drawing on his experiences as a surgeon, ER specialist, and family physician, Francis blends stories from the clinic with episodes from medical history, philosophy, and literature to describe the body in sickness and in health, in living and in dying. At its heart, Adventures in Human Being is a meditation on what it means to be human. Poetic, eloquent, and profoundly perceptive, this book will transform the way you view your body.
How the Immune System Works by
How the Immune System Works has helped thousands of students understand what's in their big, thick, immunology textbooks. In his book, Dr. Sompayrac cuts through the jargon and details to reveal, in simple language, the essence of this complex subject. In fifteen easy-to-read chapters, featuring the humorous style and engaging analogies developed by Dr. Sompayrac, How the Immune System Works explains how the immune system players work together to protect us from disease - and, most importantly, why they do it this way. Rigorously updated for this fifth edition, How the Immune System Works includes the latest information on subjects such as vaccines, the immunology of AIDS, and cancer. A highlight of this edition is a new chapter on the intestinal immune system - currently one of the hottest topics in immunology. Whether you are completely new to immunology, or require a refresher, How the Immune System Works will provide you with a clear and engaging overview of this fascinating subject. But don't take our word for it! Read what students have been saying about this classic book: "What an exceptional book! It's clear you are in the hands of an expert." "Possibly the Best Small Text of All Time!" "This is a FUN book, and Lauren Sompayrac does a fantastic job of explaining the immune system using words that normal people can understand." "Hands down the best immunology book I have read... a very enjoyable read." "This is simply one of the best medical textbooks that I have ever read. Clear diagrams coupled with highly readable text make this whole subject easily understandable and engaging." Now with a brand new website at www.wiley.com/go/sompayrac featuring Powerpoint files of the images from the book
Key Poses of Yoga by
This book offers a scientific approach to understanding the practice of hatha yoga. Through four-colour, three-dimensional illustrations of major muscles, tendons, and ligaments, Ray Long describes the practice and benefits of hatha yoga. Specific anatomical and physiological descriptions highlight the agonist, antagonist, and synergist muscles that come into play with each pose. Volume II of the series illustrates the correct muscle use during key poses of hatha yoga. From beginners to experts, this book will become a constant companion.
Stretching Anatomy by
See inside every stretch as you increase flexibility and improve muscular strength. Expanded, enhanced, and updated, the best-selling Stretching Anatomy returns to show you how to increase range of motion, supplement training, enhance recovery, and maximize efficiency of movement. You'll also gain a detailed understanding of how each stretch affects your body. Stretching Anatomy, Second Edition, is like having an X-ray of each stretch, only better. Not only do you see full-color illustrations of the muscles in action, but you also see how a change in position can alter the muscle emphasis and difficulty and how variations can improve safety and effectiveness. A new Stretch Focus section details the procedure and benefits of every exercise as well as safety considerations and variations according to skill level. Each exercise describes how to stretch, when to stretch, primary and secondary muscle emphasis, and which muscles are activated for support. Stretching programs provide three levels of difficulty, including light stretching that can be used to aid in recovery from soreness and injury. A new chapter on dynamic stretches covers the most effective exercises for athletic warm-ups, while another chapter shows you how to customize a program based on your individual needs, including a program of passive static stretches proven to help lower blood glucose. Whether you seek increased flexibility, better athletic performance, or reduced muscle soreness and tension, Stretching Anatomy is your visual guide to proper stretching technique.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
Anatomy and Physiology by 
Clinical Hematology Atlas: A Pictorial Guide for the Hematology Laboratory by 
Fundamentals of Human Anatomy Laboratory Manual by 
Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course by Human Body systems and Related Medical Terminology by 
Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professions by Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [Full Non-Discrimination Notice]
