Note: Faculty may have edited the OER specifically for their classes, and the editions given below are the original versions.
Algebra and Trigonometry 2e
by
Textbook for MAT 109 Quantitative Analysis & MAT 122 College Algebra.
Contemporary Mathematics
by
Textbook for MAT 102 Numbers and Logic.
Contemporary Mathematics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements for a liberal arts mathematics course. This resource provides stand-alone sections with a focus on showing relevance in the features as well as the examples, exercises, and exposition. Contemporary Mathematics integrates technology applications, projects, and highlights a diverse group of contributors to mathematics, statistics, and related fields.
Math in Society
by
Math in Society is a survey of contemporary mathematical topics, appropriate for a college-level topics course for liberal arts major, or as a general quantitative reasoning course.This book is an open textbook; it can be read free online at http://www.opentextbookstore.com/mathinsociety/.. Editable versions of the chapters are available as well.
Algebra
by
Homework Helpers: Algebra is a straightforward and easy-to-read review of arithmetic skills emphasizes the role that arithmetic plays in the development of algebra covering all of the topics in a typical Algebra I class, including: Solving linear equalities and inequalities Solving systems of linear equations Factoring polynomials Graphing functions Working with rational functions Solving quadratic equations Understanding word problems Homework Helpers: Algebra will help build a solid mathematical foundation and enable students to gain the confidence they need to study Algebra II. This book also contains a summary of important formulas for easy reference.
Algebra
by
Algebra may seem intimidating?but it doesn't have to be. With Teach Yourself VISUALLY Algebra, you can learn algebra in a fraction of the time and without ever losing your cool. This visual guide takes advantage of color and illustrations to factor out confusion and helps you easily master the subject. You'll review the various properties of numbers, as well as how to use powers and exponents, fractions, decimals and percentages, and square and cube roots. Each chapter concludes with exercises to reinforce your skills.
All the Math You'll Ever Need
by
A comprehensive and hands-on guide to crucial math concepts and terminology In the newly revised third edition of All the Math You'll Ever Need: A Self-Teaching Guide, veteran math and computer technology teacher Carolyn Wheater and veteran mathematics author Steve Slavin deliver a practical and accessible guide to math you can use every day and apply to a wide variety of life tasks. From calculating monthly mortgage payments to the time you'll need to pay off a credit card, this book walks you through the steps to understanding basic math concepts. This latest edition is updated to reflect recent changes in interest rates, prices, and wages, and incorporates information on the intelligent and efficient use of calculators and mental math techniques. It also offers: A brand-new chapter on hands-on statistics to help readers understand common graphs An easy-to-use-format that provides an interactive method with frequent questions, problems, and self-tests Complete explanations of necessary mathematical concepts that explore not just how math works, but also why it works Perfect for anyone seeking to make practical use of essential math concepts and strategies in their day-to-day life, All the Math You'll Ever Need is an invaluable addition to the libraries of students who want a bit of extra help applying math in the real world.
Basic Math and Pre-Algebra All-In-One for Dummies (+ Chapter Quizzes Online)
by
Absolutely everything you need to get ready for Algebra Scared of square roots? Suspicious of powers of ten? You're not alone. Plenty of school-age students and adult learners don't care for math. But, with the right guide, you can make math basics "click" for you too! In Basic Math & Pre-Algebra All-in-One For Dummies, you'll find everything you need to be successful in your next math class and tackle basic math tasks in the real world. Whether you're trying to get a handle on pre-algebra before moving to the next grade or looking to get more comfortable with everyday math--such as tipping calculations or balancing your checkbook--this book walks you through every step--in plain English, and with clear explanations--to help you build a firm foundation in math. You'll also get: Practice quizzes at the end of each chapter to test your comprehension and understanding A bonus online quiz for each chapter, with answer choices presented in multiple choice format A ton of explanations, examples, and practice problems that prepare you to tackle more advanced algebraic concepts From the different categories of numbers to mathematical operations, fractions, percentages, roots and powers, and a short intro to algebraic expressions and equations, Basic Math & Pre-Algebra All-in-One For Dummies is an essential companion for anyone who wants to get a handle on the foundational math concepts that are the building blocks for Algebra and beyond.
Calculus Volume 1
by
"Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration." - works with MAT 281
College Algebra 2e
by
"College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned." - works with MAT 122
Complete Idiot's Guide to Statistics
by
Like other science/math Complete Idiot's GuidesR, this book is aimed at high school and college students who need to take statistics to fulfill a degree requirement and follows a standard statistics curriculum. But because statistics is a mathematical topic taught to many nonmathematical people in a manner that often overwhelms them, the presentation of the material focuses on the concepts rather than the computations. Students learn the required math involved, but the focus is on interpreting final results as opposed to the details of the technique.
Differential Equations
by
This book is designed to meet Penn State Math 251 Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations curriculum and course standards. --- First- and second-order equations; special functions; Laplace transform solutions; higher order equations; Fourier series; partial differential equations.
Elementary Algebra 2e
by
"Elementary Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester elementary algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics." - works with MAT 050
Finite Mathematics
by
This book is designed to be used in any Finite Mathematics course, whether College Algebra is a prerequisite or not. There are sections at the end of Chapters 2, 4, and 8 that use technology to solve problems that are solved in other sections in the chapter. A fun fact about this book is that it was adapted and written by four Louisiana natives who decided to add a bit of Louisiana to the content, examples, and exercises in the book.
Homework Helpers: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra
by
Homework Helpers: Basic Math and Pre-Algebrawill help build a solid mathematical foundation and enable students to gain the confidence they need to continue their education in mathematics. Particular attention is placed on topics that students traditionally struggle with the most. The topics are explained in everyday language before the examples are worked. The problems are solved clearly and systematically, with step-by-step instructions provided. Problem-solving skills and good habits, such as checking your answers after every problem, are emphasized along with practice problems throughout, and the answers to all of the practice problems are provided. Homework Helpers: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra is a straightforward and easy-to-read review of arithmetic skills. It includes topics that are intended to help prepare students to successfully learn algebra, including: Working with fractions Understanding the decimal system Calculating percentages Solving linear equalities Graphing functions Understanding word problems
Intermediate Algebra 2e
by
"Intermediate Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. The material is presented as a sequence of clear steps, building on concepts presented in prealgebra and elementary algebra courses." - works with MAT 100
Introductory Business Statistics 2e
by
"Introductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences." - works with MAT 101
Introductory Statistics 2e
by
"Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs." - works with MAT 135
Linear Algebra and Applications
by
This textbook offers an introduction to the fundamental concepts of linear algebra, covering vectors, matrices, and systems of linear equations. It effectively bridges theory with real-world applications, highlighting the practical significance of this mathematical field. Discover how linear algebra plays a crucial role in various disciplines, such as engineering, physics, computer science, and economics. Emphasizing the development of problem-solving abilities, the book provides abundant exercises and illustrative examples, facilitating a solid understanding of the concepts within linear algebra.
Precalculus 2e
by
"Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way." - works with MAT 132
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics
by
This is a one-of-a-kind reference for anyone with a serious interest in mathematics. Edited by Timothy Gowers, a recipient of the Fields Medal, it presents nearly two hundred entries, written especially for this book by some of the world's leading mathematicians, that introduce basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; trace the development of modern mathematics; explain essential terms and concepts; examine core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describe the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; explore the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music--and much, much more. Unparalleled in its depth of coverage, The Princeton Companion to Mathematics surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics. Accessible in style, this is an indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students in mathematics as well as for researchers and scholars seeking to understand areas outside their specialties. ...
Statistics All-In-One for Dummies
by
The odds-on best way to master stats. Statistics All-in-One For Dummies is packed with lessons, examples, and practice problems to help you slay your stats course. Develop confidence and understanding in statistics with easy-to-understand (even fun) explanations of key concepts. Plus, you'll get access to online chapter quizzes and other resources that will turn you into a stats master. This book teaches you how to interpret graphs, determine probability, critique data, and so much more. Written by an expert author and serious statistics nerd, Statistics AIO For Dummies explains everything in terms anyone can understand. Get a grasp of basic statistics concepts required in every statistics course Clear up the process of interpreting graphs, understanding polls, and analyzing data Master correlation, regression, and other data analysis tools Score higher on stats tests and get a better grade in your high school or college class Statistics All-in-One For Dummies follows the curriculum of intro college statistics courses (including AP Stats!) so you can learn everything you need to know to get the grade you need--the Dummies way.
Technical Mathematics, 2nd Edition
by
"This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students." - Works with MAT 104
Trigonometry
by
This book is designed to be used in any Trigonometry course. The book is useful to students in a variety of programs - for example, students who have encountered elements of triangle trigonometry in previous courses may be able to skip all or part of Chapters 1 through 3. Students preparing for technical courses may not need much of the material after Chapter 6 or 7. Chapters 9 and 10 cover vectors and polar coordinates, optional topics that occur in some trigonometry courses but are often reserved for precalculus.
Central Maine Community College Learning Commons - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [Full Non-Discrimination Notice]