Biochemistry for Dummies
by
It's alive! It's alive! (Thanks to biochemistry, that is.) Biochemistry is the science of the chemical processes that allow for...well...life. If it moves, breathes, eats, or sleeps, biochemistry can probably explain how. So, it stands to reason that the fundamentals of biochemistry can get a little complicated. In Biochemistry For Dummies, you'll explore the carbons, proteins, and cellular systems that make up the biochemical processes that create and sustain life of all kinds. Perfect for students majoring in biology, chemistry, pre-med, health-services, and other science-related fields, this book tracks a typical college-level biochemistry class. It simplifies and clarifies the subject with easy-to-follow diagrams and real-world examples. You'll also get: Explorations of cell biology, carbohydrates, proteins, lipids, and other fundamental building blocks of life Discussions of the basic structures common to all living organisms Treatments of the microscopic details of life that make us all tick If you're looking for a hand with some of the trickier parts of biochemistry--or you just need an accessible overview of the subject--check out Biochemistry For Dummies today!
Chemical Literacy and Writing Chemical Reactions
by
Chemistry 2e
by
"Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative...." - works with CHY 121, & CHY 123,
Chemistry All-In-One for Dummies (+ Chapter Quizzes Online)
by
Everything you need to crush chemistry with confidence Chemistry All-in-One For Dummies arms you with all the no-nonsense, how-to content you'll need to pass your chemistry class with flying colors. You'll find tons of practical examples and practice problems, and you'll get access to an online quiz for every chapter. Reinforce the concepts you learn in the classroom and beef up your understanding of all the chemistry topics covered in the standard curriculum. Prepping for the AP Chemistry exam? Dummies has your back, with plenty of review before test day. With clear definitions, concise explanations, and plenty of helpful information on everything from matter and molecules to moles and measurements, Chemistry All-in-One For Dummies is a one-stop resource for chem students of all valences. Review all the topics covered in a full-year high school chemistry course or one semester of college chemistry Understand atoms, molecules, and the periodic table of elements Master chemical equations, solutions, and states of matter Complete practice problems and end-of-chapter quizzes (online!) Chemistry All-In-One For Dummies is perfect for students who need help with coursework or want to cram extra hard to ace that chem test.
Chemistry Atoms First 2e
by
Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association. This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of "atoms-first" involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives.
Cooperative Organic Chemistry Student Laboratory Manual
by
The basis for this laboratory curriculum is to experience science from the perspective of an organic chemist. Working in groups, students are tasked with a project requiring them to design and carry out an investigation centered around an organic chemistry reaction. Students have opportunities to plan investigations, engage in green decision-making, use scientific models of phenomena, construct explanations, analyze data to generate evidence, and use that evidence in argumentation communicated in classically scientific ways—reports, scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 100th Edition
by
In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses.
Fundamentals of Inorganic and Organic Chemistry
by
Organic Chemistry
by
John McMurry's Organic Chemistry is renowned as the most clearly written book available for organic chemistry. In John McMurry's words, "I wrote this book because I love writing. I get great pleasure and satisfaction from taking a complicated subject, turning it around until I see it clearly from a new angle, and then explaining it in simple words." In Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition from OpenStax, McMurry continues this tradition while updating scientific discoveries, highlighting new applications, scrutinizing every piece of art, and providing example problems to assist students. Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition continues to meet the scope and sequence of a two-semester organic chemistry course that follows a functional group approach. A highlighted list of changes along with a detailed table of contents and ancillary descriptions can be found on the Instructor and Student resources sections of this page. John McMurry decided to publish Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition under an open license as a tribute to his son, Peter McMurry, who passed away from cystic fibrosis in December 2019.
Organic Chemistry I
by
"The book contains ten chapters, with the contents cover from the basic concepts on chemical bonding, functional group, to stereochemistry, spectroscopy for structure determination (IR and NMR) and organic reactions (nucleophilic substitution, elimination, radical substitution of alkanes, addition and oxidation reactions of alkenes, preparation and reactions of alkynes)." - works with CHY 221
Understanding Chemistry Through Cars
by
As the car anticipates its dance around the racetrack, the engine growls and pops, and all senses become immersed in the smell of exhaust vapors and the sounds of raw speed and excitement. As it turns out, these also are the sights, sounds, and smells of chemistry! The car is a great example of an everyday device with an abundance of chemistry hiding in plain sight. In fact, almost everything in a car can be described from a chemical perspective. Understanding Chemistry through Cars guides novice chemists and car enthusiasts in learning basic chemical principles in an engaging context. It also supports upper-level chemists in synthesizing knowledge gained over a chemistry curriculum and seeing how it can manifest in the real world. This book provides an overview of chemistry in relation to cars. Various topics are discussed including the ideal gas law, materials chemistry, thermochemistry, solution chemistry, mass transport, polymerization, light/matter interactions, and oxidation and reduction. The book incorporates expected learning outcomes at the beginning of each section, detailed and easy-to-follow example problems, appendices reviewing basic chemical topics, suggestions on how to use the resource in upper-level courses. Ancillary materials, such as a Twitter account and an associated blog, allow readers to explore the latest in the world of car chemistry, ask questions, and interact directly with the authors and other experts.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Central Maine Community College Learning Commons - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [Full Non-Discrimination Notice]