Foreign Language Learning

Featuring *More than 1,900 Sign Illustrations Including 327 New Signs *Plus DVD Showing How to Form Signs *Arranged by Handshape for Easy Identification *Complete Index of English Vocabulary for All Signs *An Introduction to Deaf Culture and ASL Structure The first reference source that allows users to access ASL signs without previous knowledge of their English equivalents (far superior to those in most other English-ASL glossaries). Likely to become indispensable on many educators' and students' bookshelves.--CHOICE Now, the bestselling resource The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary has been completely revised with more than 320 new signs and a new DVD. This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. ASL students can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and other nonmanual body signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs. The new DVD shows how each sign is formed from beginning to end. Users can watch a sign at various speeds to learn precisely how to master it themselves. Together, the new edition of The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary and its accompanying DVD presents students, sign language teachers, and deaf and hearing people alike with the perfect combination for enhancing communication skills in both ASL and English.  

"Provides instruction in all the basics of structure, syntax and grammar, and emphasizes the building blocks of proper speech and conversational skill-building in French."

Aimed at upper-intermediate and advanced users who need more than a pocket-size or concise dictionary can offer, theLarousse College Dictionary--available in both Spanish and French editions--provides in-depth coverage of common vocabulary and a broad range of business terminology to appeal not only to students but to those who use Spanish or French in their professional lives. TheCollege Dictionary is full of useful features, such as:    * 120,000 entries with more than 200,000 translations    * Thousands of illustrative examples and idiomatic expressions    * 120 boxed entries on life and culture    * Notes on "false friends" and easily confused words    * A 64-page communication guide covering topics such as writing letters and e-mails, applying for jobs, writing advertisements, and more    * Verb conjugation tables    The Larousse College Dictionary packs all of Larousse's language expertise into one convenient volume, an excellent balance of content and value.  

One of Alpha's perennial best-selling language titles, The Complete Idiot's Guide to Learning French, Fourth Edition, is more-than-ever the most useful book on learning French available. Completely updated with new exercises, easier-to-use answer keys, and a concise bi-lingual dictionary, it perfectly serves student and traveller alike. And now it offers a unique learning tool that is unmatched among foreign language guides-an interactive "audio e-book" that works on a computer or any MP3 CD player, allowing readers to read and listen to the lessons, including dialogues spoken by two native speakers. (from Oasis Audio)

Providing the richest coverage of Spanish from around the world, this dictionary was compiled by an expert team of Spanish and English lexicographers working in their own language. The Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the result of over ten year's research, and covers over 24 varieties of Spanishas it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish speaking world. New to this edition is a guide to life and culture in the Spanish- and English- speaking worlds. This guide covers a wide range of topics: from the political and educational systems, to key events in the calendar and how they arecelebrated. It is an ideal reference for Univerisity students, as well as translators and language professionals.This title replaces ISBN: 0-19-860069-0 (plain) and ISBN: 0-19-860070-4 (thumb index).

"When young Ofelia and her mother go to live with her new stepfather on a rural military outpost, she finds herself in a world of unimaginable cruelty. Ofelia soon learns that innocence has a power that evil cannot imagine." In Spanish with optional English or Spanish subtitles ; closed captioned in English.

"This textbook includes all 13 chapters of Français interactif. It accompanies www.laits.utexas.edu/fi, the web-based French program developed and in use at the University of Texas since 2004, and its companion site, Tex's French Grammar (2000) www.laits.utexas.edu/tex/ Français interactif is an open acess site, a free and open multimedia resources, which requires neither password nor fees. Français interactif has been funded and created by Liberal Arts Instructional Technology Services at the University of Texas, and is currently supported by COERLL, the Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning UT-Austin, and the U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education (FIPSE Grant P116B070251) as an example of the open access initiative." - works with FRE 101 & FRE 102.

Introducción al Español is a basic Spanish language textbook designed to develop reading, writing, and speaking skills of college students in classrooms across Canada. Different topics will be used to support the use and development of correct grammar skills and vocabulary. The material is presented in a reader-friendly, accessible way, with audio files accompanying vocabulary lists to reinforce correct pronunciation and H5P interactives included to engage and reinforce learning.

"This is a basic Spanish textbook that covers basic vocabulary and grammar that aligns with Spanish 102 requirements in the state of Arizona. The book presents grammar and also incorporates reading, writing and speaking activities. " (note: also available on OER Commons.) - works with SPA 101.

"This book has five chapters with three stories per chapter for a total of 15 units to work with. Each chapter has a small cultural research assignment with extra credit opportunities. It also contains hyperlinks to websites about vacations, food, and more. It is meant to be a supplement to in-class instruction. If you are new to TPRS, check out the methodology before jumping in. " (note: Also available on OER Commons) - works with SPA 101 & SPA 102