LibGuides: Banned Books &amp; Censorship: Articles

Relevant Articles
Useful Databases

Free Speech on Campus
Are legislators and activists curbing free expression?
more...less...
Price, T. (2022, May 20). Free speech on campus. CQ researcher, 32, 1-31. http://library.cqpress.com/
Island Trees Union Free School District Board of Education v. Pico Legal Citation: 457 U.S. 853 (1982)
"The Board of Education v. Pico was a case that raised many questions concerning the rights of students within the context of the First Amendment...."
more...less...
Island trees union free school district board of education v. pico. (1999). In M. F. Mikula, L. M. Mabunda, & A. M. Marion (Eds.), Great American court cases, Gale. Gale. Credo Reference: https://cmcclibrary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/greatcourts/island_trees_union_free_school_district_board_of_education_v_pico/0?institutionId=6298
‘My Heart Sank’: In Maine, a Challenge to a Book, and to a Town’s Self-Image
Wealthy, liberal-leaning Blue Hill prided itself on staying above the fray — until the library stocked a book that drew anger from the left.
more...less...
Williamson, E. (2024, February 03). ‘My Heart Sank’: In Maine, a Challenge to a Book, and to a Town’s Self-Image. New York Times. Retrieved February 29, 2024, from https://www.nytimes.com/2024/02/03/us/politics/libraries-book-bans.html?unlocked_article_code=1.Sk0.GT-a.zEymwOiZZB3c&bgrp=t&smid=url-share
Turner, Thornburgh, and an Inmate's Right to Read: The Chelsea Manning Case and Possible Solutions to BOP and USDB Regulation Language
"The article discusses potential changes to American Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and U.S. Disciplinary Barracks (USDB) rules in relation to prison administrator discretion regarding the individual book requests of prisoners, and it mentions an incident involving inmate Chelsea Manning and the legal cases Turner v. Safely and Thornburgh v. Abbot which deal with an inmate's right to receive written materials. The First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and a banned book list are assessed."
more...less...
Dean, A. M. (2017). Turner, Thornburgh, and an Inmate’s Right to Read: The Chelsea Manning Case and Possible Solutions to Bop and Usdb Regulation Language. Vermont Law Review, 41(3), 635–661. Retrieved September 26, 2022, from https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=123468389&site=ehost-live
Twenty-two challenges to school library books have been filed in Maine since January 2022. Just one book has been removed.
By Amanda Geduld of The Maine Monitor
Published: 3:34 PM EDT August 27, 2023
Updated: 9:52 PM EDT August 28, 2023

Academic Search Complete | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A resource of in-depth, single-themed 12,000 word reports providing researchers coverage of news and current events.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to over 3.2 million entries from over 475 reference titles. These titles include general and specialist dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and quotations covering many subjects including medicine, business, religion, and geography.
Political Science Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
U.S. Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times (1994-2002) and the Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).
Formerly: ProQuest Newsstand