Politics & Government

Comprehensive collection of online resources for the study of the U.S. presidency and elections including papers, speeches (audio and video), Executive Orders, and documents.

OER course formerly from Lumen Learning - works with POS 150

Official publications of presidential statements, messages, remarks, addresses, news conferences, executive orders and proclamations and other materials from 1993-present.

"The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents:
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries. ... This site contains directories for the 41st (1869-1871) -104th (1995-96) Congresses forward ..."

"CRS serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature."

"...The Serial Set is comprised of the numbered Senate and House Documents and Senate and House Reports, bound by Session of Congress. The contents of the Serial Set have varied throughout the publication’s history, and at times have included House and Senate Journals, and the reports of executive departments and agencies...."

From the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania, this site checks the factual accuracy of claims made by political candidates and parties during the course of their campaigns.

Daily polling focused on four U.S. Topics: Economy, Education, Politics & Well-being.

Contains publications from the Legislative Branch (Congressional Bills, Congressional Hearings, United States Code), the Executive Branch (Budget of the United States of America, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations), and the Judicial Branch (Supreme Court Decisions), in addition to U.S. laws, administrative decisions, and the Core Documents of U.S. Democracy.

An independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. Recognized as a reliable source of neutral opinion polls.

Official website for the Electoral College gives detail on the history and the function of the Electoral college and answers many common questions. It also presents numbers of electoral votes from past elections, beginning in 1789.

Site listing major and fringe parties in the U.S. Political process.

The official website of the U.S. Supreme court. Find information on the judges, as well as, information, transcripts & audio of past arguments.

"To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Watergate Break-in, the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has digitized and is providing online access to the U.S. v. Liddy Trial Records and Government Exhibits"

Provides both current and historical information about the United States Federal Judiciary. It includes links to publications, directories, and news.

Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. Also includes reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. For previous editions (1995-): FDsys

A first-step toward finding useful government information. Services, departments, officials, etc.

Official website of the President of the U.S. It includes speeches, remarks, and radio addresses as well as news, history of the presidency and vice-presidency.

The entire Crash Course: U.S. Government & Politics series - 50 videos

Provides links to Maine Executive, Legislative, and Judicial pages.

Provides a direct link to the Office of the Governor of Maine.

The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items belonging to over 200 organizations from across Maine.

Provides a direct link to Maine's Constitution on Maine's Legislature website.

Proceedings and debate of the Maine State Legislature from the first volume, issued in 1897, to the end of the previous session. Also includes links to the current session.

The Maine Elections Division supervises and administers all elections of federal, state and county offices and referenda. Includes voter information and election results.

Statistics for the State of Maine including such topics as population, crime, and health.