Masters of Light by
Through conversations held with fifteen of the most accomplished contemporary cinematographers, the authors explore the working world of the person who controls the visual look and style of a film. This reissue includes a new foreword by cinematographer John Bailey and a new preface by the authors, which bring this classic guide to cinematography, in print for more than twenty-five years, into the twenty-first century.
There are thousands of entries in other historical, cultural, and literary encyclopedias and dictionaries. CREDO is a great place to start your research. Use it instead of Wikipedia.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by 
Shakespeare's Theatre by 
An Actor's Companion by
"There is a muscularity, not to mention wisdom and truth, to Seth's techniques. He is a wonderful teacher, and I know that having him as my first guide is one of the luckiest things to have happened to me in my career and life." --Anne Hathaway, from her Foreword "Seth Barrish has coached me on almost every TV project, film or audition I've done since we met ten years ago. When it comes to wisdom about acting, there's no one I hold in higher regard." --Mike Birbiglia, comedian, director, actor "Seth's approach and understanding is awesome. He makes it very easy to act by telling you not to act and be natural. It could be as simple as having something in your hand, creating business while you deliver a line to make it seem natural and comfortable. His book is amazing--it's basically the actor's blueprint." --Jay Pharoah, actor, comedian "In Seth's class I often watch him transform a student's good, yet average performance into a precise and exhilarating one, with just one simple adjustment. I am constantly blown away by how he does this. This book explains it." --Sarita Choudhury, actor "This book is truly unlike anything else I know--these pieces are haikus on specific elements of performance and character building." --Philip Himberg, Sundance Theatre Institute An Actor's Companion is ideal for both seasoned professionals and beginning actors. The tips and exercises are simple and direct, and easy to apply in both rehearsal and performance. Seth Barrish is an actor, director and co-founder of The Barrow Group, a theater company and acting school, in New York City. During his near forty-year career he has directed the award-winning My Girlfriend's Boyfriend, Sleepwalk with Me, The Tricky Part, Pentecost, All the Rage and Old Wicked Songs.
The Complete Costume Dictionary by
While there are costume and fashion dictionaries tied to specific countries or periods, none have been comprehensive. In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources--including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications--to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century. Including more than 20,000 fashion and costume terms, this volume also features more than 300 illustrations. The first section of the book is an alphabetical listing of these words with their definitions, period, and country of origin. This volume also contains appendixes that list the terms by country of origin, period, and type of clothing. The book is not limited to the Western World and includes both archaic and current terms. Significantly greater in scope than anything currently available--online or in print--this one-of-a-kind publication is an invaluable resource for costume and fashion historians, textile preservationists, period re-enactors, and history and theatre scholars, as well as theatre professionals.
The Enjoyment of Theatre by
The Enjoyment of Theatre'sbalanced coverage of performance and history provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to theatre. This book covers the full span of theatre's 2,500-year history as well as performance/production topics such as playwriting, acting, directing, and the theatre industry. Thisseventh editionfeatures major revisions and welcomes two highly respected collaborators from the University of South Carolina to the proven author team of Cameron and Gillespie. Together, they make theatre come alive for all readers by showing them how theatre is, and will continue to be, relevant to their everyday lives.
Introduction to Stage Lighting by
An indispensable reference for drama teachers, directors, architects and design professionals. Twelve chapters in three sections: Part 1 -- Tools and Terminology: All of the basics -- the evolution of sources and controls. Part 2 -- Manipulating the Light: Developing the Lighting Key -- source levels and controls. Part 3 -- The Collaborative Process: An anecdotal approach to communicating intent using modern technology.
Stage Management by
Revered as the authoritative resource for stage management, this book offers readers a practical manual on how to stage manage in all theater environments. Rich with practical resources - checklists, diagrams, examples, forms and step-by-step directions -Stage Managementeschews excessive discussion of philosophy and gets right to the essential materials and processes of putting on a production. In addition to sharing his own expertise, Stern has gathered practical advice from working stage managers of Broadway, off-Broadway, touring companies, regional, community, and 99-seat Equity waiver theaters.
Theater and Its Double by
A collection of manifestos originally published in 1938, The Theater and Its Double is the fullest statement of the ideas of Antonin Artaud. "We cannot go on prostituting the idea of the theater, the only value of which is in its excruciating, magical relation to reality and danger," he wrote. He fought vigorously against an encroaching conventionalism he found anathema to the very concept of theater. He sought to use theater to transcend writing, "to break through the language in order to touch life."
Theatrical Design and Production by
This comprehensive and practical survey examines the technical anddesign aspects of play production, including scene design and construction, lighting, sound, costume and makeup.
The Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook by
All actors and acting teachers need The Ultimate Scene and Monologue Sourcebook, the invaluable guide to finding just the right piece for every audition. This remarkable book describes the characters, action, and mood for more than 1,000 scenes in over 300 plays. This unique format is ideal for acting teachers who want their students to understand each monologue in context. Using these guidelines, the actor can quickly pinpoint the perfect monologue, then find the text in the Samuel French or Dramatist Play Service edition of the play. Newly revised and expanded, the book also includes the author's own assessment of each monologue.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
Theatrical Worlds by Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]