LibGuides: Astronomy: Finding Articles

Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Science Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
Formerly: ProQuest Science Journals

Academic Search Complete | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to over 3.2 million entries from over 475 reference titles. These titles include general and specialist dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and quotations covering many subjects including medicine, business, religion, and geography.

PubSpace
"... NASA is using PMC (PubMed Central) to permanently preserve and provide easy public access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research. ..." (note: articles are across all areas of science...not just medical / biotech)
more...less...
National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine. (n.d.). National Aeronautics and Space Administration
PubSpace. NASA in PMC. Retrieved April 15, 2021, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/funder/nasa/

The Astronomical Journal
"The Astronomical Journal is an open access journal publishing original astronomical research, with an emphasis on significant scientific results derived from observations. Publications in AJ include descriptions of data capture, surveys, analysis techniques, astronomical interpretation, instrumentation, and software and computing." - Open Access as of January 2022
more...less...
Institute of Physics Publishing. (2022). The Astronomical Journal. The American Astronomical Society. Retrieved January 18, 2022, from https://iopscience.iop.org/journal/1538-3881
The Astrophysical Journal
"The Astrophysical Journal is an open access journal devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in astronomy and astrophysics. Publications in ApJ constitute significant new research that is directly relevant to astrophysical applications, whether based on observational results or on theoretical insights or modeling." - Open Access as of January 2022.
more...less...
Institute of Physics Publishing. (2022). The Astrophysical Journal. The American Astronomical Society. Retrieved January 18, 2022, from https://iopscience.iop.org/journal/0004-637X
The Astrophysical Journal Letters
"The Astrophysical Journal Letters is an open access express scientific journal that allows astrophysicists to rapidly publish short notices of significant original research. ApJL articles are timely, high-impact, and broadly understandable." - Open Access as of January 2022.
more...less...
Institute of Physics Publishing. (2022). The Astrophysical Journal Letters. The American Astronomical Society. Retrieved January 18, 2022, from https://iopscience.iop.org/journal/2041-8205
The Planetary Science Journal
"The Planetary Science Journal is an open access journal devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in planetary science. The journal welcomes all aspects of investigation of the solar system and other planetary systems." - Open Access as of January 2022.
more...less...
Institute of Physics Publishing. (2022). The Astrophysical Journal Letters. The American Astronomical Society. Retrieved January 18, 2022, from https://iopscience.iop.org/journal/2632-3338