Diversity

"Learn how to research your target salary, highlight your accomplishments and find the right words — and the confidence — to negotiate for better benefits and pay. Sign up for a facilitator-guided virtual workshop or use our Work Smart Online e-learning tool, which takes less than two hours to complete and can be done at your own pace — both are free!"

"Baratunde Thurston holds space for hard and complex conversations with his blend of humor, wisdom, and compassion. Baratunde is an Emmy-nominated host who has worked for The Onion, produced for The Daily Show, advised the Obama White House, and wrote the New York Times bestseller How To Be Black. He’s the executive producer and host of How To Citizen with Baratunde which Apple named one of its favorite podcasts of 2020. Baratunde also received the Social Impact Award at the 2021 iHeartRadio Podcast Awards on behalf of How to Citizen with Baratunde. In 2019, he delivered what MSNBC’s Brian Williams called “one of the greatest TED talks of all time.” Baratunde is unique in his ability to integrate and synthesize themes of race, culture, politics, and technology to explain where our nation is and where we can take it.
Baratunde serves on the boards of BUILD and the Brooklyn Public Library and lives in Los Angeles, California."

"The Black Elevation Map is an immersive digital experience that reimagines the American landscape by visualizing the heights of The Culture as elevation. The platform takes cultural data, such as Black population data, historical markers, Black-owned businesses, and social media activity, and visualizes it as points of interest on a dynamic, searchable elevation map of the United States. The greater the density of data, the higher the elevation."

"BlackPast.org is dedicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world. It is the aim of the founders and sponsors to foster understanding through knowledge in order to generate constructive change in our society."

The Digital Library of Georgia is part of the GALILEO Initiative and located at The University of Georgia Libraries.

"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. ..."

Information from the Maine Department of Education.

A great guide to DEI resources from the Illinois Central College Library.

DEI & Culturally Responsive Education subject guide from the Holman Library at Green River College.

Useful information for writers and journalists on diversity topics, and it has a handy "Topics Glossaries" for key terms and meanings related to diversity topics.

"What began in the early years of Howard University as a small collection of antislavery books and pamphlets is now one of the world’s premiere centers for the study of the Black experience. It has made possible new research and enabled scholars to probe more deeply into the complexities of Black history and culture. In linking its past accomplishments to its plans for the future, the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center continues in its unswerving commitment to preserve the legacy of people of African descent for this and future generations."

"Inequality.org has been tracking inequality-related news and views for nearly two decades. A project of the Institute for Policy Studies since 2011, our site aims to provide information and insights for readers ranging from educators and journalists to activists and policy makers."

A great selection of resources from the Harvard Kennedy School - Library & Knowledge Services.

The Langston Heritage Group Collection, held by the Archives of Appalachia at East Tennessee State University, documents African-American history in Johnson City, Tennessee, and greater Washington County. It features materials pertaining to African-American churches including Bethel Baptist Church, Friendship Baptist Church, Thankful Baptist Church, and St. Paul African American Episcopal Zion Church; materials pertaining to schools, such as Langston School and Dunbar School; and community organizations, including Prospect Lodge No. 54 of the Prince Hall Freemasonry fraternity, Pony/Colt League, Progress-Together (Pro-To) Club, Pro-To-ettes, and the Washington County Commission on Alcohol and Drugs (C.A.D.A). Additionally, along with materials related to the West Lawn Cemetery Board of Trustees, photocopies of plats of the cemetery are included.
Of particular note are photographs from Thankful Baptist Church; The Echo, The Langston Voice, and The Langston Spectator yearbooks; the Langston High School record book for faculty meetings; and the Prospect Lodge No. 54 record book. There are also transcripts and field notes (and, in two cases, audio or moving image recordings) for fourteen oral history interviews conducted between 1998-2001 that focus on African-American history in Johnson City. Some of the interviews were conducted in conjunction with the Historic African-American Site Preservation Society (HASP).
The collection consists of annuals and yearbooks, correspondence, contracts and deeds, memoranda, financial records, programs, pamphlets and publications, news clippings, photographs, audio and video recordings, maps, letterhead, and realia.

"The LGBTQIA+ Periodical and Ephemera Collection is a repository of items that span a variety of subjects and languages and supports research, teaching, and private study. This collection is comprised of LGBTQIA materials including: periodicals, magazines, ephemera and monographs. The collection is international in scope, largely concentrated from the 1950's to the early 2000's. New materials are added to the collection on an ongoing basis...."

"The National Digital Equity Center advocates for Digital Inclusion which includes Affordable Broadband, Affordable Equipment, Digital Literacy, and Public Computer Access. The National Digital Equity Center is focused on creating digitally literate citizens in the United States and providing communities with the expertise to mobilize broadband technologies through digital inclusion and literacy efforts."

"Project Implicit is a non-profit organization and international collaboration between researchers who are interested in implicit social cognition - thoughts and feelings outside of conscious awareness and control. The goal of the organization is to educate the public about hidden biases and to provide a “virtual laboratory” for collecting data on the Internet." - Project Implicit helps you find your own unconscious biases.

"...The Protests Against Racism Web Archive contains a selection of websites documenting protests and activism sparked by the murder of George Floyd, where Mr. Floyd was the “tipping point,” the “last straw;” the web archive also includes websites documenting earlier killings of victims of racism and police brutality. Coverage encompasses protests against racism and police brutality against Blacks, police reform (both the liberal and conservative reactions to police brutality); critical grassroots movements (i.e. local Black activism, multiracial activism). ..."

"...the world’s only registry of sundown towns. Just click on a state to see an alphabetical list of all the sundown towns we know about, think may been sundown towns, and have managed to get up onto the site.
A sundown town is not just a place where something racist happened. It is an entire community (or even county) that for decades was “all white” on purpose. “All white” is in quotes because some towns allowed one black family to remain when they drove out the rest. Also, institutionalized persons (in prisons, hospitals, colleges, etc.), live-in servants (in white households), and black or interracial children (in white households) do not violate the taboo...."

"Toward Inclusive Excellence explores issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion, particularly, though not exclusively, as they affect the academic library community. This new content strand incorporates weekly blog posts as well as occasional podcasts and webinars, in which contributors explore the intricacies of racial identity as they relate to implicit bias, systemic racism, and ableism, among other pertinent topics. Among the goals of this channel is the development of a pool of knowledge and actionable resources for information professionals, undergraduates, and faculty seeking to understand racism from new perspectives and to promote racial justice on their campuses."