Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHF 122 Kinesiology

This guide provides best library resources to use for Kinesiology

 

Proquest also allows you to limit to just the medical databases before you begin your search. In Proquest choose 'databases' at the top of the screen, then limit to the databases you need

Proquest screen shot

Help with searching databases

In college, you will hopefully make a habit out of using library resources instead of internet resources (Google, Wikipedia, etc.)  You might use books, eBooks, or one of the many databases available to you. To access the databases from off campus you simply go to the Learning Common's website, select the database, and login with your CMCC Student ID number.  Some of the more commonly used databases are found in Gale, EBSCOhost, Proquest, CQ Researcher, and Credo Reference where you'll find newspaper articles, journal articles, magazines, dictionaries, encyclopedias, reports, and much more.

The following videos will get you started using college level resources.  The first video demonstrates search tips that are common to many article databases such as Proquest, Gale, and EBSCOhost. The CREDO Reference database video shows you a resource that provides articles from subject specific scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries. The Proquest video demonstrates specific search and save techniques within the Proquest databases.  These videos, and more, are available from the Learning Commons homepage.

Databases: General Information

Evaluating Information for Credibility

One Perfect Source

Picking Your Topic

Phrase Searching

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

ProQuest

EBSCO

CREDO

Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]