Finding Articles - ENG 220 - Business Communication - LibGuides at Central Maine Community College

General Databases

Business Databases
A-Z databases on Business

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A resource of in-depth, single-themed 12,000 word reports providing researchers coverage of news and current events.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to over 3.2 million entries from over 475 reference titles. These titles include general and specialist dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and quotations covering many subjects including medicine, business, religion, and geography.
Digital Maine Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource offering Maine residents access to thousands of journal articles and ebooks in a variety of databases.
You can access them by logging in with your barcode on your CMCC ID, or check the getting started page to see how you log in with an email address

Databases

What do we mean by database?

database (noun)

A large, regularly updated file of digitized information (bibliographic records, abstracts, full-text documents, directory entries, images, statistics, etc.) related to a specific subject or field, consisting of records organized for ease and speed of search and retrieval.

Content is created by the database producer (for example, the American Psychological Association), which usually publishes a print version (Psychological Abstracts) and leases the content to one or more database vendors (ProQuest, EBSCO, OCLC, etc.) that provide electronic access to the data online via the Internet.

Reitz, J. (2014). database. ODLIS Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO. Retrieved from https://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_d.aspx

Your browser does not support iframes;

The Web vs. Library Databases

ProQuest
Excellent Newspaper coverage, criminal justice, psychology science, telecommunications, nursing, and computing, business, education, and the social sciences. Some of these databases are also available through Digital Maine Library. A few databases, however, such as Proquest Technology Databases, Proquest Psychology Journals and Proquest Criminal Justice, and some of the Business databases, and others, are only available here.
ABI/INFORM Collection | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Formerly: ABI/INFORM Complete
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection | ProQuest
The ProQuest Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
Former ProQuest Accounting & Tax and ProQuest Banking Information Source were merged into this new comprehensive collection.
Asian & European Business Collection | ProQuest
ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
Former databases: ProQuest Asian Business & Reference , and ProQuest European Business were merged into this new comprehensive collection.
Australia & New Zealand Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Business Market Research Collection | ProQuest
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Former databases Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports, and Snapshots merged into this comprehensive collection.
Business Premium Collection | ProQuest
"The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from: ABI/INFORM Collection; Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection; Asian and European Business Collection; Business Market Research Collection; and Entrepreneurship Database.
Coverage: 1971 - current"
Business Video Database | ProQuest
"Business Video Database features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, “how to” features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment. Videos have been selected to support educators in the classroom and student research and projects via easily-streamed clips, many ranging from two to 10 minutes."
Canadian Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news coverage - newspapers
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Formerly: Canadian Newstand Complete
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Database features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
Formerly: CBCA Complete (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
East & South Asia Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East Europe, Central Europe Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
EconLit | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association's electronic database is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. Subjects include accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics. (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream | ProQuest
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
India Database | ProQuest
ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India. These scholarly sources support many academic fields of study, such as business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities. Providing a unique source of the very best scholarly periodical output from India, ProQuest Indian Journals is a current resource, with most coverage from the last five years and updated daily with new content.
Latin America & Iberia Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Middle East & Africa Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Research Library | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Turkey Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
U.S. Northeast Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Local and regional newspapers: includes coverage of the Bangor Daily News (7/1/93-present), the Kennebec Journal (Augusta) (6/11/93-present), the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present), Lewiston Sun Journal (2006-present) and the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (Waterville) (8/12/93-present). Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included.
Formerly: Maine Newsstand
U.K. & Ireland Database | ProQuest
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Academic Search Complete | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
EBSCOhost
Databases here cover topical areas such as business, education, humanities, medical and the sciences. All the EBSCO databases here are also found in the Digital Maine Library.
Environment Complete | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. It also has full text for more than 100 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, and more.
GreenFILE | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments.