Business Resources

"From risk takers to innovators - get the instant profiles of the world's best CEOs. Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage. Pick up tips from the icons of business, from Bill Gates to Walt Disney. Draw on the experiences of big partnerships and family dynasties and find out how the likes of Steve Jobs make innovation essential. Plus, discover things you can do NOW - from motivation to how to handle a crisis."

CSR has now moved beyond the stage of specialist or niche subjectto become an integral part of global business and society. Thistimely edition is destined to become the definitive guide to CSR,Sustainability, Business Ethics and the organizations and standardsin the field. The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility is a uniquepublication and is the culmination of over a hundred of theworld?s leading thinkers, opinion formers, academic andbusiness people providing an easy-to-use guide to CSR: from generalconcepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, businessethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbontrading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid modeland globalisation. In addition to definitions of the most importantterms across the wide range of CSR associated topics, this bookalso covers all the most important codes and guidelines, such asthe Equator Principles, the UN Global Compact and ISO standards, aswell as providing background on organizations such as the WorldBusiness Council for Sustainable Development and TransparencyInternational and profiles of CSR in particular industries andregions. This paperback edition includes all the latest developments inCSR as well as incorporating new sections on boardroom pay, thesub-prime market and the financial crisis. Praise for the first edition: "A complete reference guide...offers an invaluable combinationof lessons learned and best practice for the future...providesfirst?hand insights" (Forum CSR International, October2008) "This is a timely and innovative contribution to the field ofCorporate Social Responsibility" (Retail & LeisureInternational, February 2008) "...a handy reference to have on the shelf behind your desk..."(Ethical Performance, February 2008) ?You will not find a wider display of today?s keyglobal players and their action programs than here.?(CSR?News.net, May 2008) ?The book contains a great deal of detailedresearch.? (Supply Management, May 2008)

" This is a thoroughly updated and revised edition of the first, and definitive, biographical dictionary of dissenting economists. It is an extensive and authoritative guide to economists both past and present from Samir Amin to Ted Wheelwright, providing biographical, bibliographical and critical information on economists working in the non-neoclassical traditions broadly defined. It includes entries on, amongst others, radical economists, Marxists, post-Keynesians, behaviourists, Kaleckians and institutionalists. The book demonstrates the extent and richness of the radical heterodox tradition in economics."

"This fully revised edition covers more than 6,000 terms relating to accounting, from company tax liability, cash flow systems, auditing and financial reports to personal finance, pensions and investments."

" This dictionary offers many key terms, from ability to zipper clause, covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations. Ideal for all professionals who work with personnel terminology, particularly those in HR departments, recruitment consultants and employment lawyers."

A definitive new reference on the major failures of American corporate governance at the start of the 21st century. Tracing the market boom and bust that preceded Enron's collapse, as well as the aftermath of that failure, the book  chronicles the meltdown in the telecom sector that gave rise to accounting scandals globally. Featuring expert analysis of the Sarbanes-Oxley legislation that was adopted in response to these scandals, the author also investigates the remarkable market recovery that followed the scandals. An exhaustive guide to the collapse of the Enron Corporation and other financial scandals that erupted in the wake of the market downturn of 2000,  this book is an essential resource for students, teachers and professionals in corporate governance, finance, and law.

The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. There are 185 Hospitality Management degrees in the UK alone. This new edition updates and significantly revises twenty five per cent of the entries and has an additional twenty new entries. New online material makes it the most up-to-date and accessible hospitality management encyclopedia on the market. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance; whether they require broad detail that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.

" This new edition of worldwide bestseller The Ultimate Business Library is a one-stop guide to the world's leading business thinkers. It is a unique summary of those books which have had the most significant impact on management thinking, drawing out the lessons any business can learn. Navigating the cross-currents of management thinking from Tom Peters to Peter Drucker, Rosabeth Moss Kanter to Charles Handy, The Ultimate Business Library will ensure you are rapidly up to speed with the ideas shaping modern business."

"Wall Street Words is an essential guide to the words spoken on "the Street". This updated edition has a significant number of entries - more than 700 of them newly added to reflect key developments in national and world markets - and covers everything from investment fundamentals to the sophisticated terminology of contemporary finance. More than 100 case studies illustrating real-world investment examples plus 50 insightful tips from industry professionals make this new edition the most comprehensive and useful reference for today's investor."