Skip to Main Content
Credo Reference! Who needs Wikipedia when you have Credo! Some of the electronic reference books in Credo that cover philosophy and ethics are:
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers by Stuart Brown (Editor); Diané Collinson (Editor); Robert Wilkinson (Editor)
Call Number: B104 .B56 1996eb
Publication Date: 2012-09-10
This Biographical Dictionary provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century. This unique volume covers the lives and careers of thinkers from all areas of philosophy - from analytic philosophy to Zen and from formal logic to aesthetics. All the major figures of philosophy, such as Nietzsche, Wittgenstein and Russell are examined and analysed. The scope of the work is not merely restricted to the major figures in western philosophy but also covers in depth a significant number of thinkers from the near and far east and from the non-European Hispanic-language communities. The Biographical Dictionary also includes a number of general entries dealing with important schools of philosophy, such as the Vienna Circle, or currents of thought, such as vitalism. These allow the reader to set the individual biographies in the context of the philosophical history of the period. With entries written by over 100 leading philosophy scholars, the Biographical Dictionary is the most comprehensive survey of twentieth-century thinkers to date. ...
Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought by Kenneth McLeish (Editor)
Call Number: CB9 .B56 1993eb
Publication Date: 2001-12-31
This is a human-scale distillation of the ideas which have had the greatest impact on our development through the ages. It includes a huge variety of terms including the intimidating, such as post-modernism, structuralism and chaos theory, the unusual, including alchemy, polyphony and parapsychology, while familiar terms such as civilization and beauty are explained anew.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by Ian A. McFarland (Editor); Karen Kilby (Editor); Iain R. Torrance (Editor); David A. S. Fergusson (Editor)
Call Number: BV2.5 .C36 2011eb
Publication Date: 2011-02-24
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: B41 .C35 2015eb
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Key features of this third edition include: * 500 new entries covering Eastern as well as Western philosophy, and covering individual countries such as China, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain * Increased coverage of such growing fields as ethics and philosophy of mind * More than 100 new intellectual portraits of leading contemporary thinkers * Wider coverage of Continental philosophy * Dozens of new technical concepts in cognitive science and other areas * Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding * Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained by Editors of Chambers
Call Number: AG243 .C43 2007eb
Publication Date: 2007-12-19
An essential reference for anyone with a serious interest in unexplained phenomena, this title contains carefully researched, in-depth and balanced entries on topics ranging from alien abductions to the zodiac.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by Brian Carr (Editor); Indira Mahalingam (Editor)
Call Number: B121 .C66 1997eb
Publication Date: 2000-10-17
The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy is a unique one-volume reference work which makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience. The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section contains a collection of chapters which provide comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. The chapters also contain useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Logic by Roy T. Cook
Call Number: BC9 .C66 2009eb
Publication Date: 2009-03-20
This dictionary introduces undergraduate and post-graduate students in philosophy, mathematics, and computer science to the main problems and positions in philosophical logic. Coverage includes not only key figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic itself, but issues in related, overlapping disciplines such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics as well. Entries are extensively cross-referenced, so that each entry can be easily located within the context of wider debates, thereby providing a valuable reference both for tracking the connections between concepts within logic and for examining the manner in which these concepts are applied in other philosophical disciplines.
A Dictionary of Philosophy by Antony Flew (editor); Stephen Priest (editor)
Call Number: B41 .D52 2002eb
Publication Date: August 2002
From the classic thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant and hundreds more who lead up to the modern age, this comprehensive dictionary spans the personalities, terminology and vocabulary of thousands of years of philosophical thought in addition to the more recent encroachment of social and psychological sciences.
Dictionary of World Philosophy by A. Pablo Iannone
Call Number: B41 .I26 2001eb 2001eb
Publication Date: 2008-09-03
Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy by Simon Glendinning (Editor)
Call Number: B804 .E43 1999eb
Publication Date: 1999-02-08
This single-volume reference guide covers the most important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy. Each section focuses on a school of thought, bringing together articles by leading scholars which explore the key thinkers and texts. Arranged in chronological order, the volume begins with the founding texts of Classical Idealism and concludes with Post-structuralism.Sections and Section Editors: Classical Idealism - Philip Stratton-LakePhilosophy of Existence - Lewis R. GordonPhilosophies of Life and Understanding - Fiona HughesPhenomenology - Gail WeissPolitics, Psychoanalysis and Science - Gillian HowieThe Frankfurt School and Critical Theory - Simon JarvisStructuralism - Jeremy JenningsPost-Structuralism - John Protevi
Encyclopedia of Empiricism by Don Garrett (Editor); Edward Barbanel (Editor)
Call Number: B816 .E53 1997eb
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Featuring more than 150 articles by more than 70 leading scholars, this is the first encyclopedia devoted to empiricism. The Encyclopedia of Empiricism serves four main purposes. First, it provides a convenient source for scholars and students seeking information on particular figures, topics, or doctrines, specifically in their relation to empiricism as an historical movement or to empiricism as a broader tendency of thought. Because each entry contains a brief bibliography of primary and secondary sources, it can usefully serve as a point of first reference. Second, the Encyclopedia illustrates the continuity and logical development of the Empiricist movement by examining, within topical articles, the contributions of a number of different philosophers related to the statement and solution of particular issues. Third, it explicates the relations, both logical and historical, between empiricism as a movement of the 17th and 18th centuries and the various species of empiricism that preceded and succeeded it. Finally, the Encyclopedia explores some of the most important intellectual influences on empiricism as a methodology of thought. Outstanding Academic Book
Encyclopedia of Ethics by Lawrence C. Becker (Editor); Charlotte B. Becker (Editor)
Call Number: BJ63 .E45 2001eb
Publication Date: 2001-08-31
The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism by Charles E. Winquist (Editor); Victor E. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: B831.2 .E63 2001eb
Publication Date: 2000-11-02
The Encyclopedia of Postmodernism provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies. With three cross-referenced sections, the volume is easily accessible to readers with specialized research agendas and general interests in contemporary cultural, historical, literary and philosophical issues. Since its inception in the 1960s, postmodernism has emerged as a significant cultural, political and intellectual force that many scholars would argue defines our era. Postmodernism, in its various configurations, has consistently challenged concepts of selfhood, knowledge formation, aesthetics, ethics, history and politics. This Encyclopedia offers a wide-range of perspectives on postmodernism that illustrates the plurality of this critical concept that is so much part of our current intellectual debates. In this regard, the volume does not adhere to a single definition of postmodernism as much as it documents the use of the term across a variety of academic and cultural pursuits. The Encyclopedia of Postmodernism, it must be noted, resists simply presenting postmodernism as a new style among many styles occuring in the post-disciplinary academy. Documenting the use of the term acknowledges that postmodernism has a much deeper and long-lasting effect on academic and cultural life. In general, the volume rests on the understanding that postmodernism is not so much a style as it is an on-going process, a process of both disintegration and reformation.
Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics by Martin Cohen
Call Number: BJ1012 .C584 2006eb
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethicsoffers a distinctive take on philosophical and ethical concepts and on key thinkers in these areas. Philosophy and ethics are fascinating and thought-provoking subjects in their own right and also have important implications for the way we think about a whole range of other issues such as religion and civil liberties. The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethicsprovides an invaluable resource for anyone wanting to understand the key concepts in these fields and their relevance to current issues. It adopts an innovative and contemporary approach, covering a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics. The entries are organized in an A-Z format and are cross-referenced for ease of use. The book offers a mixture of short definitions and longer, more detailed entries on 'big' subjects and people such as free will and Descartes. The writing style is lively and easy-to-read and offers some captivating insights, as well as presenting the essential facts, concepts and theories in philosophy and ethics. A must for any serious thinker.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by Nancy McHugh
Call Number: HQ1190 .M386 2007eb
Publication Date: 2007-03-22
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy. Feminist Philosophies A-Z covers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches. It illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics). Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the lively debates in feminism. This volume is an indispensable resource for philosophers, students, and Women's Studies faculties as well as anyone with an interest in feminist philosophy."
Great Thinkers A-Z by Julian Baggini (Editor); Jeremy Stangroom (Editor)
Call Number: B21 .G74 2004eb
Publication Date: 2004-06-15
Great Thinkers A-Z brings together 101 lively and concise snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from ancient times to today. The key figures from all major Western philosophical traditions and periods are here. Also included are other major thinkers, such as Freud, Darwin and Einstein, who, while not philosophers themselves, have nevertheless had a major impact upon philosophy. These snapshots build up to offer a full and fascinating overview of Western philosophy. Each entry locates a philosopher in their historical and intellectual context; provides a clear account of their principal writings and ideas; assesses their impact and importance; illustrates how they influenced, and were influenced by, other philosophers; and gives suggestions for further reading. Great Thinkers A-Z is the ideal book for anyone interested in the history of Western thought and a valuable reference resource for students of philosophy and related disciplines.
Marquis Who's Who in America by Alison Perruso (Editor)
Call Number: E176 .W64233 2016eb
Publication Date: 2016-02-28
Marquis Who's Who is proud to present the 2016 edition of Who's Who in America. Our 70th Platinum Anniversary Edition compiles the most prominent individuals representing virtually every major field of endeavor. In 1899, our first year of publication, Marquis biographees numbered 8,602. While the number of individuals profiled in Who's Who in America has grown substantially, our selection standards remain stringent. Individuals profiled in Who's Who in America are selected on the basis of current reference value. Factors such as position, noteworthy accomplishments, visibility, and prominence in a field are all taken into account. While the vast majority of the individuals profiled on the following pages are American, Who's Who in America also includes the biographies of select individuals from around the world whose lives have had considerable impact and influence in America.
Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece by Patricia F. O'Grady (Editor)
Call Number: B171 .M44 2005eb
Publication Date: 2005-04-28
Ancient Greece was the cradle of philosophy in the Western tradition. Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience. Comprising seventy essays, written by internationally distinguished scholars in a lively and accessible style, this book presents the values, ideas, wisdom and arguments of the most significant thinkers from the world of ancient Greece. Commencing with Thales of Miletus and continuing to the end of the Ancient Period of philosophy by way of Heraclitus, Parmenides, Protagoras, Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Archimedes, Epictetus this book explores the major contributions of each philosopher as well as looking at archaeological and historical sites where they lived, worked and thought. This book is an outstanding introduction to the world of the philosophers of Ancient Greece.
Need to Know?: Islam by Ruqaiyyah Waris Maqsood; Collins Staff
Call Number: BP161.3 .M38 2008eb
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Providing an essential overview of what Islam is and what it means today, this book covers key areas such as the life of Muhammad, understanding the Qur'an, what Muslims believe and do and the challenges facing Muslims today.
Philosophy of Science A-Z by Stathis Psillos
Call Number: Q174.7 .P77 2007eb
Publication Date: 2009-10-14
Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.
Political Philosophy A-Z by Jon Pike
Call Number: JA61 .P55 2007eb
Publication Date: 2007-07-03
A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy.Both topical and historical, Political Philosophy A-Z has entries on Hobbes, Marx, and Rorty, as well as entries which explain what 'contract theory' is, and gives an account of 'multi-culturalism.' This book guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university. Political Philosophy A-Z links up positions, thinkers and theories without unnecessary technicality. It is a valuable guide to political theorising.
Who's Who in the World 2016 by Alison Perruso (Editor)
Call Number: CT120 .W53 2016eb
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
For over 110 years, Marquis Who's Who has been the gold standard for biographical information, trusted by academic and public libraries. Within this publication, you will find Nobel Prize winners, innovators/inventors, authors, athletes, academic professionals, judges, fashion professionals, and entertainers. You will also find royalty, captains of industry, political and religious leaders and many others whose noteworthy and profound contributions are showcased in this volume. This indispensable research tool includes professional and personal data unavailable in any other source, offering researchers a unique insight into the lives of the world's most notable personalities. There is simply no other source like it.
Philosophy of Mind by Jaegwon Kim
Publication Date: 2010-12-28
The philosophy of mind has long been part of the core philosophy curriculum, and this book is the classic, comprehensive survey of the subject. Designed as an introduction to the field for upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, Philosophy of Mind focuses on the mind-body problem and related issues, some touching on the status of psychology and cognitive science.
Thinking about Logic by Steven M. Cahn; Robert B. Talisse; Scott F. Aikin
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
Thinking about Logic is an accessible and thought-provoking collection of classic articles in the philosophy of logic. An ideal companion to any formal logic course or textbook, this volume illuminates how logic relates to perennial philosophical issues about knowledge, meaning, rationality, and reality.
Ancient Philosophy by Anthony Kenny
Call Number: B111 .K46 2006
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
Sir Anthony Kenny here tells the fascinating story of the birth of philosophy and its remarkable flourishing in the ancient Mediterranean world. This is the initial volume of a four-book set in which Kenny will unfold a magisterial new history of Western philosophy, the first major single-author history of philosophy to appear in decades. Ancient Philosophy spans over a thousand years and brings to life the great minds of the past, from Thales, Pythagoras, and Parmenides, to Socrates, Epictetus, Marcus Aurelius, and Augustine. The book's great virtue is that it is written by one of the world's leading authorities on the subject. Instead of an uncritical, straightforward recitation of known facts--Plato and his cave of shadows, Aristotle's ethics, Augustine's City of God--we see the major philosophers through the eyes of a man who has spent a lifetime contemplating their work. Thus we do not simply get an overview of Aristotle, for example, but a penetrating and insightful critique of his thought. Kenny offers an illuminating account of the various schools of thought, from the Pre-Socratics to the Epicureans. He examines the development of logic and reason, ancient ideas about physics ("how things happen"), metaphysics and ethics, and the earliest thinking about the soul and god. Vividly written, but serious and deep enough to offer a genuine understanding of the great philosophers, Kenny's lucid and stimulating history will become the definitive work for anyone interested in the people and ideas that shaped the course of Western thought.
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion by Shambhala
Call Number: BL1005 .L4813 1994
Publication Date: 1994-05-10
With more than four thousand entries and over one hundred illustrations, this encyclopedia offers a complete survey of the four major religious traditions of Asia. It is designed not only for students and scholars but also to help general readers find their way through the thicket of unfamiliar words and concepts that are often encountered today in various fields such as the health professions, psychotherapy, the sciences, and the media. Among the subjects covered are: nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Important terms such as chakra, karma, koan, nirvana, tantra, Tao, and yin-yang nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; The lives and teachings of mystics, philosophers, and masters of meditation nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Basic texts and scriptures nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Sects and schools of thought nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp; Mythological figures and events In addition, pronunciation tables, a comprehensive bibliography, and a Ch'an/Zen Lineage Chart are provided.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
Modern Philosophy by Walter Ott
Publication Date: 2013
"This is a textbook in modern philosophy. It combines readings from primary sources with two pedagogical tools. Paragraphs in italics introduce figures and texts. Numbered study questions (also in italics) ask students to reconstruct an argument or position from the text, or draw connections among the readings. And I have added an introductory chapter (Chapter 0 – Minilogic and Glossary), designed to present the basic tools of philosophy and sketch some principles and positions. The immediate goal is to encourage students to grapple with the ideas rather than passing their eyes over the texts. This makes for a better classroom experience and permits higher-level discussions...." - works with PHI 151 & PHI 153
The Originals: Classic Readings in Western Philosophy by Dr. Jeff McLaughlin
Publication Date: December 14, 2017
"It is important for students not only to get an appreciation and understanding of philosophy but also to be exposed to the very words and ideas of those who have shaped our thinking over the centuries. Accordingly, the title of this collection hints at the facts that these readings are from the original sources and that these philosophers were the originators of many of the issues we still discuss today.
Major areas of philosophy covered here are: Ethics, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Socio-Political Philosophy, and finally, Aesthetics." - works with PHI 151
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]