Skip to Main Content
Dictionary of Food by Charles Sinclair
Call Number: TX349 .D546 2005eb
Publication Date: 2008-09-18
Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.
Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices by P. N. Ravindran
Call Number: TX819.H4 R38 2017eb
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices. These herbs and spices constitute an important agricultural commodity; many are traded globally and are indispensable for pharmaceuticals, flavouring foods and beverages, and in the perfumery and cosmetic industries. More recently, they are increasingly being identified as having high nutraceutical potential and important value in human healthcare. An invaluable reference tool, this book: · Presents easily accessible information, including up-to-date nomenclature and taxonomy · Is beautifully illustrated with over 250 figures · Begins with an introductory chapter on the definition, classification, history, and applications of herbs and spices worldwide · Is written by a well-known authority within the field This encyclopedia is an excellent resource for researchers, students, growers and manufacturers, in the fields of horticulture, agriculture, botany, crop sciences, food science and pharmacognosy.
Food Safety by Umile Gianfranco Spizzirri (Editor); Giuseppe Cirillo (Editor)
Call Number: TX541 .F663 2017
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Food safety and quality are key objectives for food scientists and industries all over the world. To achieve this goal, several analytical techniques (based on both destructive detection and nondestructive detection) have been proposed to fit the government regulations. The book aims to cover all the analytical aspects of the food quality and safety assessment. For this purpose, the volume describes the most relevant techniques employed for the determination of the major food components (e.g. protein, polysaccharides, lipds, vitamins, etc.), with peculiar attention to the recent development in the field. Furthermore, the evaluation of the risk associated with food consumption is performed by exploring the recent advances in the detection of the key food contaminants (e.g. biogenic amines, pesticides, toxins, etc.). Chapters tackle such subject as: GMO Analysis Methods in Food Current Analytical Techniques for the Analysis of Food Lipids Analytical Methods for the Analysis of Sweeteners in Food Analytical Methods for Pesticides Detection in Foodstuffs Food and Viral Contamination Application of Biosensors to Food Analysis
FSMA and Food Safety Systems by Jeffrey T. Barach
Call Number: TX537 .B284 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
The FDA's (Food and Drug Administration) FSMA (Food Safety Modernization Act) is the most sweeping reform of United States food safety laws in more than 70 years. The key to successful implementation of FSMA rules depends on building a comprehensive Food Safety System with effective prerequisite programs in place and a well-designed Food Safety Plan that incorporates risk-based preventive controls to mitigate hazards. This book provides essential guidance for small to mid-sized businesses on how to design, implement, and maintain a world-class Food Safety Plan that conforms to FSMA regulations. With practical and up-to-date advice, the author offers a straight forward approach for readers to successfully migrate into FSMA. The inclusion of fully developed Food Safety Plans as well as examples of hazards and preventative controls make this a must-read not only for those that are new to the regulations, but also those with a plan already in place. FSMA and Food Safety Systems: A Guide to Understanding and Implementing the Rules is an indispensable resource for all those managing the manufacture of FDA regulated products, food safety regulators and educators, as well as scientists and students of food science and technology.
Healthy cooking and nutrition for college students : how not to gain the freshman 15 by Rebekah Sack
Call Number: RA777.3 .S23 2016
Publication Date: 2016
A recent study, published in the Nutrition Journal, found that one in four college freshmen gain at least five percent of his or her body weight, an average of about 10 pounds, during the first semester. All of this can be avoided with healthy cooking and an eye for good choices. This all-inclusive book covers everything from affordable options to reading ingredient labels. You will learn some basic healthy cooking techniques, the latest nutrition research, the low-down on all the most-talked about diets, and what kinds of foods will improve your college lifestyle. If you want to avoid the freshman 15 while also fueling your body with what it needs to be your sharpest, most energized self, then this book is for you.
Baking and Pastry by Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Staff
Call Number: TX763 .B3234 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
This insightful book presents 350 recipes, along with expert reviews of valuable techniques, for creating mouthwatering breads and desserts. The use of volume and metric measurements suit the needs of large operations, small bakeshops, home kitchens, and classrooms. More experienced bakers can find advanced tips about chocolate, confections, and wedding cakes, as well as the CIA's approach to plating and decorating desserts. Hundreds of full-color photographs introduce the baking ingredients, offer step-by-step guidance through important techniques, and feature finished products.
The Book of Yields by Francis Talyn Lynch; Francis T. Lynch
Call Number: TX531 .L9596 2008
Publication Date: 2007-02-26
For years, The Book of Yields has been and indispensable tool for professional chefs, culinary educators, and culinary students, helping them accurately calculate recipe costs and easily make purchases based on recipe requirements. The Book of Yields Seventh Edition CD-ROM contains pricing, yield, and equivalency for the more than 1,500 ingredients included in the book, plus it allows users to efficiently and easily: Look up yield data for foods. Find purchase requirements for a serving. Create new recipes. Add new ingredients. Calculate ingredient or recipe costs. Look up cost data for foods. Create shopping lists. This culinary software can be used on its own or to complement The Book of Yields Seventh Edition. The Book of Yields CD-ROM can also be used as part of a food and beverage cost control, purchasing, or menu design class.
The Complete Restaurant Management Guide by Robert T. Gordon; Mark H. Brezinski
Call Number: TX911.3.M27 G664 1999
Publication Date: 1998-12-31
Two highly successful veterans in the restaurant industry offer surefire tips to lower the risks of failure, avoid the common pitfalls, and make day-to-day operations smooth and profitable. Highlights of this practical handbook ---- menus: samples, special promotions, and charts and instructions to determine price for profit; -- food production: techniques for controlling food production, charts, sample records, and avoiding production problems; -- controlling costs: sound purchasing policies an good storage and handling practices; -- health and environmental issues: keeping up with governmental guidelines on environmental regulations and on dealing with food borne illnesses.The authors cover every detail of running a restaurant. Franchising, catering, changes in meat grading, labor management, cocktail lounge operations, computerized techniques in accounting, bookkeeping, and seating and much more are all covered at length. Restaurant owners and managers will surely find The Complete Restaurant Management Guide invaluable.
Cooked by Michael Pollan
Call Number: TX652.P646 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
In Cooked, Michael Pollan explores the previously uncharted territory of his own kitchen. Here, he discovers the enduring power of the four classical elements—fire, water, air, and earth—to transform the stuff of nature into delicious things to eat and drink. Apprenticing himself to a succession of culinary masters, Pollan learns how to grill with fire, cook with liquid, bake bread, and ferment everything from cheese to beer.
The Encyclopedia of Herbs, Spices, and Flavorings by Elisabeth Lambert Ortiz
Call Number: TX406 .E54 1992
Publication Date: 1992-09-15
More than 200 herbs, spices, essences, aromatics, vinegars, and oils are beautifully photographed. History, affinity with other ingredients, decorative uses, and succulent recipes are explained.
Kitchen Essentials by Le Cordon Bleu Staff; Carroll and Brown Staff
Call Number: TX669.F8 C67 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-08
This is a concise, colourful resource for both the novice cook and experienced chef. This comprehensive, highly illustrated book is chock-full of enlightening and eye-opening culinary information, covering a vast range of topics that teach readers what they need to know to be successful in the kitchen - from cooking techniques and equipment to essential ingredients. "Le Cordon Bleu Kitchen Essentials" offers expert guidance on everything from choosing pots and pans to deboning poultry to storing ingredients - as well as logical solutions to common mistakes. The easy-to-follow text, clearly defined terms, and uncommonly helpful tips make this reference a must-have for all modern kitchens. It demonstrates techniques with 1,100 step-by-step color photographs. Plus, the book outlines the vast range of equipment, along with buying tips and cleaning and care information. "Le Cordon Bleu Kitchen Essentials" illustrates the cleaning and preparation of food, as well as cooking times and features classic recipes to teach the principal uses of each ingredient. "Le Cordon Bleu" provides expert training in cuisine, pastry, and baking. Through its six schools, a student body of over fifty nationalities, and a distinguished team of thirty international Master Chefs, "Le Cordon Bleu" is dedicated to preserving and passing on the mastery and appreciation of the culinary arts.
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals by Karen Eich Drummond; Lisa Armando Brefere
Call Number: TX353 .D78 2001
Publication Date: 2000-08-29
The study of nutrition has grown in importance for the hospitality industry and is now a required course in the hospitality curriculum. This is because of increased awareness among the general consumer who demands healthy food and a well-balanced diet. This new edition covers an encyclopedic range of topics including guidelines on healthy weight and the treatment of high blood pressure, non-fat and low-fat ingredients. A new chapter covers food purchasing, receiving and storage of healthy ingredients.
The Professional Pastry Chef by Bo Friberg
Call Number: TX773 .F75 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-05
Professional chefs are instructed on basic baking and pastry skills during two courses in culinary school, and many culinary schools now offer baking and pastry degree programs. In the professional kitchen, pastry chefs are responsible for the pro-duction of all baked goods, including desserts and breads. Pastry chefs create the dessert menu, which complements the chefs' style and gives the diner a grand finale after the main meal. Also of interest is the ever-increasing popularity for breads, home-style desserts and elegant designed desserts, all of which are covered in Friberg's basic book.
Culinary Arts related items in the Learning Commons
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
OER = Open Educational Resources - Free for anyone to use anytime.
Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management by The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publication Date: September 4, 2015
"Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management is one of a series of Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia’s foodservice and hospitality industry. Although created with the Professional Cook, Baker and Meatcutter programs in mind, these have been designed as a modular series, and therefore can be used to support a wide variety of programs that offer training in foodservice skills."
Culinary Foundations by William R. Thibodeaux & Randy Cheramie - Culinary Institute at Nicholls State University
Publication Date: Last updated - Jul 19, 2022
Culinary arts, in which ‘culinary’ means "related to cooking", are the ‘arts’ of preparation, cooking, and presentation of food, usually in the form of meals. People working in this field – especially in establishments such as restaurants – are called "chefs" or "cooks", although, at its most general, the terms "culinary artist" and "culinarian" are also used. Table manners as an exemplar, ("the table arts") are sometimes referred to as a culinary art. Expert chefs are required to have knowledge of food science, nutrition and diet and are responsible for preparing meals that are as pleasing to the eye as they are to the palate.
Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene by The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publication Date: May 15, 2015
"Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene is one of a series of Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia’s foodservice and hospitality industry. Although created with the Professional Cook, Baker and Meatcutter programs in mind, these have been designed as a modular series, and therefore can be used to support a wide variety of programs that offer training in foodservice skills." - works with CUA 121
Meat Cutting and Processing for Food Service by The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publication Date: September 8, 2015
"This book is intended to give students a basic understanding of the various types of meat and poultry used in the food service industry, and how the terminology used by retail, wholesale, and food service customers varies. Meat cutting for restaurants and hotels differs slightly from meat cutting for retail. Restaurants and hotels sometimes use names of cuts on menus that are common in the kitchen vernacular or in other jurisdictions like Europe or the United States, while retail meat cutters are bound by Canadian regulations regarding labeling and marketing of meat products to consumers for retail."
Modern Pastry and Plated Dessert Techniques by The BC Cook Articulation Committee
Publication Date: August 7, 2015
"Modern Pastry and Plated Dessert Techniques is one of a series of Culinary Arts books developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia’s food service and hospitality industry. Although created with the Professional Cook and Baker programs in mind, these have been designed as a modular series, and there for can be used to support a wide variety of programs that offer training in food service skills." - works with CUA 160
Public Domain Content - Free for everyone to use anytime - most published before 1924.
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]