LibGuides: Building Construction Technology: Finding Articles

Finding articles on Building & Construction

For more information check out the databases below.

Academic Search Complete | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

The following journals come from different databases in EBSCOHost. Not all are full text, but we can get articles for you through Interlibrary Loan.

Below are some ProQuest databases you should also check out.

ABI/INFORM Collection | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Formerly: ABI/INFORM Complete
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
U.S. Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. Maine papers included: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times (1994-2002) and the Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).
Formerly: ProQuest Newsstand
U.S. Northeast Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Local and regional newspapers: includes coverage of the Bangor Daily News (7/1/93-present), the Kennebec Journal (Augusta) (6/11/93-present), the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present), Lewiston Sun Journal (2006-present) and the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (Waterville) (8/12/93-present). Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included.
Formerly: Maine Newsstand

The following journals can be found in various ProQuest databases. If the articles in them are not full text, we can get them for you via InterLibrary Loan. Just contact us.

The following journal can be found in Gale databases. If the articles are not full text, we can get them for you via InterLibrary Loan. Just contact us.

Custom Home by Hanley Wood Media, Inc.
Back issues from: vol. 9, no. 4 (2000) - current Also available on the web at https://www.customhomeonline.com/ 1152 15th St. NW | Washington, DC
The Journal of Light Construction
Publication Date: 2002 - 2013
Magazine (tabloid) for residential and light professionals involved in new and rehabilitative construction. Each issue covers a single aspect of construction. Issues from 1986 - Current are available online at https://www.jlconline.com/magazine/

Journals in the Learning Commons

Dwell Magazine
Library keeps 5 years + current
You can check more information on Dwell at
https://www.dwell.com/
Wood Design & Building
Library has from 2016 to present.
Official Online Archive - 2015 to present

Journals in other Maine libraries.
The Learning Commons staff will happily request issues from this journal for you if you like.

Green and Healthy Maine Homes by The SunRise Guide
The Green & Healthy Maine HOMES magazine is guided by an advisory panel comprised of local industry professionals with expertise in building performance, renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable landscaping, green building and more.

Construction Management and Economics
Some open access articles are available directly from the publisher.
Green & Healthy Maine Homes
"Green & Healthy Maine HOMES is a magazine and website dedicated to inspiring real Maine homes that are as healthy for the people who live in them as they are for the planet.
Created and published by The SunriseGuide, Green & Healthy Maine HOMES provides expert advice, informative interviews, profiles of high performing Maine homes, and cutting-edge information about both new and tried-and-true technologies for making Maine homes healthy, comfortable, affordable, efficient and sustainable.
From energy audits to air sealing and insulation, solar panels to heat pumps, and edible landscapes to urban homesteading, we explore the options and show you how they are being implemented in Maine." (note: the magazine is not Open Access, but the articles on the website are.)
more...less...
The SunriseGuide, LLC. (n.d.). About Us. Green & Healthy Maine Homes. Retrieved December 12, 2020, from https://greenmainehomes.com/green-and-healthy-maine
The Journal of Light Construction
1986 - Current