Basic Social Work Interviewing Skills and Techniques: A Workbook for Application
by
This workbook was originally created in 2016 to accompany a two credit undergraduate basic interviewing skills course at Salisbury University’s School of Social Work. The authors, who also teach the course, struggled to find an affordable textbook option for the course that was brief, relevant, and provided application opportunities to support students’ learning. Therefore, an inexpensive self-published version of this workbook was created for the course! The authors updated the workbook almost every year to reflect feedback from students, lessons learned from its usage, and changes in the field of social work. The feedback on the content and format was overwhelmingly positive. So, in order to help other social work instructors and students engage with this content the authors decided to create a free Open Educational Resource (OER) version of the workbook that launched in early 2023. We hope you find it useful and applicable to your social work education needs!
CBT Treatment Plans and Interventions for Depression and Anxiety Disorders in Youth
by
Going beyond one-size-fits-all approaches to treating depression and anxiety, this book is packed with tools for delivering flexible, personalized cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) to diverse children and adolescents. The authors use extended case examples to show how to conceptualize complex cases and tailor interventions to each client's unique challenges, strengths, family background, and circumstances. In a convenient large-size format, the book features vivid vignettes, sample treatment plans, therapist-client dialogues, and 49 reproducible handouts and worksheets, most of which can be downloaded and printed for repeated use. It offers pragmatic guidance for collaborating effectively with parents and with other professionals.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5
by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. ...
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors, Third Edition
by
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors, Third Edition is an A-to-Z reference to addictive behaviors—their signs, symptoms, and causes, as well as how to recognize and treat them. It provides a comprehensive overview of individual addictions as well as overlapping issues, such as emotional problems, family dysfunction, and difficulties with employment. This invaluable resource also provides theoretical and practical information on how people who are addicted to various substances or behaviors can—with hard work and assistance—often recover and go on to lead normal, productive lives.
Introduction to Human Services: An Equity Lens 2e
by
Exemplifies equity, diversity, and inclusion while providing a foundational understanding of the human services field, including core principles and theories and the characteristics and skills needed for the field. Features include ethical codes of conduct, the whitewashing of the history of helping professions, and a transitory chapter into internship settings. An emphasis is placed on the relationship between the complexity of social problems, services, systems and programs that comprise human services. The text prepares students who are considering or are committed to the Human Services field to participate in more advanced courses and practicum experiences.
Introduction to Social Work: a Look Across the Profession
by
Juvenile Delinquency and Rehabilitation
by
The Good Lives Model is an upcoming theoretical rehabilitation framework that is used increasingly in juvenile offender rehabilitation. This book provides in-depth knowledge about the Good Lives Model, its underlying theories, and how it differs from traditional rehabilitation methods. Furthermore it helps to gain a better understanding of the underlying causes of criminal behavior in juveniles, and the challenges they face in reintegrating into society. It combines state-of-the-art theoretical literature reviews with both qualitative and quantitative scientific research methods to comprehensively assess the applicability of the Good Lives Model with adolescents. Juvenile Delinquency and Rehabilitation is a valuable book for professionals and researchers working in or studying the field of juvenile justice and youth care.
The Social Work and Human Services Treatment Planner, with DSM 5 Updates
by
This timesaving resource features: Treatment plan components for 32 behaviorally based presenting problems Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record your own treatment plan options A step-by-step guide to writing treatment plans that meet the requirements of most insurance companies and third-party payors The Social Work and Human Services Treatment Planner provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payers, and state and federal review agencies. Saves you hours of time-consuming paperwork, yet offers the freedom to develop customized treatment plans to address clients' psychological and environmental problems and issues Organized around 32 main presenting problems, from family violence and juvenile delinquency to homelessness, chemical dependence, physical/cognitive disability, sexual abuse, and more Over 1,000 well-crafted, clear statements describe the behavioral manifestations of each relational problem, long-term goals, short-term objectives, and clinically tested treatment options Easy-to-use reference format helps locate treatment plan components by behavioral problem or DSM-5(tm) diagnosis Includes a sample treatment plan that conforms to the requirements of most third-party payers and accrediting agencies (including TJC and NCQA)
Veteran and Military Mental Health A Clinical Manual
by
Veteran and Military Mental Health
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development
by
The most up-to-date edition of a leading resource on the research and theory of the social development of children In the newly revised Third Edition of The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development, a team of eminent researchers delivers a current and comprehensive discussion of the research and theory of childhood social development. With chapters written by an international collection of leaders in their respective fields, this edited volume offers robust coverage of a range of disciplinary perspectives, including psychological, sociological, anthropolgical, evolutionary, religious, cultural, ecological, athletic, and more. The latest edition offers brand-new chapters on helping children with autism, the impact of social networking platforms on childhood social development, the influence of mass media, war and famine, the climate crisis, and the influence of the COVID-19 Pandemic. Containing authoritative explorations of child social development from pre-school to the onset of adolescence, The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development also provides: A thorough introduction to historical perspectives on the social development of children, including the conceptual and empirical precursors of contemporary social development research Comprehensive explorations of various disciplinary perspectives, including behavioral genetics, the brain and social development in childhood, and evolutionary perspectives on social development Practical discussions of the ecological contexts of childhood social development, including the relationship between the physical environment and social development In-depth examinations of culture and immigration, including the social development of immigrant children with a focus on Europe, and on Asian and Latinx children in the US. Perfect for advanced undergraduate and graduate students of courses in child psychology, human development, or educational psychology, The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development will also earn a place in the libraries of researchers seeking a one-stop, comprehensive resource for the social development of children.
Central Maine Community College Learning Commons - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [Full Non-Discrimination Notice]