This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout. Designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, the new edition of this best-selling textbook provides a user-friendly, straightforward, jargon-free introduction to the subject. Key features: Clinical considerations and scenarios throughout showing how the material can be applied to daily practice Featuring over 300 superb full colour illustrations Now includes a boxed feature throughout on medicines management; providing information concerning a variety of medicines used in the care and management of people that are related to the body system of the chapter The 'Conditions' feature within each chapter provides you with a list of disorders that are associated with the topics discussed, helping relate theory to practice Each chapter includes learning outcomes, test your knowledge, scenarios, activities and summaries. Includes a list of prefixes and suffixes, as well as normal values, and a glossary of terms Supported by enhanced online resources with fantastic extras for both lecturers and students, including an image bank, online glossary, flashcards, interactive multiple choice questions, examples of patient notes, and more This edition is now supported by an accompanying study guide to facilitate the learning and revision of the content within this book: Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook: A Study Guide for Nurses and Healthcare Students.
This case studies book is an indispensable resource for educators, students, and practitioners of nursing. It is innovative in its application of lessons from the communication sciences to common challenges in the delivery of safe patient care. The authors apply basic tenets of human communication to the context of nursing to provide a foundation for practices that can advance the safety and quality of care. The cases, which describe "close calls" and adverse events, are organized along the continuum of healthcare delivery, providing quick access to solutions in commonly encountered care situations. Each case is accompanied by a discussion of how skillful communication can be key to preventing and recovering from errors and adverse events. Thought-provoking discussion questions and references for further reading make this book a valuable reference for nursing educators, students, and practitioners across the world.
Job hunting can be discouraging, especially in today's world of electronic resumes, background checks, and keyword searches. How can you break through the data overload and ensure your skills and talents are obvious to a potential employer? Whether you are a new nurse looking for your first job or an experienced professional changing specialties, moving up the ladder, or re-entering the workforce, Lisa Mauri Thomas helps you learn how to map out the best strategies for landing your perfect nursing job. From networking to interviewing, Thomas shows you how to market yourself and your nursing skills, including: Improving your cover letter and resume writing abilities; Prepping and practicing for interviews; Networking like a pro all day, every day; Planning and managing your job search with handy checklists and customizable calendars. Book jacket.
So much more than just a dictionary... the completely revised, bestselling, trusted Mosby''s Dictionary is the all-in-one reference you need to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features superior-quality definitions plus 2,400 full-color illustrations -- nearly three times more than any other dictionary available! But that''s only the beginning. Mosby''s Dictionary also includes encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth, 12 appendixes with practical quick-reference information, plus the Mosby''s Medical Spellchecker CD. It''s the ONE reference you''ll turn to from beginning to end! Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions -- including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures -- offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions. Approximately 2,400 color photographs and line drawings -- nearly three times more than any other health care dictionary -- illustrate all subject areas to help you understand concepts. The practical, straightforward alphabetical organization with no subentries and easy-to-use features such as thumb tabs, entry words in color, and large, easy-to-read print make it easy to find and understand information. ...
Pass the NCLEX-RN or your money back--guaranteed! NCLEX-RN 2015-2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review with Practice Test combines Kaplan's unique strategy guide with the most test-like questions available to help you to meet the challenges of this rigorous exam, including: * Full-length practice test * Chapter-end practice sets * In-depth analysis of NCLEX-RN question types * Review of exam content and structure * Review of alternate question types * Detailed answer explanations With challenging practice questions and a bold, user-friendly design, Kaplan's NCLEX-RN 2015-2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review with Practice Test will make you assured and confident on test day.
This full-color, portable handbook contains an alphabetical listing of common laboratory and diagnostic tests, with nursing interventions, in a consistent format. The focus is on the nurse's role in performing, evaluating, or assisting with tests. Clinical Alerts throughout highlight vital information. This edition includes many recently approved tests, as well as the latest information on legal, ethical, and safety issues important to nurses and their expanded role in diagnostic testing.
For nursing courses covering drugs or drug administration. A quick-reference guide to safe, effective drug administration, in any setting Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2019 is a current and reliable reference for comprehensive information needed to make appropriate decisions for drug administration. Designed for quick, easy lookup, it lists drugs alphabetically by generic name and it indexes drugs by both generic and trade names. The guide also provides clinical information for hundreds of drugs, including adverse reactions, interactions, side effects, and impact on lab results. The 2019 edition features 18 new monographs for drugs recently approved by the FDA.
With essential information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs, Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2019 is the go-to guide for students and nurses alike. The 2019 edition is organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick and easy access and includes over 270 updates to Black Box Alerts. This user-friendly format also includes comprehensive coverage of IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and fixed combinations. To promote better patient care, it uniquely guides you through clinical priorities in the practice setting and is organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference. Plus, new drug monographs cover approximately 33 newly approved drugs by the FDA; and thoroughly updated monographs include new interactions, precautions, and alerts. Over 1,000 generic name drugs (encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs) are organized alphabetically with A to 2Z tabs to make accessing important information quick and easy. Detailed information for each drug distinguishes side effects and adverse reactions to help you identify which are most likely to occur. ...
"An engrossing human drama . . . The Shift is one nurse's story, but it contains elements of every nurse's experience."--The Wall Street Journal Practicing nurse and New York Times columnist Theresa Brown invites us to experience not just a day in the life of a nurse but all the life that happens in just one day on a busy teaching hospital's cancer ward. In the span of twelve hours, lives can be lost, life-altering treatment decisions made, and dreams fulfilled or irrevocably stolen. Unfolding in real time--under the watchful eyes of this dedicated professional and insightful chronicler of events--The Shift gives an unprecedented view into the individual struggles as well as the larger truths about medicine in this country. By shift's end, we have witnessed something profound about hope and humanity.
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
OER means Open Educational Resource. These are books that are free for anyone to read online using a computer or phone. You do not have to be a CMCC student to use these books.
"Medicines by Design is a science education booklet that discusses the many different ways medicines work in the body and how this information guides the hunt for drugs of the future.
Please note the publication date of this resource. There may be more recent developments that are not captured here. We are working to update our science education content and encourage you to check our website for new resources in the future." - works with NUR 210, & MEA 240
"Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know addresses an essential component of the basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. Recent studies show that only one in four nurses feel confident in caring for dying patients and their families and less than 2% of overall content in nursing textbooks are related to end-of-life care. Despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country, very few nursing education programs provide adequate education on this topic for future nurses. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country and explore the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. There is an emphasis throughout the book on the simple, yet understated value of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician. The text provides a basic foundation for understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss. An overview of illness trajectories and models of care, such as hospice and palliative care, are discussed. Lastly, the latest evidence based approaches for pain and symptom management, ethical concerns, cultural considerations, care at the time of death, and bereavement are examined. The goal of this text is to foster the necessary skills for nurses to provide compassionate care to individuals who are nearing the end of life and families who are experiencing the loss of a loved one. Every chapter contains a "What You Should Know" section which highlights and reinforces the main message nurses should know when caring for their patient." - works with NUR 213. Also available from Open Suny
Publication Date: April 12, 2018 & Updated: March 23, 2020
"The purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Using a multi-media approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement." - works with NUR 213
"Innovative Lessons Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Research and Evidence-Based Practice is a resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom. It is meant to supplement any nursing research text. Designed to provide educators with creative teaching ideas, this text includes a variety of lessons on nursing research topics. Topics include bias, measurement, sampling, theory and more. Lessons provide active learning for in-class, hybrid, and online formats. Each lesson includes objectives, overview, and detailed steps. As an open access resource, the text is continuously in-process. Designed to be independent of any published text, the book compliments any nursing research and evidence-based course. This text is also a suitable resource for introductory research in other disciplines." - General nursing resource. Creation of this OER book: video
Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494 Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer. For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]