ProQuest Ebook Central: You can do a search across a number of topics or choose the Social Science subject link on the right side of the Ebook Central home page. In addition to searching in Ebook Central, notice when you do a search in the ProQuest databases that books from Ebook Central also appear under the tab called e-books. You will find Ebook Central titles when you do a search in the Learning Commons online catalog. Below you will see a sampling of sociology titles found in Ebook Central.
Credo Reference The following are just some of the electronic reference books of interest to students studying Sociology. Check out some of the other 137 Social Science titles in addition to the ones noted below.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by 
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by 
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing by 
The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression by 
Collins Dictionary of Sociology by 
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by 
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by 
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by 
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by 
Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory by 
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology by 
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by 
World of Sociology by 
Below are a few examples of the resources in the CM library with Sociology as a subject. Try looking for other examples using keywords to see what you can find.
The Invisible Front by
The unforgettable story of a military family that lost two sons--one to suicide and one in combat--and channeled their grief into fighting the armed forces' suicide epidemic. Major General Mark Graham was a decorated two-star officer whose integrity and patriotism inspired his sons, Jeff and Kevin, to pursue military careers of their own. His wife Carol was a teacher who held the family together while Mark's career took them to bases around the world. When Kevin and Jeff die within nine months of each other--Kevin commits suicide and Jeff is killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq--Mark and Carol are astonished by the drastically different responses their sons' deaths receive from the Army. While Jeff is lauded as a hero, Kevin's death is met with silence, evidence of the terrible stigma that surrounds suicide and mental illness in the military. Convinced that their sons died fighting different battles, Mark and Carol commit themselves to transforming the institution that is the cornerstone of their lives. The Invisible Front is the story of how one family tries to set aside their grief and find purpose in almost unimaginable loss. The Grahams work to change how the Army treats those with PTSD and to erase the stigma that prevents suicidal troops from getting the help they need before making the darkest of choices. Their fight offers a window into the military's institutional shortcomings and its resistance to change - failures that have allowed more than 3,000 troops to take their own lives since 2001. Yochi Dreazen, an award-winning journalist who has covered the military since 2003, has been granted remarkable access to the Graham family and tells their story in the full context of two of America's longest wars. Dreazen places Mark and Carol's personal journey, which begins when they fall in love in college and continues through the end of Mark's thirty-four year career in the Army, against the backdrop of the military's ongoing suicide spike, which shows no signs of slowing. With great sympathy and profound insight, The Invisible Front details America's problematic treatment of the troops who return from war far different than when they'd left and uses the Graham family's work as a new way of understanding the human cost of war and its lingering effects off the battlefield.
Social Movements and Global Social Change by
Social Movements and Global Social Change teaches students not only about how social change occurs but also about how social movements can contribute to this change. The book links two concepts in sociology that are often related in real life, but that can seem disconnected in traditional approaches to teaching these courses. The book examines different types of social movements, including those often ignored in social change textbooks, such as riots, migration, and disorganized protest. It also looks at citizens rights and inequality in connection to social movements and change. The book features global perspectives and examples throughout."
Life Reimagined by
"There's no such thing as an inevitable midlife crisis, Barbara Bradley Hagerty writes in this provocative, hopeful book. It's a myth, an illusion. New scientific research explodes the fable that midlife is a time when things start to go downhill for everybody. In fact, midlife can be a great new adventure, when you can embrace fresh possibilities, purposes, and pleasures. In Life Reimagined, Hagerty explains that midlife is about renewal: It's the time to renegotiate your purpose, refocus your relationships, and transform the way you think about the world and yourself. Drawing from emerging information in neurology, psychology, biology, genetics, and sociology:as well as her own story of midlife transformation:Hagerty redraws the map for people in midlife and plots a new course forward in understanding our health, our relationships, even our futures."
Search for items in the CMCC Learning Commons.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2016 by
A snapshot of America and its people Published annually by the federal government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world. You'll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. In the spring of 2011, the Census Bureau announced that the edition that year would be the last one produced at government expense. Despite protests from librarians and journalists and despite petitions to Congress, the Census Bureau unit that published the Statistical Abstract was eliminated. Its elimination resulted not from a decline in the popularity or perceived value of statistical compilations, but from the need to reduce agency spending while supporting new and existing data collection efforts. ProQuest has now taken on responsibility for updating and releasing this publication, the most used statistical reference tool in U.S. libraries. We bring to this task 35 years experience acquiring, abstracting, and indexing federal government statistical publications and tables.
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations by
The social psychology of groups forms an integral component of mainstream social psychology courses throughout the western world. It is also of interest to intersecting disciplines such as sociology, organizational and cross-cultural psychology, and language and communication studies. This double volume encyclopedia (the only one in existence) will cover concepts from across the spectrum, from group phenomena to phenomena influenced by group membership, from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale. The proposed Encyclopedia would contain over 400 concepts, written by an international and interdisciplinary gathering of researchers and cover the following topic areas: Methods Theory Cognition Types of Groups Organizations Influence and Persuasion Prejudice and Discrimination Decision Making Conflict and Cooperation Group Structure Group Performance Intergroup Relations in Society Identity and Self
Handbook of U. S. Labor Statistics 2013 by
The Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics is recognized as an authoritative resource on the U.S. labor force. It continues and enhances the Bureau of Labor Statistics's (BLS) discontinued publication, Labor Statistics. The 16th Edition allows the user to understand recent developments as well as to compare today's economy with past history. The Handbook is a comprehensive reference providing an abundance of data on a variety of topics including: .employment and unemployment .earnings .prices .productivity .consumer expenditures .occupational safety and health .union membership .international labor comparisons .and much more Features of the publication In addition to over 200 tables that present practical data, the Handbook provides: .introductory material for each chapter that contains highlights of salient data and figures that call attention to noteworthy trends in the data .notes and definitions, which contain concise descriptions of the data sources, concepts, definitions, and methodology from which the data are derived .references to more comprehensive reports which provide additional data and more extensive descriptions of estimation methods, sampling, and reliability measures The 16th edition includes several new features including: .A new chapter titled Green Jobs, Technologies, and Practices. This chapter includes data on companies that use environmentally friendly practices and on establishments that produce green goods and services. .Chapter 1 includes a section on the employment situation of veterans for the first time since the 2009 edition. In addition, more tables on employee tenure have been added. .Tables on eldercare have been added in Chapter 12: American Time Use Survey. .Chapter 6 includes a table on workplaces that provide quality of life benefits including childcare, subsidized commuting, and flexible workplaces. .New figures on a variety of topics including the labor force, employee compensation, consumer expenditures, and international labor comparisons have been added throughout the book.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free online materials that anyone can access anytime.
Introduction to Sociology - 2nd Canadian Edition by 
Introduction to Sociology 3e by 
Sociology by Sociology: Understanding and Changing the Social World, Comprehensive Edition v. 1.0 by 
Sociology of the Family by Central Maine Community College Library - 1250 Turner St., Auburn, Maine 04210 - Telephone: (207)755-5218 - Fax: (207)755-5494
Central Maine Community College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution and employer.
For more information, please call (207) 755-5100. [ Full Non-Discrimination Notice]