LibGuides: Medical Coding: Finding Articles

PubMed

U.S. National Library of Medicine

PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for articles back to 1948. Includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

We recommend this advanced search to find over 420 highly relevant articles on medical coding and billing.

See also: 34 free, full-text articles on medical coding and billing topics collected from PubMed Central.

Medical (Coding) Databases and Journals

Academic Search Complete | EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
MEDLINE | EBSCOhost National Library of Medicine index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, dentistry and health administration. Updated weekly.

Consumer Health Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window Consumer health - journal articles and magazines This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Full Text Included Subject area(s):Health & Medicine
Formerly: ProQuest Family Health
Health & Medical Collection | ProQuest This link opens in a new window The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews. It includes MEDLINE®, which contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.
Formerly: ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
Healthcare Administration Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window This health administration database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
Formerly: ProQuest Health Management
Nursing & Allied Health Database | ProQuest This link opens in a new window This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health, and medicine including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Formerly: ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
U.S. Northeast Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window Local and regional newspapers: includes coverage of the Bangor Daily News (7/1/93-present), the Kennebec Journal (Augusta) (6/11/93-present), the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present), Lewiston Sun Journal (2006-present) and the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (Waterville) (8/12/93-present). Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included.
Formerly: Maine Newsstand

These are links to web sites for some journals that are directly related to, or often carry information about, medical coding.

American Hospital Association - News
ASHA Leader
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
Hospitals & Health Networks - Magazine
Appears to have ceased in December 2017, but archive issues are available.
Journal of the Medical Library Association
Medical Economics Journal
Modern Healthcare

R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
eBook platform for health science collections.