ENG 090 English Workshop

This guide covers the concepts presented to students in ENG 090 classes

Ture or False

Generally speaking, when you conduct a subject search in a library catalog such as MaineCat or Minerva, your results will be fewer and more focused than doing a keyword or a word search.

True or False
False: 3 votes (42.86%)
True: 4 votes (57.14%)
Still don't know: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 7

Databases

Generally, many databases will search two words together as a phrase.  Using double quotation marks will also let you search by phrase in just about every database.   EBSCOhost databases have many nifty search options under search modes.  Proquest databases automatically search two words together as a phrase.

 

Boolean Operators

 

  • And combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, dogs and fleas finds articles that contain both terms
  • Or - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, dogs or fleas  finds results that contain either term.
  • Not - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, dogs not fleas finds results that contain the term dogs but not the term fleas.

 

 See how the use of Boolean operators affects a search in Academic Search Premier

  • Mexico drugs            694 results 
  • Mexico and drugs     6542 results
  • Mexico or drugs        802136 results
  • Mexican drugs            664 results
  • Mexico and drugs and gangs     312 results
  • drug trafficking               3584 results
  • "drug trafficking" not Mexico   3074 results

Use a Thesaurus.

EBSCO database tutorial

ProQuest database tutorial

Survey Question - database coverage 1

True or False? There are several encyclopedias, like Encyclopedia Britannica, in the Marvel databases.
True: 0 votes (0%)
False: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

Survey Question - database coverage 2

True or False? To access the Psychology and Criminal Justice databases, you would find them under Marvel.
True: 0 votes (0%)
False: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

Survey Question - database coverage 3

True or False. CQ Researcher is the best place to go for newspaper articles
True: 0 votes (0%)
False: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0