OER: Open Educational Resources

"Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams." - works with BIO 105, BIO 115, & BIO 117

"This text is adapted from the OpenStax Textbook Anatomy and Physiology, which is a college level text intended for a traditional two semester anatomy and Physiology course. This adaptation is highly edited to focus on basic human body systems required for an introductory anatomy and medical terminology course (HLTH 140 at Kaua`i CC). This text is intended to be used in conjunction with online content to provide an active learning environment. The medical terminology component is online to allow review, grading, and feedback. Learning outcomes for the course are 1) Demonstrate the ability to analyze the component parts of a medical word to derive the correct medical meaning; 2) Define medical terms and abbreviations; 3) Utilize appropriate medical terminology both orally and in writing; and 4) Describe the structural organization and normal function of the major body systems. Future version of this text will incorporate Hawaiian terminology and concepts of human body systems to provide grounding and context of anatomical systems and terminology. Assistance in this endeavor is welcome!" - works with BIO 105

"Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams." - works with BIO 105, BIO 115, & BIO 117

"The overall purpose of this preparatory course textbook is to help students familiarize with some terms and some basic concepts they will find later in the Human Anatomy and Physiology I course.The organization and functioning of the human organism generally is discussed in terms of different levels of increasing complexity, from the smallest building blocks to the entire body. This Anatomy and Physiology preparatory course covers the foundations on the chemical level, and a basic introduction to cellular level, organ level, and organ system levels. There is also an introduction to homeostasis at the beginning." - works with BIO 115

"Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams." - works with BIO 105, BIO 115, & BIO 117

"This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students and is the OER textbook for the FSHN 185 The Science of Human Nutrition course at the University of Hawai'i at M¿noa. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan." - works with BIO 121

"Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts." - works with BIO 131 & BIO 133

"Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts." - works with BIO 131 & BIO 133

"In this textbook the focus will be on the bacteria and archaea (traditionally known as the “prokaryotes,”) and the viruses and other acellular agents." - works with BIO 211

"This publication presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter." - works with BIO 211

"As a group of organisms that are too small to see and best known for being agents of disease and death, microbes are not always appreciated for the numerous supportive and positive contributions they make to the living world. Designed to support a course in microbiology, Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience permits a glimpse into both the good and the bad in the microscopic world. The laboratory experiences are designed to engage and support student interest in microbiology as a topic, field of study, and career. This text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week. The design of the lab manual conforms to the American Society for Microbiology curriculum guidelines and takes a ground-up approach -- beginning with an introduction to biosafety and containment practices and how to work with biological hazards. From there the course moves to basic but essential microscopy skills, aseptic technique and culture methods, and builds to include more advanced lab techniques. The exercises incorporate a semester-long investigative laboratory project designed to promote the sense of discovery and encourage student engagement. The curriculum is rigorous but manageable for a single semester and incorporates best practices in biology education." - works with BIO 211

"Consider just three of Earth’s inhabitants: a bright yellow daffodil that greets the spring, the single­celled creature called Thermococcus that lives in boiling hot springs, and you. Even a science­fiction writer inventing a story set on a distant planet could hardly imagine three more different forms of life. Yet you, Thermococcus and the daffodil are related! Indeed, all of the Earth’s billions of living things are kin to each other." - works with BIO 222