OER: Open Educational Resources

"American Government 3e aligns with the topics and objectives of many government courses. Faculty involved in the project have endeavored to make government workings, issues, debates, and impacts meaningful and memorable to students while maintaining the conceptual coverage and rigor inherent in the subject. With this objective in mind, the content of this textbook has been developed and arranged to provide a logical progression from the fundamental principles of institutional design at the founding, to avenues of political participation, to thorough coverage of the political structures that constitute American government. The book builds upon what students have already learned and emphasizes connections between topics as well as between theory and applications. The goal of each section is to enable students not just to recognize concepts, but to work with them in ways that will be useful in later courses, future careers, and as engaged citizens. ..." - works with POS 151

American Government 3e aligns with the topics and objectives of many government courses. Faculty involved in the project have endeavored to make government workings, issues, debates, and impacts meaningful and memorable to students while maintaining the conceptual coverage and rigor inherent in the subject. With this objective in mind, the content of this textbook has been developed and arranged to provide a logical progression from the fundamental principles of institutional design at the founding, to avenues of political participation, to thorough coverage of the political structures that constitute American government. The book builds upon what students have already learned and emphasizes connections between topics as well as between theory and applications. The goal of each section is to enable students not just to recognize concepts, but to work with them in ways that will be useful in later courses, future careers, and as engaged citizens.

This book is the third edition of a collective effort to understand and apply current conceptualizations of sustainability to a study of state and local government. It is an attempt to focus our attention on a basic understanding of the time-tested institutions and guiding principles likely to take society and governance towards greater advancement. Our work is, however, tempered by a developing understanding of smart growth — growth in productive capacity, quality of life and social justice that does not necessitate large-scale destructive or extractive activity. The growth sought produces widespread mutual benefit, is prudent in design and thoughtful in execution. The growth in question here is mindful of the past, yet builds better lives and futures for our posterity.

This book provides an introduction to the study of U.S. public policy with a focus on both the theories that help explain the policymaking process and the practical skills required for those who wish to pursue a career in a policy-related field.

A companion casebook for lower division/undergraduate courses in Comparative Government and Intro to Political Science. Each chapter covers an individual case study country, with emphasis on key concepts commonly covered in the intro-level Political Science curriculum.

Overview: Why Should Americans Study World Politics? 1. It can kill you. 2. It costs you money. 3. It affects your job. 4. It affects your shopping. 5. It affects your health. 6. The world is becoming more and more globalized, more and more quickly. Whether we like it or not, world politics affects us greatly. So it is a good idea for us to know what is going on out there.

This textbook is a concise and engaging Open Educational Resource (OER) designed for students exploring the foundational topics of International Relations. Crafted with accessibility in mind, it serves as an essential guide to the most commonly taught concepts in the field. Structured to complement the immersive Statecraft International Relations Simulation, the book offers short, focused chapters, each designed to be read within 10–15 minutes. This approach helps students grasp key ideas without feeling overwhelmed, making the material approachable and encouraging deeper engagement.

A companion casebook for lower division/undergraduate courses in Comparative Government and Intro to Political Science. Each chapter covers an individual case study country, with emphasis on key concepts commonly covered in the intro-level Political Science curriculum.

Overview: Comparative Politics: A Practical Guide for a Globalizing World is perhaps the first introductory textbook in comparative politics to be written with an emphasis on case studies from the Global South and other alternative perspectives. It was inspired by my own experience as a student and professor who had the privilege to live, learn, and work in places as diverse as Bangladesh, Egypt, and Germany. My experience in each country provided an important contribution to my own understanding of political science, perhaps in more important ways than my formal political science education. It was written with the belief that political science has focused too heavily on developing theories and models based primarily on the “Western” world to the detriment of both the discipline as well as students. 21st century students are learning and living in an increasingly globalized world in which traditional notions of statehood, development, elections, and more are rapidly changing and facing deep contestation. Following the calls to “decolonize” its sister discipline, International Relations, it is both timely and imperative that comparative politics follows suit. While traditional approaches offer important lessons about the nature of government and political processes, this text believes that the Global South has much to offer in the way of what politics looks like in the face of social unrest, increasing inequality, disputed legitimacy, climate change and other 21st century challenges that the Global North can no longer ignore. Another unique aspect of this textbook is that it contains contributions from students from Colorado Mesa University, a rural institution in Western Colorado primarily focused on undergraduate and first-generation education, with edits and additions from myself. Therefore, this book is written both by and for students of first-generation and minority-serving institutions.

he purpose of this open education resource is to provide students interested in or majoring in political science a useful textbook in comparative politics, one of the major subfields in the discipline. It is organized thematically, with each chapter accompanied by a case study or a comparative study, one of the main methodological tools used in comparative politics. By contextualizing the concepts, we hope to help students learn the comparative method, which to this day remains one of the most important methodological tools for all researchers.

Overview: Why Should Americans Study World Politics? 1. It can kill you. 2. It costs you money. 3. It affects your job. 4. It affects your shopping. 5. It affects your health. 6. The world is becoming more and more globalized, more and more quickly. Whether we like it or not, world politics affects us greatly. So it is a good idea for us to know what is going on out there.