LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: Chemistry (CHY)

Chemistry

Chemistry Atoms First 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; William R. Robinson
ISBN: 9781947172647
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
"Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association.This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives." - works with CHY 101

Boundless Chemistry
OER course formerly from Lumen Learning - works with CHY 101, CHY 121, & CHY 123
more...less...
Archived Version - can not download & no longer updated.

Introductory Chemistry by David W. Ball
ISBN: 9781453311073
Publication Date: 2011
"David W. Ball of Cleveland State University brings his new survey of general chemistry text, Introductory Chemistry, to the market with a fresh theme that will be sure to hold student interest: "Chemistry is Everywhere." Introductory Chemistry is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course...." - works with CHY 101
Introductory Chemistry v. 1.0 by Saylor Academy
Publication Date: 2012
"Opening Essay: If you are reading these words, you are likely starting a chemistry course. Get ready for a fantastic journey through a world of wonder, delight, and knowledge. One of the themes of this book is “chemistry is everywhere,” and indeed it is; you would not be alive if it weren’t for chemistry because your body is a big chemical machine. If you don’t believe it, don’t worry. Every chapter in this book contains examples that will show you how chemistry is, in fact, everywhere. So enjoy the ride—and enjoy chemistry." - works with CHY 101

Introductory Chemistry 1
OER course "This module covers introductory topics that are fundamental to understanding the subject of chemistry. In this module, we shall examine the structure of the smallest part of an element known as the atom (the building blocks of matter) and associated atomic models. The focus will be on the thought process involved in the development of the periodic table and its use in explaining the structure and properties of elements in “groups” and “periods”. ..." - works with CHY 101
Introductory Chemistry 2
OER course "This module outlines some of the basic concepts in general chemistry. Typically it deals with chemical reactions and the energy changes that accompany such reactions. The module will therefore focus on the rates of chemical reactions,(ie how fast a reaction takes place) and the factors that affect reaction rates. Also the types and properties of solutions will be presented, concentrating mainly on intermolecular forces in solubility and their concentration units. Finally the module provides an overview of the classes of organic compounds, their nomenclature and functional groups." - works with CHY 101

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball; John W Hill; Rhonda J Scott
ISBN: 9781453311097
Publication Date: 2011
"The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp." - work with CHY 111, CHY 121, CHY 123, CHY 221, & CHY 251
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry v. 1.0 by Saylor Academy
Publication Date: 2012
works with CHY 111
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis, Volume I by Tim Soderberg
Publication Date: 2016
"...biological chemistry is fully integrated into the explanation of central principles, and as much as possible the in-chapter and end-of-chapter problems are taken from the biochemical literature. Many laboratory synthesis reactions are also covered, generally in parallel with their biochemical counterparts - but it is intentionally the biological chemistry that comes first." - works with CHY 111
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis, Volume II by Tim Soderberg
Publication Date: 2016
"... biological chemistry is fully integrated into the explanation of central principles, and as much as possible the in-chapter and end-of-chapter problems are taken from the biochemical literature. Many laboratory synthesis reactions are also covered, generally in parallel with their biochemical counterparts - but it is intentionally the biological chemistry that comes first." - works with CHY 111

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball; John W Hill; Rhonda J Scott
ISBN: 9781453311097
Publication Date: 2011
"The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp." - work with CHY 111, CHY 121, CHY 123, CHY 221, & CHY 251

Boundless Chemistry
OER course formerly from Lumen Learning - works with CHY 101, CHY 121, & CHY 123
more...less...
Archived Version - can not download & no longer updated.

Chemistry 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; William R. Robinson
ISBN: 9781947172623
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
"Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative...." - works with CHY 121, & CHY 123,
General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications by Bruce Averill; Patricia Eldredge
ISBN: 9781453322307
Publication Date: 2011
"The overall goal of the authors with General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications was to produce a text that introduces the students to the relevance and excitement of chemistry.
Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, Bruce and Patricia feel there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. So, they emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students' lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often. In addition, the authors feel that many first year chemistry students have an enthusiasm for biologically and medically relevant topics, so they use an integrated approach in their text that includes explicit discussions of biological and environmental applications of chemistry." - works with CHY 121, & CHY 123
General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications v. 1.0 by Saylor Academy
Publication Date: 2012
"...The overall goal is to produce a text that introduces the students to the relevance and excitement of chemistry. Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. We emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students’ lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often. Unfortunately, one cannot assume that students in such courses today are highly motivated to study chemistry for its own sake. The explicit discussion of biological, environmental, and materials issues from a chemical perspective is intended to motivate the students and help them appreciate the relevance of chemistry to their lives. Material that has traditionally been relegated to boxes, and thus perhaps perceived as peripheral by the students, has been incorporated into the text to serve as a learning tool...." - works with CHY 121

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball; John W Hill; Rhonda J Scott
ISBN: 9781453311097
Publication Date: 2011
"The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp." - work with CHY 111, CHY 121, CHY 123, CHY 221, & CHY 251

Boundless Chemistry
OER course formerly from Lumen Learning - works with CHY 101, CHY 121, & CHY 123
more...less...
Archived Version - can not download & no longer updated.

Chemistry 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; William R. Robinson
ISBN: 9781947172623
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
"Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative...." - works with CHY 121, & CHY 123,
General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications by Bruce Averill; Patricia Eldredge
ISBN: 9781453322307
Publication Date: 2011
"The overall goal of the authors with General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications was to produce a text that introduces the students to the relevance and excitement of chemistry.
Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, Bruce and Patricia feel there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. So, they emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students' lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often. In addition, the authors feel that many first year chemistry students have an enthusiasm for biologically and medically relevant topics, so they use an integrated approach in their text that includes explicit discussions of biological and environmental applications of chemistry." - works with CHY 121, & CHY 123
General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications v. 1.0 by Saylor Academy
Publication Date: 2012
"...The overall goal is to produce a text that introduces the students to the relevance and excitement of chemistry. Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. We emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students’ lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often. Unfortunately, one cannot assume that students in such courses today are highly motivated to study chemistry for its own sake. The explicit discussion of biological, environmental, and materials issues from a chemical perspective is intended to motivate the students and help them appreciate the relevance of chemistry to their lives. Material that has traditionally been relegated to boxes, and thus perhaps perceived as peripheral by the students, has been incorporated into the text to serve as a learning tool...." - works with CHY 121

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball; John W Hill; Rhonda J Scott
ISBN: 9781453311097
Publication Date: 2011
"The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp." - work with CHY 111, CHY 121, CHY 123, CHY 221, & CHY 251
Organic Chemistry I by Xin Liu, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
ISBN: 9781989864524
Publication Date: December 9, 2021
"The book contains ten chapters, with the contents cover from the basic concepts on chemical bonding, functional group, to stereochemistry, spectroscopy for structure determination (IR and NMR) and organic reactions (nucleophilic substitution, elimination, radical substitution of alkanes, addition and oxidation reactions of alkenes, preparation and reactions of alkynes)." - works with CHY 221

Organic Chemistry 1
OER course "This module is the branch of chemistry that deals with carbon compounds and it is called organic chemistry. This module is about classes of organic compounds that can be distinguished according to functional groups they contain. In this module you will be learning the characteristic properties of a number of functional groups. Thus by studying the characteristic properties of a few of these functional groups,you will be able to understand the properties of many organic compounds. In this module we will have functional groups of hydrocarbons,alcohols and ethers,aldehydes and ketones, alkyl halides,carbocyclic acids and their derivatives, and amines." - works with CHY 221

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball; John W Hill; Rhonda J Scott
ISBN: 9781453311097
Publication Date: 2011
"The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp." - work with CHY 111, CHY 121, CHY 123, CHY 221, & CHY 251

Organic Chemistry 2
OER course "The module deals wth the concept of aromaticity and aromatic compounds. It discusses the characteristic properties of aromatic compounds that are based on the benzene ring as the structural unit. The major part of this module therefore discusses the chemistry of benzene and its derivatives...." - works with CHY 251