OER: Open Educational Resources

"BASIC has come a long way from the teletype interface most current computer users might see in a museum. The language has evolved into an object oriented programming language used in sophisticated applications for PCs. Fortunately, BASIC can still be used to help the nonprogrammer understand what capabilities a programming language has and how all these features are used to solve real problems. This text is intended to help the student who expects their computer usage to consist primarily of using word processors, spreadsheets, presentation packages, and other software for specialized applications to understand what the commands these applications provide with single words and single mouse clicks are actually doing as encapsulated programs." - works with CPT 130

"This second edition of Database Design book covers the concepts used in database systems and the database design process...." - works with CPT 166

"This open textbook aims to fill the gap between the open-source implementations and the open-source network specifications by providing a detailed but pedagogical description of the key principles that guide the operation of the Internet." - works with CPT 235

""Computer Networking : Principles, Protocols and Practice" is an open-source ebook that explains the main principles of Computer Networking and the key protocols that are used on the Internet. The Ebook is intended to be used for an upper-level undergraduate networking course. The first part describes the theoretical foundations of this domain as well and the main algorithms and protocols. The second part contains a detailed explanation of the main Internet protocols including HTTP, DNS, TCP, UDP, IPv6, BGP, RIP, OSPF, Ethernet and WiFi. The last part contains exercises and practical labs to allow the students to test their knowledge..." - works with CPT 235

"An Introduction to Computer Networksis a free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises.It covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator." - works with CPT 235

"Welcome to the Eighth Edition of Introduction to Programming Using Java, a free, on-line textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java. It is not meant to provide complete coverage of the Java language." -(note: Update to book - 2020)- works with CPT 245

WELCOME TO Version 9.0 of Introduction to Programming Using Java, a free, on-line textbook for introductory programming that uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java.

Version 9 covers Java 17. It updates the previous version mostly by moving definitively to Java 17 and by adding a new Swing edition. This edition of Version 9 uses JavaFX for GUI programming; an alternative edition that uses Swing instead of JavaFX is also available. Earlier versions of the book are also available; see the preface for links to older versions. - works with CPT 245

"We have designed this third edition of Java, Java, Java to be suitable for a typical Introduction to Computer Science (CS1) course or for a slightly more advanced Java as a Second Language course. This edition retains the “objects first” approach to programming and problem solving that was characteristic of the first two editions. Throughout the text we emphasize careful coverage of Java language features, introductory programming concepts, and object-oriented design principles." - works with CPT 245

"Think Java is a hands-on introduction to computer science and programming used by many universities and high schools around the world. Its conciseness, emphasis on vocabulary, and informal tone make it particularly appealing for readers with little or no experience. The book starts with the most basic programming concepts and gradually works its way to advanced object-oriented techniques." (note: supporting code & additional information) - works with CPT 245

"Web development is an evolving amalgamation of languages that work in concert to receive, modify, and deliver information between parties using the Internet as a mechanism of delivery. While it is easy to describe conceptually, implementation is accompanied by an overwhelming variety of languages, platforms, templates, frameworks, guidelines, and standards. Navigating a project from concept to completion often requires more than mastery of one or two complementing languages, meaning today's developers need both breadth, and depth, of knowledge to be effective.This text provides the developer with an understanding of the various elements of web development by focusing on the concepts and fundamentals through the examples within, providing a foundation that allows easier transition to other languages and a better understanding of how to approach their work. The reader will be introduced to topics in a manner that follows most project development methods, from initial conceptualization and design through front end development, back end development, and introducing additional concepts like accessibility and security, while focusing on responsive design techniques. Each section of the text includes opportunities to practice the material and assess increased knowledge after examining the topics." (note: also available here) - works with CPT 252

"This textbook -- written by a group of select experts with a focus on different aspects of the design process, from creation to production -- addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis. It covers the concept that, while most modern graphic design is created on computers using design software, the ideas and concepts don’t stay on the computer. The ideas need to be completed in the computer software, then progress to an imaging (traditionally referred to as printing) process. Keywords are highlighted throughout and summarized in a Glossary at the end of the book, and each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings." - works with CPT 256 & GRC 102

"Introduction to Computer Graphics is a free, on-line textbook covering the fundamentals of computer graphics and computer graphics programming. This book is meant for use as a textbook in a one-semester course that would typically be taken by undergraduate computer science majors in their third or fourth year of college." - works with CPT 256