LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: Electromechanical Technology (ELT)

Electromechanical Technology (ELT)

ELT 123 Electrical Controls I
ELT 221 Industrial Controls

Flathead Valley Community College Electronics Technician Program
"This program is designed to give students the technical skills, as well as interpersonal skills, that will prepare them for placement into electronics technician positions. Students gain theoretical knowledge and hands-on experience with both basic and advanced electronics including circuits, controllers, and the machine to system interface. Upon completion of this program, students will: Analyze, configure, troubleshoot and assist in designing and measuring electrical and electronic circuits and systems; Read and describe the characteristics of basic circuitry and compute circuit capacity; Demonstrate wiring design and identify basic electrical components; Troubleshoot analog and digital circuits using standard and specialized test equipment; Program and troubleshoot PLC systems for basic system control; Describe how various industrial processes are coalesced using advanced PLC techniques; Demonstrate the use of electrical, electronic solid state, digital, and pneumatic transmitters in practical process control instrumentation; and Effectively communicate during problem solving and troubleshooting." - works with ELT 123
more...less...
Flathead Valley Community College. Flathead Valley Community College Electronics Technician Program. Skills Commons, 2015, https://www.skillscommons.org/handle/taaccct/9821. Accessed 09 June 2020.
EEM 140: National Electrical Codes
"EEM 140: National Electrical Codes - Module 1/Article 90, Article 100, & Article 110, Module 2/Single Family Dwelling, Module 3/ Chapter 3 Wiring Methods and Material, Module 4/ Equipment for General Use, Module 5/Motor Calculations, Module 6/Article 310 Conductors for General Wiring" - works with ELT 123
more...less...
Moore, Kevin. EEM 140: National Electrical Codes. Skills Commons, 2014. https://www.skillscommons.org/handle/taaccct/737. Accessed 09 June 2020

AC Circuits by Chad Davis
Publication Date: 2017
"This eBook was written as the sequel to the eBook titled DC Circuits, which was written in 2016 by Chad Davis. This eBook covers Alternating Current (AC) circuit theory as well as a brief introduction of electronics. It is broken up into seven modules. Module 1 covers the basic theory of AC signals. Since only DC sources are used in the first eBook, details of AC signals such as sinusoidal waveforms (or sine waves), square waves, and triangle waves are provided. Module 2, titled AC Circuits Math Background, covers the mathematics background needed for solving AC circuit problems. The background material in Modules 1 and 2 are combined in Module 3 to solve circuits with AC sources that include resistors, inductors, and capacitors (RLC circuits)." - works with ELT 221
DC Circuits by Chad Davis
Call Number: DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.15763/11244/52245
Publication Date: 2016-08-08
"This book covers Direct Current (DC) circuit theory and is broken up into three modules. Module 1 covers the basics for circuits that include DC sources (voltage or current) and resistors. Even though Module 1 is not very difficult, it forms the foundation for more complicated topics in modules 2 and 3 so it is important to have a firm grasp of all Module 1 topics before moving on. Module 2 covers more difficult problem solving techniques for circuits that include only DC sources and resistors. Module 3 introduces capacitors and inductors. These non-linear reactive components are analyzed in the transient and steady state regions in circuits with DC sources in Module 3. Also annexed is a two-page cheat sheet that ENGR 2431 students at University of Oklahoma can use for exams." - works with ELT 221

EEM 151 - Electric Motor Controls
"This course is an introduction to motor controls, including a study of the various control devices and wiring used in industrial processes." - works with ELT 221
more...less...
Gotshaw, Marco. EEM 151 - Electric Motor Controls. Skills Commons, 2016, https://www.skillscommons.org/handle/taaccct/9719. Accessed 09 June 2020.
EEM 151: Motor Controls I
"EEM 151: Motor Controls I – Module 1/Electrical Quantities, Module 2/Electrical Tools, Module 3/Electrical Test Instruments, Module 4/Electrical Symbols and Diagrams, Module 5/Control Logic, Module 6/Alternating Current Motors and Transformers, Module 7/Contractors and Magnetic Motor Starters, Module 8/Control Devices, Module 9/Timers, Module 10/Common Control Circuits." - works with ELT 221
more...less...
Waymyers, James A. EEM 151: Motor Controls I. Skills Commons, 2014, https://www.skillscommons.org/handle/taaccct/741. Accessed 09 June 2020.
ELEC-2913 - Motors & Controls for Electric Vehicles & Industrial Applications
"Overview: This three credit course offeredat Macomb Community Collegeprovides an introduction toalternating current (AC)motors, AC motor controls, and AC motor applications tobattery electric and hybrid electric vehicles (BEVs and HEVs). Course topics include fundamental concepts of electricity and magnetism, AC motors, traction motors, AC synchronous permanent magnet motors, HEV/BEV energy storage and control systems, adjustable frequency drives, and modeling of various components associated with electric drivevehicles in MatLab and Simulink software. Included educational materials for this course are a syllabus and PowerPoint presentations. Homework assignments and exams are not included. This course is required as a part of MCC's Electric VehicleDevelopmentTechnology Certificate and the course outline is as follows: introduction to single-phase motors, motor operation theory, basic motor controls, introduction to three phase motors, three-phase motor controls, theory of operation for adjustable frequency drives, configuring drive parameters, simulation of parameters using MatLab software, and simulation of electric vehicle parameters using Simulink software." - works with ELT 221
more...less...
Macomb Community College. ELEC-2913 - Motors & Controls for Electric Vehicles & Industrial Applications. OER Commons, 23 September 2012, https://www.oercommons.org/courses/elec-2913-motors-controls-for-electric-vehicles-industrial-applications. Accessed 09 June 2020.
Electric Motor Control Circuit overloads
Image - works with ELT 221

Lessons in Electric Circuits Vol 1 - DC by Tony R. Kuphaldt
Publication Date: Revised October 18, 2006
works with ELT 221
Line E - Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-3: Explain Wiring Connections by Camosun College
Publication Date: November 2, 2015; Updated: January 6, 2020
"It is important for you to be familiar with techniques for soldering electrical connections and how to use wireless connectors. For example, the ends of the finely stranded wires used for power supply cords on most portable power tools are soldered to permit a long-lasting, troublefree connection. Solder also produces secure, durable electrical connections for switches, plugs, and tools. Wireless connectors are commonly used in many electrical applications because they are quick and easy to use.The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books. E-1 Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity, E-2 Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols, E-3 Explain Wiring Connections, E-4 Use Multimeters. Special thanks to CAPER-BC (https://caperbc.ca/) for creating the audio recording for each Competency." - works with ELT 221
Line E: Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-1: Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity by Camosun College
Publication Date: July 11, 2016
"You will use electricity daily. Vehicles and machinery are started and often operated by electricity. Electric tools make the performance of your job easier and more efficient. However, to use electricity safely and effectively, it is important to understand electricity’s terminology and principles.The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books. E-1 Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity, E-2 Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols, E-3 Explain Wiring Connections, E-4 Use Multimeters." - works with ELT 221
Line E: Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-2: Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols by Camosun College
Publication Date: July 12, 2016
"Many types of electric devices are used in almost every trade. Mechanical trades will find electrical devices in every motor-driven vehicle. Construction trades will encounter them in most construction projects. To be able to recognize or troubleshoot electrical devices, you must be familiar with the correct terminology and symbols used to identify them. The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books. E-1 Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity, E-2 Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols, E-3 Explain Wiring Connections, E-4 Use Multimeters." - works with ELT 221
Line E: Electrical Fundamentals Competency E-4: Use Multimeters by Camosun College
Publication Date: July 12, 2016; Updated: April 23, 2020
"Whether you choose to work in an electrical trade, a mechanical trade, or one of the construction trades, you will probably be faced with using and/or maintaining a variety of electrical measuring instruments. This Competency will introduce you to three basic meters for measuring voltage, current, and resistance. You must have a basic understanding of the purpose and operation of each type of meter before you attempt to use one. If you connect a meter incorrectly, you not only risk damaging the instrument, but more importantly, you or some innocent bystander could receive a serious electrical shock.The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books. E-1 Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity, E-2 Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols, E-3 Explain Wiring Connections, E-4 Use Multimeters." - works with ELT 221

MTE 105: Safety Manufacturing Environment
"MTE105 Introduces the student to federal and state regulations, industrial practices, and accident investigation techniques. This course covers hazard communication standard, lockout/tagout procedures, eye safety, lifting techniques, electrical safety, stored energy safety, personal protective equipment, safety program development and monitoring, and accident investigation techniques. This course also serves as the prerequisite for all Advanced Technology Center programs." - works with ELT 221
more...less...
Front Range Community College. MTE 105: Safety Manufacturing Environment. Skills Commons, September 2013, https://www.skillscommons.org/handle/taaccct/277. Accessed 09 June 2020.
Safety
"This introductory course provides an overview of safety in the workplace, especially as it pertains to the manufacturing industry. This includes manufacturing as a career, communication, team work and training, PPE, material handling, workplace safety, tool and machine safety, electrical and fire safety, and hazardous materials safety." - works with ELT 221
more...less...
Tulsa Community College. Safety. Skills Commons, September 2015, https://www.skillscommons.org/handle/taaccct/9896. Accessed 09 June 2020.